We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Guemes Island Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Guemes Island
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Juan Motel(Anacortes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anacortes Inn(Anacortes)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anaco Bay Inn(Anacortes)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
27
5
1
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
5
1
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecreation roomliving roomcampfirecabintubsfireplacefirewoodweddingdishwashercouchsink
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We just spent a really nice overnight with our family of parents, three adult children and one grandchild. Stayed in the Mt. Baker house and had a great time from the moment we arrived. Try crabbing in season.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sshifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family has been visiting Guemes Island Resort every summer for years. Views of Mt. Baker and the San Juan Islands from the cabins near the water are spectacular. These cabins are generally run down, and although the owners have recently done a good job with minor renovations and new landscaping, at some point they should probably be replaced. Furnishings in Cabin #2 were worn and the cabin seemed overpriced. The newer cabins, although lacking the view and more expensive, are wonderful. My husband and I stayed in the Matia cabin, which was quiet, pleasantly furnished and has a steam shower and hot tub. It sleeps 4, but is small and perfect for 2. The Yurts are good for the experience of camping in the woods with the comforts of a bed, lighting and small heater. Our favorite activities include cycling around the island (scenic, with very few cars) with a stop at the General Store for ice cream or a cold drink, kayaking to Jack Island (free kayaks available at the resort), walking on the beach and relaxing around the campfire in the evenings. A game room with a ping pong table and a sauna are available for guest use. Dogs are welcomed, which can be a plus or minus depending on your point of view. Holly does a great job of helping with anything you might need. The resort has a small store with some good wines. There is a larger selection of groceries at the General Store if you forget something; they also serve food. Guemes Island is a nice getaway from Seattle without the long ferry lines and long ferry rides.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank travel60878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

The resort is really great with spectacular views and very quaint! I went there last weekend and stayed in the Matia. This cabin was fairly new had a 2 person hot tub. It was small but nice. The scenery is really great and we lucked out with perfect weather all weekend!
This weekend we decided to go back and stay at the Baker House for some more room and we were right on the beach. Well, the place needs some MAJOR updating but it was good with a huge window overlooking the ocean.
I honestly would have given this place all 5 star reviews but our weekend was ruined by a group of people that pretty much dominated the whole resort! They were loud and had no respect for anyone else there nor did they care if anyone else enjoyed themselves! We came there to relax but this group was always directly in front of our house so we had NO peace and quiet nor could we enjoy the tranquility of the water! The first night this group decided to run around the resort naked at 1am with yelling and laughing that woke us up.
There was only one couple with 2 kids this weekend and they obviously wanted to play in the rec room which was equipped with fooze (sp) ball, ping pong, etc...well, it started sprinkling outside so that whole group (8-10 ppl) went in the rec room. The kids and their parents tried to go in there but that group was so loud and obnoxious and playing on the games that the kids had to leave!!! That was so sad seeing one if the little boys walking out if there with this sad face!! I was really taken aback that those people didn't see the kids and let them play!!
Then that night, we had to endure them
Partying at their house!! It was raining so the group stayed indoors but opened their windows so the rest of the guests had to listen to them partying!!! We were the "lucky" ones that were right beside them so, needless to say, our weekend was ruined and after paying nearly $200 a night and being kept up both nights, I am very disappointed!
We would have been frequent visitors there but after this weekend, I very much doubt it!
I have to mention the manager, Holly. Although nothing was done about that group, she is a non stop working machine!!! She was there both weekends and she does everything!! She runs the office, heats the sauna, hears the Dutch tub, prepares all the cabins for people's arrivals, gets wood for fire pit, takes boats out for people that want to get on the water, checks all hot tubs and does it all very professionally without ever interrupting your visit or annoying you! She is really super woman and I hope her boss knows what an amazing job she does!!!
I hate that we will not be coming back but after a weekend of not being able to relax and enjoy ourselves because of a group that was so rude & loud but they should have been kicked out after the first night! I definitely wouldn't have expected Holly to do it but the owner should have!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Pwit0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had friends tell us about this place for a rustic relaxing experience. We were for the most part, not disappointed. We arrived to a nice warm rustic cabin (#6) which they got a fire going ahead of time. (Be aware, that if you get one of the beachfront cabins, they are about 90% heated by woodstove- there are 2 radiant heat wall "pads" that help with the bathroom and living room).

The view outside the large windows is spectacular.. one of the best of the beachfront cabins, from my perspective. There is a large grassy area just outside the row of cabins that have chairs and picnic tables scattered around. Also, a good place for the pups to run around. The beach is only a few feet past this area... very close!

The cabin: Rustic... but overall, nice and fairly comfortable. We felt it could have used some touchups and adjustments without alot of effort/cost...

- The concrete "wall" beneath the windows looks unfinished. There is no wood siding along it like everywhere else in the cabin.

-The woodstove backing.. had writing all over it.. like construction board. Kinda tacky.

- water heater for the shower was about 4 minutes til it ran cold. Hard for 2 people to get clean in that amount of time. It did reheat rather quickly though.

-furniture... beds and linens were comfortable, but the couch was not. It was like a futon wood frame with uncomfortable cushions. . we liked they left a sheet to put down for the pups to use it. The two chairs were nice, but facing away from the window.. could have been designed a little better, as these places are all about the view.


Bathroom was tiny, but functional. sink was even tinier. Shower was concrete, and was OK.. but the bottom half looked to have quite a few mildew stains from over the years. Not a huge deal, but it could probably could use a deep scrub and/or painted to look better with a little effort.

Bring your dogs.. this place is very dog friendly, which is refreshing. The Recreation room was nice.. games, TV, ping pong... and a great view out the windows.

The check in has a small little store.. some good wines and beers, and a few other cool little items. People were friendly.. no problems.

Overall, very happy with our stay. The things listed above were pretty minor, and may seem a little petty.... but when added up I felt worth taking off 1 star for the price you are paying (which overall, isn't terribly high... but high enough that I felt the issues were worth mentioning).

Room Tip: bring your own food, and woodstove skills if staying in a cabin. Check the ferry schedule before you leave.. No TV's in cabins, so bring some good conversation, cards or games, or go to the Rec Room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnmanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a ladies retreat weekend. It was wonderful! We were looking for a quiet, relaxing, outdoorsy place to spend our time. We were not disappointed. This resort was just what we were looking for. We stayed in one of the large main houses with a large kitchen-we needed space to cook for 15 people and plenty of cooking supplies. The main house had everything we needed. This house was right on the water-so close that sometimes it felt like we were on a boat! Holly, the resort manager was simply delightful-friendly, helpful, and a joy to converse with! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank earthalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews