We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountnugent
Certificate of Excellence
Dundalk
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

I stayed here this weekend for a family wedding.
Hotel is in a fabulous location for both a wedding and a relaxing break

Room Tip: we had room 151 which had a balcony and a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DundalkRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    69
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
110
128
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

We had our Wedding Reception in Crover House at the end of August. Gabby, Evelyn and all the staff made sure that we needed nothing throughout our whole stay, would recommend for a weekend away, a fishing trip or a wedding!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older part of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonakilty, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Lovely situation on banks of Lough Sheelin. The staff could not be more helpful. This particular day was very busy in the hotel and yet everyone staying or visiting for Sunday lunch felt the personal touch of the manager and her staff.
The rooms are very comfortable and a good size for a relatively small hotel.
Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Overall the Hotel is fine.Scenery is out of this world on a fine day.Very peaceful and great for a get away from it all location.We really enjoyed the food (dinner)excellent portions and good quality..The Hotel toilets could be given more attention--toilet rolls etc..An irish coffee at the bar should be what it is an Irish Coffee(black/white) and not thrown up as a godawful mix of cream and whatever else-got grumpy when this was pointed out-replacement went the same within minutes.-Granted the barpersons were run off their feet and appeared to be grossley understaffed for the occasion thus leading to this type of inefficiency.With a little bit of training and direction these things should not occur.The little things like above are important to many people.The water in the lovely fountain in front of the Hotel needs to be properly maintained,otherwise it is a very pleasant Hotel to stay in and i found the staff as friendly as anywhere else..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gerry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

I didnt stay at the hotel, only visited for a wedding reception. It was nice, staff were very helpful and friendly. We seemed to wait a long time for the dinner, but maybe that is common in Ireland. We travelled from Ballinamore, Co Leitrim where the wedding was held, although we has a SatNav (TOMTOM) we missed the turning for the Crover, because the sign was facing the opposite way, maybe a consideration for management to think about.
Other than that highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megooze2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

Appears to be a little understaffed, no porters available for luggage!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zozz35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed for three nights and had the B&B deal. Breakfast was good and plentiful. Rooms were antiquated with tiny TV's (13 in?) of the tube type I believe, no storage drawers, and the phone service was limited to going through the front desk to make or receive outside calls. BUT, you can't take away from the friendly staff and the great views of the lake. Nice golf course and great fishing are the other positve points of this hotel.
I will rcommend only is you are a golfer or fisherman.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertram4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountnugent
12.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
9.8 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
22.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
21.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crover House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crover House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Lough Sheelin | Co.Cavan, Mountnugent, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Mountnugent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountnugent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crover House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 18th century, Crover House Hotel and Golf Club is a family owned country house hotel. Situated in mature grounds on the shores of the famous Lough Sheelin and set amidst the rolling Drumlin landscape of County Cavan. The Hotel enjoys commanding views over the lake and the surrounding countryside, including our executive 9-hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crover House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing