We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent Cabin to have a relaxing stay...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cabin is set in well maintained grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The cabin is set in well maintained grounds
The cabin at night
Cabin in pine forest in summer
Cabin in Spring
Cabin front view in Spring
Well behaved dogs welcome
The front veranda
Front veranda
Dining area and kitchen
View of the main part of cabin on ground floor
Whirlpool (jacuzzi) bath in the main bathoom
Mezzanine seating area with additional fold-out bed
Bedroom 3 upstairs with cot
Bedroom 2 upstaiirs
Stairway to the upper floor
Kitchen in the cabin, fully equipped
Woodford River at complex marina entrance
Safe roads within the gated complex
Marina complex 100m from the cabin
Walkway along the Woodford River 100m from cabin
Woodland walk to the Woodford River, 50m from cabin
Cabin woodland gardens
Fishing on Lake Garadice 5km away
Lock 3 on the Woodford River, 2km away
Haughtons Shore moorings, 5km away
Boats at Haughtons Shore, 5km away
Lake Garadice, 5km away
Ballyconnell Lock on the Woodford River
Sunset on Garadice
Slieve Russell Chmpionship Gold Course 6km away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballyconnell, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Brian M
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent Cabin to have a relaxing stay...”
Reviewed 29 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We planned to take the family away for a few days to have some family time and looked for somewhere with an excellent atmosphere. The comfort and atmosphere of this cabin was fantastic. It was super to spend time with the family playing games and watching movies. It was a short walk away from a river walk and their Marina which one of our kids loved as he enjoyed fishing. The cabin was immaculately clean and had everything we needed. One our other boys absolutely loved the Jacuzzi bath, he had to have one every night. Colin and Bernie were exceptional hosts, every time we asked them about something, they went the extra mile and went above a beyond anything we had ever experienced before, they really cared that we enjoyed our stay safely. A massive thanks to Colin and Bernie......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
autumn272...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful spacious cabin”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from 3 night stay and cannot recommend highly enough. Great place for a relaxing break in lovely surroundings. Cabin itself was perfect and the owners were so helpful prior to our arrival providing cot, travel cot, highchair and fireguard. We travelled with teenagers and a 2 yr old child - no WiFi was a shock for the teenagers but they soon discovered the art of conversation and the fun to be had with board games!!! The jacuzzi bath was a big hit with all and the cabin was so comfy and cozy ...minus 2 degrees outside and we didn't even notice. Will definitely return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of interior and novelty value of log cabin - something different!!
Liked least: Not a great deal to do in local area but had a few nice walks
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, uber standard and a friendly host”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent last weekend there (last week of September) and we will be looking to go back there at some point in the near future. The place is fantastic: great location, uber standard and very friendly host Colin.

The cabin is equipped with everything you could need for an extended stay, also there is a jacuzzi !

The closest shop is 7 km away so it is not too far and has all you could need during the stay. The place is also located close enough to the border so you can pay a visit to amazing Marble Arch Cave which I would definitely recommend doing !

We travelled with 2 kids (4 and 2) plus granny (plus our dog) and there was plenty space left.

All in all very happy with the stay and couldnt recommend it more

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The standard
Liked least: the water had a strange yellowy hue
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rwandrew
Navan, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic long weekend”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Arrived to the warmest of welcomes from the owners. Cabin was impeccably well presented . Not one thing has been over looked and an amazing amount of thought has been put into the cabin. Ever utensil you would ever need. Stuff like a coffee machine and refills were a very nice touch we thought.
One of the nicest places to wake up to. The sun light streams in to the cabin and the silence is unrivaled. We had a party of 6 (and our dog) and all slept amazing. Was the perfect long weekend break to just unwind and relax.
One of our friends took his boat down as he had seen there was a marina located on sight and the slip is only a 5 minute drive down river
Made great use of the boat and the cabin worked perfect as a Base for a day of boating. Had to purchase a lock key card in ballyconnell.The lake is less that 30 mins via boat. Spent the day watersking and wake boarding. Had a fantastic weekend.
We will all most certainly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a weekend in log cabin. Place was so serene and beautiful. Cant wait to go back again. Definatly can't recommend high enough and colin the owner is such a lovely man. Credit to him

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phebs1989
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family break”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely log cabin, Stayed here with my partner and parents for two night. Everything that was needed in the cabin was provided

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara W
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unspoiled wonderland”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

There is nowhere near enough promotion for these beautiful cabins. From the size and quallity of the cabins to the peace and tranquility of the location. Myself and three friends stayed for the weekend and did not want to leave. Short and sweet but overall a ten. We will most definitely be back in due course.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing