We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our dream wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding here on June 25th and found everything about this hotel to be wonderful. Staff, food,rooms,service were all faultless. Our bridal suite was superb and even though we stayed for a few days after our special day, we were not moved to another room. Colm,the resident manager for our wedding was top class and professional to his fingertips. Michelle, our wedding coordinator was extremely helpful and very good at her job. Tony was very efficient,courteous and a true gentleman, accommodating in every possible way. These people and all the staff in general make this a superb choice for any occasion, big or small. We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your excellent review and I am pleased to read your positive comments about our Staff. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your Wedding here at Slieve Russell and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were attending a friends wedding, everything was done to a top class standard, the 5 course meal was outstanding and service was fantastic. Room was a deluxe double overlooking the golf course, greats views and very comfortable and spacious. Probably not very much to do in the area, best for a break to get away from it all. Didn't get using the spa facilities so cannot comment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your positive comments. I am happy you enjoyed your Friends Wedding at Slieve Russell and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Not good from start to end. Had a package deal for overnight stay, dinner and breakfast. Waited 30 minutes to check in when finally getting checked in girl made us wait while she took a phone call from another potential guest, not even a sorry or anything just "wait a minute." Then having listened to other members of staff telling customers breakfast was from 7.30-10 couldn't understand why this girl was telling us breakfast was 8.30-10.30. When asked about payment she said she would take €20 of us now and the €150 voucher at the end. Couldn't understand why. Got up to room tiles broken on ceiling at hall, door handle broken had to unlock then push door to room, no iron, no fridge, no safe. I thought these were all normal requirements in a room! Bed not even a normal double bed looked and felt more like a small double! Very hard and uncomfortable = bad nights sleep. Went to swimming pool and asked about spa they send us down to three girls just glaring at us telling us no spa as they were shutting in 10 minutes. Went back up to guy at pool and told him they were shutting he replied with "oh well". I asked the girl in the changing room, who worked there, did she know if you were allowed into the jacuzzi or steam room etc while pregnant as I've heard different stories she said no work away no problem but would check with the guy. She came back and said yes work away they didn't have any rules there. I felt as if she didn't know and was just saying that so check the boards around jacuzzi etc first rule on boards do not use while pregnant. They don't even know there own rules!! The swimming pool felt more like the local leisure centre kids going mad everywhere. At dinner that night told no drinks included and a pint of beer was €5.20 and to have lamb or beef there would be a supplement. Our server was very nice tho and the same at breakfast couldn't fault her. After dinner we asked at reception about a pool table that stayed open to 9.30, as stated in brochure in room, "no room closed" - this was at 8pm!!!! Would not recommend this hotel again to anyone over priced and under knowledged staff! Worked out a very dear night away as we travelled from Belfast wish we hadn't of bothered.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank danielle w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your most recent review. I am very sorry to learn of the shortcomings you experienced during your stay, and I would greatly appreciate if you can please forward the Room Number and Date of your stay to Kerry.bradley@slieverussell.ie so that I may investigate your comments in more detail. Thank you. Kind Regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A little bit out of the way and almost in the middle of nowhere,no offence to ballyconnell.We arrived late afternoon and checked in with no problem,room was very nice definitely a four star hotel and worth the rating,nice large bar/lounge with comfortable furniture and large screen + at least one other tv to watch the world cup football,good selection of drinks and bar food which were both sampled and enjoyed.Gardens and golf courses are kept to a high standard and well worth a stroll with a nice water feature at the main entrance.All staff that we had dealings with were very helpful and polite,we did not get a chance to visit the leisure centre but it looked fairly impressive.We did eat in both restaurants and the food was good,although the large restaurant looking out over the gardens is definitely the best one to make a booking.One slight gripe that I must mention is the overflow from weddings into the hotel bar which makes it extremely full and uncomfortable for at least a couple of hours until the wedding parties meal is ready and also when they are clearing out and setting up for entertainment,I do think that the hotel should look at some alternative as hotel guests are most definitely inconvenienced at these times,but would not stop me from staying at the slieve russell hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Ask the reception to make sure that your room is on the opposite side of the hotel to the outdoor sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joehealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel, the Grounds, and our staff. I am happy to hear you will return, and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a very good break away last week at the Slieve Russel.We had got a good deal online so great value. We both play golf and the course was in superb condition . I think its one of the best courses i have played .The room was very good and spacious .The grounds are beautifully kept .There is a really nice walkway all around the grounds.The secret garden isexcellent ,i can only compare it with the botanic gardens in glasnevin.We had dinner in the restaurant and both dinner and breakfast were really good .We even tried the par 3 golf which is suprisingly well laid out in a lovely setting beside the lake .We will definately go back as we feel this hotel has everything we want on site .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am very pleased to read your positive comments about our Golf Course, Gardens, Restaurant and Rooms. I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Slieve Russell and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Came back to this hotel for a 2nd time and it was again just as good. Food in the Setanta restaurant was delicious as always and service was very friendly . Atmosphere in the bar was very good for a Monday night and the service from bartender Mykolas was excellent. Only gripe I have is the drinks selection, there is a great cocktail menu and a big selection of whiskies and spirits as well as a good wine menu and yet the bar still hasn't modernised and gotten in some decent craft beers yet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank irish_goat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your positive comments. I will pass on your comments to our staff. I will also take on board your comments in relation to the selection of craft beers and speak with the Bar Manager. I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Slieve Russell and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We just returned yesterday after a 3 night stay at this hotel. We had only booked for 2nights but our girls aged 6 & 4 had such fun at the kids club that we stayed an additional night. There was even a soft play room for our 1 year old so everyone was happy. The secret gardens are beautiful, the grounds are very well kept and the walk round the golf course is really lovely.
We stayed In room 701 which was so close to the lift, pool and reception area which was fantastic for young children. The kids club is great and the get a good variety of food for there evening meal.
On the whole this is a amazing family friendly hotel and we will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myrtle348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel, the Grounds, and our facilities that are available for the kids. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return to Slieve Russell. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,510 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
259 reviews
17.2 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range: £110 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing