We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Superb Chambre d'Hote”
Review of Mas d'Augustine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas d'Augustine
Ranked #1 of 2 La Bruguiere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in late September, and could not have chosen a better place to start our holiday. We arrived at about 7pm, having spent 12 hours flying and driving from the north of Scotland, but were met by Gary and served a delicious plate of local cheeses, with a complimentary bottle of wine, which we enjoyed sitting in the garden - wonderful! Our room was very tastefully converted and decorated, and clean and comfortable. We had breakfast in the garden, and it was a lovely way to start each day. We also enjoyed a superb meal which was cooked by Jane, with excellent company, at the table d'hote. Throughout our stay, Gary and Jane were brilliant hosts, and we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the local area and Uzes. We would strongly recommend Mas d'Augustine to anyone who is looking for a comfortable, relaxing holiday in stylish surroundings in Gard.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed 2 nights during a home hunting trip. First night menu at "home " with 6. Extremely good food and very enjoyable evening , thanks to great hospitality by Gary and Jane. Area is great for bicycling. Garden room was just great. Breakfast very good en and very relaxing in the garden. All in all 9 out of 10. A small refrigerator for some drinks in the room would make it just perfect.

Room Tip: Garden room perfect for those that have difficulty to walk steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stay here during sommer for 4 nights
We loved the place, the rooms, the garden with the pool and the hospitality of Gary and Jane.
Our room (le verger) was very comfortable, clean and tastefully renovated! (loved the occitane-toiletries)
breakfast in the lovely garden was very good too.

I can only recommend this Mas, you won't be disappointed!

PS: just one small suggestion for improvement to Gary: please replace the baguettes by fresh baguettes from a regional baker! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabernaklus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary L, Owner at Mas d'Augustine, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2013

Thank you for your very positive comments.

On your suggestion of sourcing the baguettes locally - we'd love to, but it's just not practical, as it's a 10 minute drive and it's closed on a Monday. Our mobile bread lady, who delivers bread to the village, only arrives at around 10 a.m., so we took the decision to prepare the breakfast baguettes fresh daily from part-baked products.

However, whenever bread is served with an evening meal, this is always fresh and from a regional baker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely property near Uzes. It is in a small village, relatively handy for Uzes itself and fortunately if you do not wish to drive, Gary and Jane provide a bistro menu and wine for those who prefer to spend the evening relaxing in beautiful surroundings.
Gary and Jane were very welcoming hosts and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed for 10 days in two rooms with family if 4 - two teenagers.

Just as good as last year with a few little improvements to the already excellent experience. Provision of a bistro menu if you don't want to have to go out to eat is great.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMB5190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent 8 nights at Mas d'Augustine and it was absolutely delightful.
Gary and Jane are wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Also stayed in for dinner one night and it was delicious. Jane is a terrific cook and her apple tart is out of this world.
Our room was very comfortable and clean. We stayed in the upstairs bedroom and found the room to be well equipped,very comfortable and clean. The pool is well maintained and the gardens are the perfect place to unwind. Breakfast in the courtyard was a delightful way to start our day. Absolutely needed a car to visit all the local villages and to benefit from Gary and Jane's local knowledge.
Highly recommend staying here and look foward to going back one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandT2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I was there with my familiy and friend's family.
Very nice place ,clean and owners are great.
recomend to everyone.
also breakfast was as it should be..not French..but great.
Just recomended aslo t the owner to buy some bikes for rent:-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudikamnikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Bruguiere
7.6 mi away
La Maison d'Ulysse
La Maison d'Ulysse
#1 of 1 in Baron
416 reviews
6.8 mi away
La Maison d'Uzes
La Maison d'Uzes
#4 of 13 in Uzes
216 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Clos de Pradines
Le Clos de Pradines
#1 of 1 in Saint-Quentin-la-Poterie
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Entraigues
Hotel Entraigues
#1 of 13 in Uzes
390 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chambres de l'Artemise
6.8 mi away
L'Albiousse
L'Albiousse
#2 of 50 in Uzes
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas d'Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas d'Augustine

Address: rue de Ravel, 30580 La Bruguiere, Uzes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes > La Bruguiere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Bruguiere
Price Range: £121 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mas d’Augustine, a luxury air-conditioned chambre d’hotes where you can unwind after a day discovering the many and varied wonderful sights this special region of France (Provence & the Languedoc) has to offer. Alternatively, simply spend the day on our terrace soaking up the sun, relaxing with a book and cooling off in the (heated) swimming pool, or maybe have an afternoon siesta in a hammock by the olive grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mas d'Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing