We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountnugent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here on a Grab One offer ( £84 for a 2-night stay for 2 with breakfast and " champagne "- actually Perry from Essex but very pleasant ) and it was a pleasant surprise . The lake-view from our room was excellent , the room itself very large and comfortable , the hotel clean and attractive pictures throughout , a lovely ivy-clad building with extremely well-maintained and picturesque grounds , a good but not long enough walk close to the lake bank . Food was quite good and affordable but we had to dine in the bar , dining-room only being open at weekends . Breakfast was fair - slightly limited as to choice . Staff were friendly . The water from the cold tap in our room was always lukewarm so a slight problem with drinking water . We're certainly looking forward to going again .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seasound220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2013

We were over from UK for GAA weekend with children and adults of all ages ,grannies included!
We were delighted with the beautiful scenery, the helpfulness of the staff and the excellence of the food.
Our room was on the ground floor and despite the number of children present was lovely and quiet, the shower was powerful and I thought it a great idea that within the shower cubicle was a dispenser of body and hair wash which was a bonus with young children! Hair dryer, iron and ironing board as well as tea and coffee making facilities were included in the room.
The rooms were a decent size and immaculately clean,nothing was too much trouble for the staff and I would highly recommend a visit to this beautiful location ,the short woodland walk along loch sheelin was majestic and the scenery breathtaking.Delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisy23Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We have had several functions here and had a confirmation party there recently. We and two other families booked the main ballroom so as to be together, as it was a Thursday so to create a bit of craic. The staff at our tables were excellent, the food likewise and the corkage of 5 euro was great value. They also allowed us to dock our iPod in their sound system and we had a bit of a dance and sing-along. We will return again soon...!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friesian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Set on the banks of lough shekelin the views are excellent right across to the mountains. The rooms are a good size and clean. Staff are very helpful and the food the brilliant. A real weekend to remember.hotel location is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ireland00066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

fabless place to go for a nice break and take in the wonderful scenery of the lakes and relax with some fishing and around of golf with your friends and sit back and unwind in the bar with few drinks and a lovely meal

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

Superb location. Overlooking Lough Sheelin which is one of the best places to catch specimen wild brown trout. Very comfortable rooms with Staff dedicated to making sure you have everything you need. All that's needed is the weather.....

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kieron1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Fantastic location, brilliant friendly can do staff, food was very good and lots of it, drinks a plenty. The hotel was chosen for the wedding reception and party, great location to hold it at with plenty of room for everything that goes on within a wedding day. The staff were very good and the rooms very large, quiet, comfy and clean. Only 2 niggles, lost the sound on the TV (but didn't watch much anyway, and they said they had no Rose wine as we arrived and ordered the first drink, (bit disappointing that). Great breakfast buffet and on until 11:30 (ish) good aftr a wedding reception when you have had a few :-)

Room Tip: Try and get on the ground floor in the east wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tel1Guitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountnugent
12.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
22 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
844 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
269 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crover House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crover House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Crover House Hotel Lough Sheelin | Co.Cavan, Mountnugent A82 P2D9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Mountnugent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountnugent
Price Range: £59 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crover House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 18th century, Crover House Hotel and Golf Club is a family owned country house hotel. Situated in mature grounds on the shores of the famous Lough Sheelin and set amidst the rolling Drumlin landscape of County Cavan. The Hotel enjoys commanding views over the lake and the surrounding countryside, including our executive 9-hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Stayforlong S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Crover House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing