We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A feeling of home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Rush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A feeling of home”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Sandy Hill is a comfy bed and breakfast with beautiful rooms and the kindest hostess you could hope to find. From the moment you walk in the door Mary make you feel welcome and loves to help you find ways to spend your time in Ireland. If you give her the opportunity she'll create an itinerary for your entire trip. The house it's self is beautiful and cosy inside and it's close enough to the beach that you can hear the waves break some days. Add to that that there is a direct train line from Rush to Dublin, and you have a nice beach town to stay in while exploring the city. I would recommend staying here if you are planning a trip in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
79
91
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poolesville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at Sandy Hills at the end of a three week journey through Scotland and Ireland. By far, Mary was our favorite hostess and Sandy Hills our favorite B&B. As soon as we arrived we were greeted like old friends and Mary went out of her way to make sure we had a pleasant stay. She was always available for directions, tips on what to see and do, which trains to take and even made dinner reservations for us our first night there. She provided us with train schedule and a map of Dublin and suggested the best way to see the city. The rooms are very spacious, immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious and Mary bakes her own scones and makes her own jam. Again, the best we had in all of Ireland! Her breakfast room is warm and cozy, beautifully decorated with soft Irish music greeting us each morning. You won't find a warmer more thoughtful host than Mary. She is a true gem! Definitely recommend this B&B and hope to return again. Thank you, Mary for everything!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica-USA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at "sandy Hills" whilst attending the skerries 100 road racing event, We turned up with no reservation after Mary had been recommended by a local, how lucky we were, Mary had just taken a cancellation for the weekend but could not accommodate us for that night, she took us in rang round everywhere and got us sorted for that night, from that minute she welcomed us to her home, offered us local advice maps, looking after the motor bike in the back garden under secured locked gates, breakfast was amazing, all home cooked including the jam, freshly prepared fruit, pancakes etc etc, the room was light, spacious and immaculate. I could carry on writing as Mary and her home are wonderful and I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Second stay with Mary at Sandyhills B&B stayed few days last year and back again this year for 1 week and again treated to tea and home made cake on arrival, delicious breakfast and great accommodation. Mary goes the extra mile giving advice on what to see and do in the area. Highly recommend this B&B

Room Tip: All rooms large well maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60Elisheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgos, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the end of June 2014 during 3 nights, two adults and two children. The bedroom is really big, well decorated, the furniture is new and all is extremely clean. The breakfast is excellent and Mary is very kind and gave us a lot of intesting information about the places to visit. I recommend this B&B as the best accomodation we found in Ireland.
Carmen.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 154carmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed at Sandyhills for 4 nights and it was the most enjoyable stay we have done at a B&B, would certainly recommend. Everything was excellent Accommodation, Breakfast and Room.
Mary was so kind and friendly and her Son was too, who welcomed us when we arrived. Mary
gave us lots of advice on where to visit which helped us tremendously being our first visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

From the moment we first met Mary we knew we were onto a winner. We have been to many splendid B&B's over the years and met some lovely people, but Mary is definitely "top of the list". We were barely over the doorstep when we were ushered into the large dining room and given tea and home made cakes etc., We immediately felt like "one of the family" and when we were shown our room, what an absolute delight. Very spacious, spotlessly clean, modern décor, very comfortable beds and large en-suite. The breakfast was amazing. As well as the usual bacon, sausage, egg etc., there were home made hot pancakes, baked freshly to order, home made scones, jams etc., Even salmon when available. Mary always asked if we wanted extra but no way could we eat any more, we were so full up.
Another highlight was that we didn't have to worry about where to visit as Mary planned our week for us on a daily basis. We found this extremely helpful as without her we would have missed seeing so many wonderful interesting places. We didn't ask Mary to do this, she knew that we had never been in the area before and offered, she just wanted to make sure that we had a "wonderful adventure of a week" which we of course did, thanks to her. The day we were going to Belfast on the train to the Titanic experience, unknown to us, Mary phoned the railway booking office to try and get discount on our fare as we were pensioners. She has a busy schedule and seemed to be "on the go" all week but still went out of her way to do all these things for us. I don't know where her energy came from!
Sandy hills and Mary are an absolute must. It was not just a holiday but a "great adventure" that we will be talking about for a long time to come.
As I wrote in the survey that Booking.com sent. "Mary should get a medal for promoting Ireland" To any one reading this, go there, you will soon find out exactly what I mean.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunroPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rush
2.7 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
5.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
5.8 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
7.1 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast

Property: Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast
Address: Corrs Lane, Rush, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rush
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rush
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hills b&b
Sandy Hills Hotel Rush
Sandy Hills Bed And Breakfast Rush, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing