We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay with eileen!”

Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donard
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Donard B&B and Inns
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely stay with eileen!”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

we stayed here at the knockrue house for a night while touring the wicklow area. it was a charming farmhouse and we were greeted the next morning with a lovely (hardy) breakfast spread. the home was clean, cozy and very authentic. the best part of our stay was being so warmly welcomed by eileen. she raised her family in this home and her husband and son still run the surrounding farm. it was wonderful to be so warmly received into someone else's culture, country and home!

thanks eileen for a lovely escape in your beautiful countryside!

*its just a short and beautiful drive to wicklow gap -site of fantastic monastery ruins dating to 400AD. sheep running wild. lovely lookouts. and rainbow sitings. everything one imagines in ireland.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomadNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stayed at this B&B recently while attending a wedding in the Blessington area.First impressions were great as the house looked lovely from the outside. We were greeted by Eileen the owner and she gave us a great welcome.Our room was lovely and the breakfast next morning was first class . We would certainly stay here again and highly recommend Knockrue House.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine186616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Full marks to Eileen, the hospitality queen of Donard. A most comfortable stay with the warmest welcome imaginable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulysses-Magellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

We attended a wedding in a nearby hotel, which was booked out, and we were very fortunate to find this lovely B&B. It's a beautiful 250-year-old stone farmhouse, completely renovated to a modern, warm standard. The room was beautifully decorated, with stunning views across the Wicklow hills and across the proprietors' own farmlands. The lady of the house, Eileen, could not have been more friendly; when we arrived during the afternoon, because we were on our way to a wedding, she offered us tea and hot scones; and the next morning (we had taken a taxi back after the wedding) she said it might be difficult to get a taxi in the morning so she offered us a lift to collect our car from the hotel. Such service was very much appreciated and we felt the least we could do was to write this short review. I could not recommend Knockrue House highly enough! Thanks again, Eileen. (The breakfast was excellent, as well).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackD001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

We were really looking forward to this accomodation as my partner loves heritage and old buildings. On being greeted we were asked what time we would be leaving in the morning as the ladys grandson was playing in a match in Dublin and she needed to be there early. We said we would eat breakfast at eight as that suited us and it was no trouble to leave early to enjoy wicklow. We left and went for a meal, came back, watched tv. We heard all doors closing and lights off then the tv in our room was switched off. So we had no tv. Still we went to bed. On having breakfast we were rushed and then asked if we had showered we said no, and were told that if we did not have a shower that we could have money off the room as she needed to leave early. By that time we were desperate to get out. Why did she not make another arrangement with someone to deal with guests or close the guesthouse if it was not convenient for her? This is by far the worse service in Ireland that I have received and would not recommend this to anyone....

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jodyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EileenAllen, Owner at Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 October 2010
Regarding the comments you left on trip advisor which we have only recently seen, we would like to address a couple of issues. Firstly, I did inform you I would need to leave early and you had no objections to this. I would like to apologise to you about the issue with the television which was entirely our fault. We accidently switched off the main control for the house when we retired to bed. We understand that you may have been unhappy but would have been glad to talk about these issues at the time they happened. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as we strive to provide a homely and welcoming atmosphere to all our guests. We hope in the future you may reconsider staying with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2009

This B&B is located in a beautiful old stone house on a rambling farm on N81. The room was comfortable and clean and the line-dried linen smelled wonderful. Eileen was our gracious hostess, and provided lovely insight on where to eat and what to do in County Wicklow. She also gave excellent advice on timing to the airport so we made our flight home in ample time. Eileen showered us with special touches - a pot of tea and hot scones with homemade jam when we arrived, a pitcher of ice water in the evenings, and colorful information on the local area. We felt like one of the family under her roof.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2009

Friendly owners, large clean rooms, delicious breakfast and tea biscuits served on arrival. Our reservation was lost so the hostess didn't know we were coming. Since it was low season, she happily accommodated us for the rate we originally reserved for. (This B&B does not change rates with low/high season). Nice farm area owned by proprietors where you can take a morning walk. There is not a lot to do right around the house but Glendalough is just 20miles away where there is plenty of beauty and hiking in the valley. There is also a small town with a bar/restaurant a few minutes drive away for dinner at night.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErinRenae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donard
6.2 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
6.3 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.9 mi away
Avon Ri
Avon Ri
#2 of 2 in Blessington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Tulfarris Hotel and Golf Resort
2.8 mi away
Knockree Youth Hostel
Knockree Youth Hostel
#1 of 8 in Wicklow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.5 mi away
Abhainn Ri
Abhainn Ri
#1 of 2 in Blessington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast
Address: on Dublin/Blessington Road (N81) | Near Hollywood and Donard, Donard, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wicklow > Donard
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Donard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Knockrue House Bed & Breakfast Donard, Ireland - County Wicklow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing