We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Bearna Rua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bearna Rua Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Rathcoole B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Wonderful 2 nights spent at Bearna Rua Lodge. Elizabeth & her husband made us welcome from the minute we arrived to the moment we left. Room was lovely, very comfortable with everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent with an good range of options from fruit & cereal to a full Irish. Coffee & cake on our arrival was a lovely touch.
Will be forever grateful to Elizabeth's son Connor for driving us to the church for a christening when the local taxi firm let us down at the last minute.
Bearna Rua Lodge is located about a mile from Rathcoole centre where a local bus can be taken into Dublin city centre, the location is also ideal for exploring the surrounding countryside.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroler17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2013

Seven of us stayed at Bearna Rua Lodge for two nights to attend a christening locally - we could not possibly have chosen better. Only a mile from the main N7 road, this is a gloriously peaceful and comfortable hideaway in lovely countryside with glorious views to seven counties - weather permitting! Rooms were spotless and comfortable, and the small en suite bathrooms perfectly adequate. Our welcome by Elizabeth, with tea and cakes, was warmly hospitable; she and her husband took every care throughout to ensure that any reasonable needs were catered for. Indeed, when the local taxis failed to turn up on time, we were taken to the church by Elizabeth's husband Sean and their son - just outstanding spontaneous generosity. Breakfasts were impeccable. We were sorry to leave, and would recommend Bearna Rua without reservation. Just book!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardGCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Regretfully we've stayed in Bearne Rua Lodge just for two nights. It was too short...
Elizabeth and her husband were very warmly and helpful. She arranged for us to be picked up by bus for the trip to Dublin. She recommended Restaurants...options in the area...
It is a very good location for trips to the Wicklow Mountains...Dublin...and the coast.
Clean rooms, wonderful view and personal atmosphere..
We will definitely stay there again...and hopefully more days!!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms; personal atmosphere and wonderful view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucienne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bearna Rua Lodge for three nights in June of this year, and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were warmly met by Elizabeth and taken to our bedrooms which were very nice, and the beds were very comfortable. She was very helpful in showing us the transportation options in the area. She told us about the "hop on hop off" bus to Dublin, and even called them and arranged for us to be picked up. Bearna Lodge is a beautuful place, and the views of the surrounding area are breathtaking. Elizabeth prepared all our food and everything was delicious. If we return to Ireland again, we will definitely stay at this wonderful B&B again. Elizabeth was the perfect hostess and her B&B was truly wonderful.

Room Tip: all her rooms had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Very close to Dublin and Wicklow county. With the help of Elizabeth the hostess was able to plan out a full day of all the things we wanted to see. With excellent directions through the country side.
There were three of us and the room was rather small and the en-suite a little funky. Our accommodations were clean and view beautiful. Excellent recommendation of where was the best place to eat. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay in our Family Home and glad that you found my recommendations helpful to you. Thank you for your kind comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Our experience at the Bearna Rua B&B was wonderful. The accommodations were lovely with wonderful views for many kilometers and the breakfast was outstanding. However, the best thing was our proprietress Elizabeth who was extremely helpful and even allowed us to change our plans at the last moment when a conflict arose even though it meant that she would have an empty room for the weekend. She was very understanding and quite knowledgeable about the sites of Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for the view to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddntmosely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We spent 2 wonderful Nights at this lovely B&B in Sep 2012.
Clean Rooms and very nice bathrooms, wonderful view and personal atmosphere.
The owner was very helpful, giving advice for trips, dinner etc.
Very nice breakfast and separate TV| Tea room. WLAN available.
The place is a very good location for trips to the Wicklow Mountains, Glendalough etc.
Dublin can also be reached relatively quickly.
Car recommended to reach the house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathcoole
3.7 mi away
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
#1 of 1 in Kingswood
446 reviews
4.9 mi away
Glashaus Hotel
Glashaus Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tallaght
575 reviews
4.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
#2 of 4 in Tallaght
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Newlands Cross
5.5 mi away
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,229 reviews
9.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearna Rua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearna Rua Lodge

Address: Redgap | Rathcoole Co Dublin, Rathcoole, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rathcoole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathcoole
Price Range: £64 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearna Rua Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming family B&B run by Elizabeth. Panoramic views of Dublin and seven Counties. Relax in a rural setting yet only 30 minutes drive to Dublin City and Airport. Extensive breakfast menu.Ideal touring base for Dublinn, Wicklow and Kildare. Help is always at hand with inineries for Glendalough, Powerscourt Gardens, Castletown House, National Stud Farm & Japenesse Gardens. Avail of Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour Bus into Dublin City from Rathcoole Village . Luas (tram) park & ride every 5 minutes into Dublin City and it runs to midnight. Local Restaurants: Poitin Still (famous old Irish pub and restaurant), Avoca shopping Outlet and restaurant which has won many awards for its food, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bearna Rua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearna Rua Lodge Rathcoole, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing