We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”

Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Donard B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Full marks to Eileen, the hospitality queen of Donard. A most comfortable stay with the warmest welcome imaginable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulysses-Magellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2010

We attended a wedding in a nearby hotel, which was booked out, and we were very fortunate to find this lovely B&B. It's a beautiful 250-year-old stone farmhouse, completely renovated to a modern, warm standard. The room was beautifully decorated, with stunning views across the Wicklow hills and across the proprietors' own farmlands. The lady of the house, Eileen, could not have been more friendly; when we arrived during the afternoon, because we were on our way to a wedding, she offered us tea and hot scones; and the next morning (we had taken a taxi back after the wedding) she said it might be difficult to get a taxi in the morning so she offered us a lift to collect our car from the hotel. Such service was very much appreciated and we felt the least we could do was to write this short review. I could not recommend Knockrue House highly enough! Thanks again, Eileen. (The breakfast was excellent, as well).

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We were really looking forward to this accomodation as my partner loves heritage and old buildings. On being greeted we were asked what time we would be leaving in the morning as the ladys grandson was playing in a match in Dublin and she needed to be there early. We said we would eat breakfast at eight as that suited us and it was no trouble to leave early to enjoy wicklow. We left and went for a meal, came back, watched tv. We heard all doors closing and lights off then the tv in our room was switched off. So we had no tv. Still we went to bed. On having breakfast we were rushed and then asked if we had showered we said no, and were told that if we did not have a shower that we could have money off the room as she needed to leave early. By that time we were desperate to get out. Why did she not make another arrangement with someone to deal with guests or close the guesthouse if it was not convenient for her? This is by far the worse service in Ireland that I have received and would not recommend this to anyone....

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jodyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EileenAllen, Owner at Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2010

Regarding the comments you left on trip advisor which we have only recently seen, we would like to address a couple of issues. Firstly, I did inform you I would need to leave early and you had no objections to this. I would like to apologise to you about the issue with the television which was entirely our fault. We accidently switched off the main control for the house when we retired to bed. We understand that you may have been unhappy but would have been glad to talk about these issues at the time they happened. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as we strive to provide a homely and welcoming atmosphere to all our guests. We hope in the future you may reconsider staying with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This B&B is located in a beautiful old stone house on a rambling farm on N81. The room was comfortable and clean and the line-dried linen smelled wonderful. Eileen was our gracious hostess, and provided lovely insight on where to eat and what to do in County Wicklow. She also gave excellent advice on timing to the airport so we made our flight home in ample time. Eileen showered us with special touches - a pot of tea and hot scones with homemade jam when we arrived, a pitcher of ice water in the evenings, and colorful information on the local area. We felt like one of the family under her roof.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VAAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Friendly owners, large clean rooms, delicious breakfast and tea biscuits served on arrival. Our reservation was lost so the hostess didn't know we were coming. Since it was low season, she happily accommodated us for the rate we originally reserved for. (This B&B does not change rates with low/high season). Nice farm area owned by proprietors where you can take a morning walk. There is not a lot to do right around the house but Glendalough is just 20miles away where there is plenty of beauty and hiking in the valley. There is also a small town with a bar/restaurant a few minutes drive away for dinner at night.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErinRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

We stayed here as couldn't find any accommodation in the Glenalough area open over the winter and saw the high recommendation of the property on trip advisor. Eileen really was a great hostess, and the room we stayed in was huge, with a beautiful large bed and great views. We were absolutely shattered when we arrived, and Eileen wasn't fussing over us at all- not like at some b&b's I've stayed at before. She got the balance right of being welcoming but not overbearing. She was a great conversationalist, and quite obviously takes a lot of pride in her home. Can't recommend staying here enough.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank span474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

On a recent trip to Ireland, we stayed at Knockruehouse about 40 minutes outside of Dublin in the countryside. The proprietor, Eileen Allen, was welcoming and a very gracious hostess. The B&B is part of a farm, lovely, and the house is over 250 years old. The rooms were spacious and breakfast was excellent. We loved it and were served morning coffee on a lovely tray at 7 in the morning. We highly recommend it.

Thank reddevil60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donard
6.5 mi away
Osprey Hotel
Osprey Hotel
#2 of 5 in Naas
1,203 reviews
6.3 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
593 reviews
6.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Avon Ri
Avon Ri
#2 of 2 in Blessington
304 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
4.5 mi away
Tinnycross House B&B
Tinnycross House B&B
#1 of 1 in Ballymore Eustace
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast

Address: on Dublin/Blessington Road | Near Hollywood and Donard, Donard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Donard
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Donard
Price Range: £27 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast Donard, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing