We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
£70
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,197)
Filter reviews
1,197 results
Traveller rating
699
281
124
41
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
699
281
124
41
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue wedding breakfast party night wedding reception hotel is lovely main building afternoon tea wet room function room cooked breakfast course meal lovely room full english breakfast was excellent bar area west wing rebecca
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,197 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2024

If you wanted breakfast it had to be served in your room because there wasn't enough people in hotel to bother opening dining room so we just decided to go elsewhere. The meal at night was awful looked and tasted burnt.. rooms not made up or replenished during our stay just towels on a poly bag hung on the door . Bar staff were nice though

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 1961Bunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Dear 1961Bunty,

I sincerely apologise for the quality of service you got whilst staying at Aston Hall, I can assure you this is not the standards we set ourselves. I have investigated your comments and I taken the opportunity of explaining these issues with a personal E.Mail to yourself in the hope we can get you to consider using Aston Hall Hotel again in the future. Thank you for bringing these concerns to my attention.

Kind Regards Simon Dunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024

Everything was great from the friendly check in to the food and service in the bar. There was local beer and the food was amazing.
Room was immaculate, bathroom facilities were very good.
drinks prices a little high but that seems to be everywhere you go these days!

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Dear Peter F,

Many thanks for your review, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay at Aston Hall Hotel and hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards Simon Dunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2024

Great hotel, rooms and staff -but. Situated just off the M1, great location. Our room was fabulous. The staff were professional and suitably friendly, creating an expectation of good things from the kitchen. The food was expensive, poorly cooked, the steak was overcooked and chewy, ugh, the chips were flaccid and wet, overall disappointing, placing front of house staff with a huge cross to carry. Not good.

Room tip: Please stay at the hotel, but eat elsewhere.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Dear StephenbT4106BE,

Thank you for the review from your stay at Aston Hall yesterday, I sincerely apologise for the quality of the steak served to you for dinner, but my duty manager who served you and was in the restaurant all night sent me a detailed report concerning this, once this was brought to his attention he apologised and asked if you would like another steak which you refused or anything else off the menu and you refused again, then he offered you a free drink and dessert which you refused and you paid the bill in full, whilst we do everything possible to make sure the cut and quality of our steaks are good sometimes we get a bad one and I will take this up with the butcher, but you have left the hotel disappointed which is a shame, but appreciate you bringing this to the hotels attention again.

Kind Regards

Simon Dunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2024

Great location in an old country house built in 1772, with more modern extensions. Room was pretty large and the wetroom was huge. The bed looked like a double but had two mattresses, which was not really ideal. Heating was good and the room was comfortable throughout our stay. Disappointed that the gym was no more (and the website still listed it as present). The lovely grounds (55 acres!) make you think that you are miles from anywhere. The neighbouring church building was not open when we visited.
Full English breakfast was good.
The hotel seems to be doing well, with a reasonable trade in business conferences, with plenty of meeting rooms. Lovely reception inside the front door with a blazing log fire - very welcoming.
Some strange design "features" in our room (304?): tall bedside lamps with switches on the top - why not on the base?; toilet roll holder behind you when sitting down - so we kept the roll next to the wash basin for easy access; then the light switches - the furthest on the wall outside the bathroom was for the bathroom.
Great location for exploring the Peak District, with easy access from the motorway.

Room tip: Gym has disappeared but websites do not tell you
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ShaunH290
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2024

Dear ShaunH290,

Thank you very much for your review following your recent visit to Aston Hall Hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and giving a thorough insight into the hotels features. As an independent hotel we pride ourselves on the individual design features of our bespoke bedrooms, I do however take your point about being a contortionist when trying to get the toilet paper and will get the position changed. But overall you enjoyed your experience with us and do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Aston Hall in the near future.

Kind Regards Simon Dunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2024

The radiator didn't work leaving us cold with a little one. The staff attempted to fix the issue however we're unsuccessful. We managed to use the heating on the AC unit however wasn't powerful enough to heat the whole room

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank chrisj462024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, General Manager at Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2024

Dear chrisj462024,

Thank you for your recent review, we are sorry that the heating in your bedroom was not working well and we were unable to rectify the problem. We do have additional portable radiators and could have changed your room for you. I was trying to find your reservation but I would be grateful if you would E.Mail: gm@astonhallhotel.co.uk and advise me your room number, so we can resolve the issue you brought to our attention so the next guest does not have a problem.

Kind Regards Simon Dunn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews