We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Rush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo Grove, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true Gem!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We recently spent a week staying with Mary Buckley at her Sandy Hills B&B. There are not enough superlatives to describe this beautiful lady and her gorgeous home. The house itself defies description because of its cleanliness and comfort. However, the real gem is Mary herself. She goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and her cooking is delicious. She bakes all her own scones and brown bread, makes scrumptious pancakes and her own jams. No wonder she was named Bean a Ti for 2011.
No cannot go wrong staying at Sandy Hills!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billandmichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
81
98
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Hi..My troop of friends (the four amigos) stayed at Sandyhills 5-7th July 2013. Mary made us feel welcome and at home straight away. The accommodation was perfectly modern, extremely spacious, very clean and nice and quiet for a good night's sleep. Mary did everything in her power to make our stay worthwhile, above and beyond the call of duty. We will not need to shop around for a roof when we return...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Being the first time around dublin, we decided to stay at sandyhills, primary because of is location. It takes about 25 min to get to the airport, half an hour to get to the city centre of dublin and only a 5-minute walk to the beach.

Marys B&B is a gem of a place – homely, warm, peaceful and full of light. Comfy bed, wonderful breakfast, clean and tidy rooms!
But more than that, it is Mary's hospitality that we appreciated the most: she is always willing to help you, to give you recommendations about what to visit, where to eat, what to see...
She pays attention to every details (from the flowers to the music) to create a soothing atmosphere and make you feel almost better than at home.
She gave us lifts to the train station and took us to many interessting places.
We spend a whole week at Mary's B&B and wished to have some more time to stay there.
Thank you mary for being such a wonderful person! We will definitely come back :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elelenaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamestown, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We spent one night at Mary's delightful B and B. She made us feel like family thru the whole process, including letting us leave our bags early, as we had luggage for 3 weeks. We arrived and she hurried to get our rooms ready as soon as possible. The rooms were very spacious and cheery and spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable, and our room had a double, plus a single bed. Breakfast was amazing, with everything homemade and the best pancakes I have ever eaten. I wish we had stayed a second night, but had made reservations in Dublin. The location is a little out of the way, but Rush is a small, quiet village on the Irish Sea away from the hustle and bustle of Dublin. There are also many places of interest to see, with Mary being a capable guide. Mary's place was a short walk to the beach. We would not hesitate to stay again. Thanks Mary.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jame4272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Not only are the accommodations top tier, but the hospitality is unequaled. From arrival to departure Mary ensures your comfort and enjoyment of this lovely beachfront community. Her home baked breads and home made jams are delicious. Her commitment to making your stay the very best is palpable. I plan to make Sandy Hills my new home away from home when I travel to Dublin area.

Room Tip: All 3 rooms We stayed in were spacious and sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMCboston2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was in Ireland to see family and stayed at the Sandy Hills B&B due to the convenient location. The experience at this B&B outshone my experience at a number of starred hotels across 3 continents.

What distinguishes Sandy Hills from, say, a 5-star chain hotel is proprietor Mary's earnestness to ensure that every last detail is just right for the guest and to make a personal connection with each visitor. Rooms are kept immaculately clean, eating the tasty homemade breakfast feels like you're at a family friend's home, and you get the reassuring impression that all facilities and decoration has been thought through 5 times over. My departure on the last day was quite early (stars still visible), and Mary still prepared a hearty takeaway breakfast including her homemade scones.

Would repeat 100%.

Room Tip: Every room I saw (2 total) was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkbased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were so lucky to stay at this wonderful B&B for four nights while visiting friends who live in Rush. Mary was a terrific hostess and saw to our every need. Our room was spacious, quiet and extremely comfortable. We were greeted each morning with a scrumptious breakfast. Mary served her homemade scones, brown bread, and/or soda bread and jam along with delicious scrambled eggs, pancakes or whatever we desired. There was always fresh fruit, juice, cereal and yogurt as well. Mary saw to any gluten free needs, which was much appreciated. We loved our stay at Sandy Hills and would go back in a minute!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juniper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rush
6.2 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
5.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,563 reviews
12.8 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
359 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Island View Hotel
Island View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malahide
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast
Address: Corrs Lane, Rush, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rush
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hills b&b
Sandy Hills Hotel Rush
Sandy Hills Bed And Breakfast Rush, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing