We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine - great hotel - great time”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montagnac
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Domaine Saint Hilaire
Ranked #2 of 6 Montagnac B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We tasted 8 wines and I still can't tell which ones I liked the best. Jonathan was extremely knowledgeable about the wine and made the tasting fun. I liked them all! I only wish I could have bought some wine to ship home! The property is exquisite, the room was delightful, comfortable, and the welcome outstanding. I only wish I could have stayed longer. By the way, the dinner was out of this world - a 10!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bark998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

Domaine Saint Hilare is a beautifully presented chambres d'hôtes providing excellent quality guest accommodation on a working vineyard, a short distance from the towns of Pezenas & Meze in the south of France.

Shortly after we arrive, we enjoyed a pre-arranged wine tasting with Jonathan that was interesting, informative and delicious! The Domaine produces a range of excellent wines and after our tasting a wonderful dinner was prepared by Anne & accompanied (and really well paired) by two further vintages from the property.

Domaine Saint Hilare provides the best of both worlds - a tranquil setting that gives that away from it all feeling, yet within 30 mins you can be visiting some interesting ports on the Mediterrean, soaking up the atmosphere of the antique shops in Pezenas, or visiting the bustling city of Beziers.

The bedrooms are beautifully appointed & designed with extremely comfortable beds & linens. A honesty bar, enabling guests to enjoy a bottle from the Domaine, is a nice touch together with a guest lounge & library. Outside, there are acres of woodland to explore, a nice swimming pool, a shady areas to sit & read.

Would thoroughly recommend Domaine Saint Hilare (and their wines!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petercheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Jonathan and Anne are fantastic hosts and make you feel quite at home. As well as great knowledge of the area, nothing is too much trouble and you feel you can really relax. The location of the Domaine is perfect as you are near lots of attractions such as Pezenas (great for antiques), Carcassonne, Montpelier, Meze, Sete... you do need a car though but most things are within easy distance. The house itself is beautfiul and very relaxing and set in lovely grounds with a pool. The highlight of our stay was the dinner on the Monday night - think it's called Table d'hote - which meant we ate with our hosts and other guests. Jonathan and Anne are very enjoyable company and our only wish was that we had another occasion to do the same in the week. The food was also delicious. In addition, we had a sample wine tasting which was really enjoyable and we wish we could have taken more wine back home! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greekjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Thank you Anne for your fabulous hospitality. Jonathan was busy bottling so we didn't catch up with him this time. We recently revisited Domaine Saint Hilaire on a quick trip to France. This year we stayed in Autan, the best room with abundant light from both sides of the house. Amazing! I love this place. Anne's cooking, warm welcome cup of tea, everything in the rooms, house, surroundings and the attention to detail make you feel at home. We were lucky to be able to sit outside by the pool for breakfast as the weather was kind to us. Anne also cooked a lemon tart (delicious ...) can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Book dinner in advance - Anne's cooking is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSlorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed with Anne & James at the wonderful Domaine for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing time there. The house has been beautifully renovated with very well appointed rooms, and the grounds are stunning. It is certainly a luxurious B&B with great facilities, and the fact that it is a working vineyard (with award winning wines) makes it an even more unique and special place to stay. The hosts are welcoming and lovely people with great knowledge about the area and wine, and Anne's catering is fantastic - both at breakfast time and for the evening meals which we enjoyed. We took my father in law for a surprise trip for his 80th birthday and she even made him a birthday cake! It was great fun to sample the estate's own wine which had been selected to go with the various dishes and talk to James about the production. We can also highly recommend the wine tasting! So much so, that like other reviewers we returned home with cases of fantastic wine.

The Domaine is very well located for exploring the coast, Languedoc wine country, and some lovely towns and villages. We tended to go out and about in the morning and then laze around in the sun and swim in the beautiful pool in the afternoon. We really felt like we had the run of our own luxury country pad with great service when we wanted it. The house is nested in the middle of the vineyards surrounded by mature woodland so it makes for a very quiet and relaxing escape from the buzz of the Languedoc summer. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The wife and I spent an absolutely wonderful weekend chez Domaine Saint Hilaire. Anne and Jonathan are the perfect hosts who can't do enough for you. Nick the gardener is also a total charmer who may well take you on a tour of the local attractions if he likes the cut of your jib.

The house is beautiful and a joy to stay in - part 16th century I think or older and another part built in the 1920s which is like walking into an Art Deco museum. There is a small pool to lounge around in the afternoon heat and lovely gardens to sit in.

It's also a working chateau, thus the domaine prefix and the wine they produce is of a very high standard. I would have bought a pallet or two if my bank balance was a little healthier. The merlot and the chardonnay are particularly noteworthy and their top end cuvees, called Silks are terrific. The Silk Chardonnay is a perfect example of what the Languedoc can produce at its very best.

I couldn't recommend the Domaine enough. A perfect hideaway in the Languedoc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martzdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Jonathan and Anne made our two day stay here pure bliss. A beautiful home in the heart of a vineyard. Great food, great wine and a lovely evening with the hosts made for a truly relaxing stay just north of Montpellier. We come home with bigger bellies and a boot full of fantastic wine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_lodge1_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagnac hotels
1.5 mi away
Les Rocailles Hotel
Les Rocailles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagnac
59 reviews
130.2 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Verdon
2.3 mi away
VVF Villages Montagnac-Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
La Boissiere et le Vialat
La Boissiere et le Vialat
#4 of 6 in Montagnac
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mas de Thau
Mas de Thau
#1 of 5 in Montagnac
44 reviews
3.3 mi away
Auberge de Bessilles
Auberge de Bessilles
#5 of 5 in Montagnac
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Saint Hilaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Saint Hilaire

Address: | N 43-26.680' E 003-31.501', 34530 Montagnac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montagnac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Montagnac
Price Range: £132 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical destination with a rich history built shortly before the French revolution and hidden away among the vineyards of the Languedoc. The estate is a working Domaine which produces a wide range of award winning wines and single varietal wines, which serve as a a perfect introduction to wine-tasting for those who want to learn more. There are five stylish rooms with ensuite wetroom bathrooms and lovely waterfall showers. Outside you can take afternoon tea in the Rose garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing