We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandy Hills B&B is the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Rush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012

A gracious and charming host, great location, good food, and spotlessly clean B&B are highlights of this wonderful B&B.

Mary made us feel at home immediately upon our arrival and during our stay. She took time from her busy schedule to talk to us at length, providing insight to nearby attractions, giving us good directions to find things and just making our stay very memorable and delightful. She not only recommended the Harbor Bar (probably the best pub restaurant we have encountered in Ireland, Scotland or England) for dinner but booked our table and offered to drive us there, since we had just arrived in the village. But with her directions it was easy to find.

Our room was spacious and warm, with the room temperature under our control at all times, something we seldom encountered in Ireland. Furnishings in the entire house were tasteful and were like new condition. And the whole house was spotlessly clean, bright and cheerful.

Situated in a quiet neighborhood in the village of Rush, about 15 minutes north of the Dublin airport, and away from Dublin traffic, this is an ideal location for visiting attractions north of Dublin. And it is only a short walk to a pretty beach on the Irish Sea.

Rush has a large grocery store and two petrol stations as well as quality restaurants. Since we were there only one night in preparation for our trip home, we did not get to explore any more of the village.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DanandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

This exceptional B&B won its proprietor Mary Buckley the AA Bean an Tí of the Year award last year and it is easy to see why. The friendly welcome, the homemade bakery and preserves, the spotless accomodation, the spacious and well appointed rooms: what's not to like? Mary treats you as a friend and is a font of local knowledge. The regular train service gets you into the centre of Dublin without the necessity of dodging the busy traffic, navigating the unfamiliar streets and finding scarce and expensive parking. Being north of Dublin it is also convenient for visiting the famous prehistoric sites of Newgrange and Knowth at Brú na Bóinne. Dublin Airport and Croke Park are both nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vkemdlel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

In our return to the Dublin airport we met the special place of Sandy Hills B&B in Rush, a village very close to the airport.
It was a beautiful experience for several reasons: the nice room, very large and comfortable,
the rich breakfast, with handmade products, but more than the other reasons, the special welcome of Mrs Mary, the owner, with her homely kindness and peace of mind.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaCh2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Definitely an adress to keep ! B&B impeccable in all aspects : size of rooms, rooms and public areas very clean, the BREAKFAST certainly one of the best we had in Ireland, everything is homemade by Mary (jams, breads, scones...). But the most important thing is the kindness of Mary (it looks like a real mom with her guests), a person you can not forget ! Mary thank you again for all things you do for us.
For the geographical situation, it is very good because we are near the sea (20mn from airport, 20 miles from Dublin) and it is very quiet.
ABSOLUTELY PERFECT STAY!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SINTES N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Mary, just have to say THANK YOU! The B&B was perfection defined. My wife and I along with our 16 month old daughter had a wonderful stay the night prior to our departure from Dublin and the location was phenomenal. Here are the highlights:
- Mary was 100% accommodating, flexible with our schedule, and able to make us the meals we requested in 5-star restaurant fashion. Despite having some incredibly difficult guests who were managing to complain in extensive detail about fried eggs vs. scrambled (common...really?) and how the scrambled eggs would never be done in time to make the train....in an HOUR, she was able to (by herself) make an amazing meal quickly while getting our daughter toys to distract her from her immense travel exhaustion.
- The location. 5 minutes to an AMAZING restaurant that Mary recommended for us. The beach is a 6-9 minute walk, amazing golf courses the same, and Dublin International was 10 minutes free of traffic.
- The beds....AMAZING.
- Cleanliness. Mary's attention to detail is perfect. Bed comforters are ironed, floors are immaculate (hence why you take your shoes off when you enter). Also, hard to complain with any of these things when (a) it isn't your country and (b) it isn't your home. ENJOY FLAWLESS accommodation.

There is much more, but I will wrap it up. Have fun here, enjoy freshly baked goods (which most don't have because Ireland requires special licensing for this), and rest comfortably in a home away from home.

Kirby, Emily, Lily

Room Tip: Ask and you shall receive. Email her to confirm all of your guests prior to arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirbySanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

It is priceless to feel like home when you are thousands of miles away from it! We chose this B&B because it is close to the airport and we had an early flight to catch the following morning. Little did we know that it would turn out to be a spectacular experience.
Rush is a very nice town, with really friendly people and many nearby places to visit. But the most spectacular part of it was this B&B. Mary is among the best persons I've ever met! She is just SOOO friendly and helpful, and has so much knowledge on cultural, historic and natural places to visit in Ireland. From the moment we walked in, she received us with a huge smile. She suggested a few places to have dinner in town and even offered to drive us there and pick us up when we were done! Since our flight was very early next morning, Mary left for us freshly baked homemade scones (when we got there the day before, Mary was in the middle of the baking process), orange juice and cereal bars at the dinning room table! Can you be any kinder than that?
The room was very very nice and spacious and impeccably clean!! So was the bathroom and the bed was the most comfortable bed ever!
Our only regret is that we only stayed there for one night... but we definitely have a very good excuse to go back!
Thank you so much Mary for EVERYTHING and God bless you!

Room Tip: My only advise would be... if you have the opportunity, do not hesitate in staying at this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

From the moment I first spoke to Mary I knew we had picked the right place to stay.Mary was so friendly and she greeted us so warmly when we arrived at her beautiful B&B.The room was huge and airy with luxurious marble and lovely wood.Everywhere was immaculate and spotless and the breakfast was truly scrumptious.Mary bakes her own bread and scones and they are so delicious.Mary cares about your holiday and is a real peoples person.We both slept well in the comfy bed and wished we were staying longer.Mary has huge knowledge of the area and can recommend places to go and buses to take.We would thoroughly recommend Sandy Hills to anyone looking for a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edlet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast

Address: Corrs Lane, Rush, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rush
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rush
Price Range: £78 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hills b&b
Sandy Hills Hotel Rush
Sandy Hills Bed And Breakfast Rush, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing