We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home-from-home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Chai de Marguerite
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home-from-home”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We spent a week at Le Chai de Marguerite and we loved it. The house is gorgeous, overlooking a quiet leafy square. It's beautifully decorated and peaceful, with very comfortable beds, 'toile de jouy' sheets, antique furniture and luxurious modern bathrooms. Breakfast, in warm weather, is served in the garden (with other guests and often the owners' friendly cats and dogs) and is generous and delicious. The swimming pool is lovely and quite private. Pascal and Philippe grow their own fruit and vegetables and make delicious jam. Although there isn't a restaurant in the village, there's a room off the garden where you can make your own food and a good selection of beer and wine is available to buy in-house. There are also great places to eat out in the nearby picturesque villages of Caunes-Minervois and Villeneuve-Minervois. Peyriac-Minervois itself is quiet and friendly, with a little river near the house, pleasant walks and steep,narrow streets worth exploring by foot. It has a great grocery shop, a friendly bar and a bakery. It's a short drive to stunning 'must-see' Minerve and also to Carcassonne. The hosts of Le Chai de Marguerite are warm, friendly, helpful and really good fun. By the time we left, they felt like family. We'll definitely be going back.

Room Tip: 'Carignan' was a lovely big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    18
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
73
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Elegant 19th C former vintner's house, carefully restored and furnished with a range of antiques and objets d'art. The Grenache room was large with a very comfortable bed, shutters opening out on to a shady square in a town that hides its light under a bushel. It looks a bit tired but is full of its own character with historic mediaeval streets. The town is ideally placed for wider exploration as well. We had a well equipped bathroom with a good shower. The house is set in a delightful garden with a small pool. Breakfast is served beneath a "tunnel of leaves", with an excellent choice of breads and home made jams and cake. Pascal and Philippe occasionally offer a table d'hote evening meal at €25 plus wine, which makes for a convivial evening. There is a fridge and microwave in an outhouse for guests' use, which is very helpful. The hosts are very willing to offer useful advice and knowledge about the area and the many interesting sights and sites in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinbrown855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This beautiful home abounds with antiques and treasures collected and cared for by Pascal and Philippe. The rooms are large and beautifully appointed - large and modern bathroom was a treat! Both of our hosts were gracious and accommodating. Pascal enjoys providing a good breakfast complete with his homemade jams. Most enjoyable of all was the time that Pascal spent showing us the house and chatting. A quiet location and one we'd like to return to.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A bit hard to find, but worth the effort, Le Chai de Marguerite is a gem of a Guesthouse/B & B. We entered this lovely home, artfully decorated with beautiful antiques, climbed the marble staircase (our host helped with our luggage) and were shown our very large and very beautiful room. Each piece of furniture, including a giant armoire, was carefully selected and antique treasures graced the shelves and tables. The bathroom was also very spacious and had all modern amenities.

Breakfasts are served outdoors in a garden setting worthy of an impressionist painting! But the real treasures are the owners: Philippe and Pascal, two gentlemen of distinctly different, but entirely gracious, personalities who made our stay the most memorable in our 3 week vacation throughout France!

If you are lucky, they might be willing to prepare a multi-course candlelit dinner (for an additional charge, of course) that will become a highlight of your vacation dining experience.

Chai Margerite est énchanté!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTrendies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nth Coast
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Enjoyed it immensely good location. If pool had been skimmed of debris we would have used it as it was 36 deg when we were there. Fruit needs removing off outside table overnight, spider trails over it. Minor things, we really loved our stay

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMQNthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Languedoc, France
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is quite simply one of the best, if not the best, chambre d'hôte or hotel we've ever stayed in. We were welcomed into their home as friends by Philippe and Pascal who have created a stylish, comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Our huge room had all kinds of personal touches in the décor, a very comfortable bed and a large modern bathroom. The evening began with apéritifs (and home-cured olives) by the fire with the other guests and this was the start of what seemed like a convivial dinner party with wonderful food, interesting conversation and a great atmosphere around the lamp-lit table. Philippe and Pascal use vegetables from their own garden and eggs from their chickens in their cooking and serve wine from local vignerons.
Breakfast next morning was delicious too, with home-made jams to go with croissants and rustic bread from the village boulangerie. We were reluctant to leave and we'll be going back to see the garden (which has a swimming pool) at its best in the summer.
It's a perfect place for a quiet break - a peaceful location in the village, with no through traffic. Nothing seemed too much trouble for our hosts from arranging a wifi connection to giving us advice about where to buy wine in the area. Although we spoke French all the time we were there, Philippe speaks English too.

Room Tip: Grenache and Carignan rooms are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabianaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olonzac, France
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We have just finished a 4 night stay at this beautiful Maison d'hôte while we were house hunting in the area.

Our room was spacious, tastefully decorated with a large well functioning en suite. Our hosts Pascal & Philippe were very accommodating & the breakfast a great start to the day with good selection. Unfortunately we didn't get to enjoy the vast garden & pool due to the time of year.

We are already looking forward to our next visit. If there is a down side it is that we can't afford a house as beautiful!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sainte-Helene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peyriac-Minervois
11.6 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
9.8 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
301 reviews
13.6 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#5 of 39 in Carcassonne
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
777 reviews
12.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
438 reviews
3.2 mi away
L'Ancienne Boulangerie
L'Ancienne Boulangerie
#1 of 4 in Caunes-Minervois
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chai de Marguerite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chai de Marguerite

Property: Le Chai de Marguerite
Address: Place de la Liberation, 11160, Peyriac-Minervois, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Peyriac-Minervois
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Peyriac-Minervois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The whole atmosphere of a residential house Languedoc-nineteenth century, with period decoration, but in modern comfort. Our strong point: the welcome and tips for discoveries off the beaten track in an area rich in history and scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Chai de Marguerite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing