We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant dining, average rooms.”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel de France
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Montmarault
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Elegant dining, average rooms.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Hotel de France is located in the small town of Montmarault, and it is locally popular for it's dining, fine dining. The elegantly furnished dining room is a fine setting for dishes of a high standard, well presented. The service is formal and adequate, the atmosphere is a bit stuffy.
But we enjoyed the food, fine dining, very much.
The bedrooms are adequate featuring shower, basin, w.c. Some rooms have baths. The decor in our room was a bit garish. Rooms seemed to fairly quiet despite the fact that we were on the front over the not too busy main road.
The hotel has it's own car park to the rear.
We did see the dog referred to in another review, however it was not a problem, it seemed calm, but then we were dogless.
Overall, dinner, bed and breakfast, good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    28
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
37
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel less than 2 kms from the motorway and so a very convenient stopover. Rooms simple but clean and warm. Good restaurant with tasty well cooked food. Having stopped here 2 or 3 times we have now decided that we can no longer stay here because of problems with the house dog. A very boisterous young Boxer that runs wild around the hotel grounds and car park that made life quite impossible for our two small Italian Greyhounds and consequently for us. We also saw this dog jumping up at other clients as they arrived in the car park. He can also open the door to the two rooms that are situated separately from the main building which also proved very annoying. Our last visit was so difficult, having been jumped on 3 different times within 5 minutes of arrival and having asked 3 times for the dog to controlled/contained. that we returned our room key and left and stayed the night at another hotel. We will not be returning in spite of the benefits of the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MauriceW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This small hotel is 35 minutes north of Clemont Ferrand and is a great place for the weary traveller to rest either going south or north. Restaurant is of an excellent quality, friendly staff. They have rooms for wheelchair access.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Convenient stopover on the drive from the Channel ports to the south of France, a short distance from the A71 motorway. Pleasant town. Room comfortable. Meal reasonable but service in restaurant very slow.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

the rooms at this hotel are a little tired and need updating, but the restaurant is amazing with food to dream of. The staff were attentive and very helpful. Real value for money. The menu was seasonal , good selection and well explained.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffysox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montmarault
0.3 mi away
Hostellerie du Centrotel et Spa
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Le Bocage
#4 of 4 in Montmarault
10 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 1 in Tronget
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
Hotel de l'Univers Montlucon
23.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Moulins
B&B Hotel Moulins
#1 of 1 in Toulon-sur-Allier
101 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Le Grenier a Sel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 1 rue Marx Dormoy, 03390 Montmarault, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Allier > Montmarault
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Montmarault
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing