We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining, service and view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountnugent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, and were greeted with terrific service and excellent food. The second you walk in, the staff makes sure you are relaxed and happy. I can't say enough how good the food was- appetizer, entree and dessert. It was the best meal we had in Ireland. It was raining lightly when we arrived, but the view of the lake (and all the fishermen enjoying it) is beautiful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank travelcat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

The new fine dining restaurant in crover house hotel has proved to be excellent. I had the pleasure of dining there for a family meal. From the moment we arrived we were greeted at reception and accompanied into the beautiful modern cocktail bar where we enjoyed a relaxing drink and ordered our food in comfort. The food in the fine dining restaurant was amazing. The menu has a wide selection to suit all taste buds. Each course was presented beautifully and taste just as good. There was no time delay between courses and staff were very attentive to all our needs. This was by far one of the best meals I have experienced and crover house should be proud to have such talent in the kitchen. I look forward to coming here again

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19,061,990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We, 50 members of the Co. Longford Historical Society were returning from a day trip in Cavan. It was a damp, wet evening. We were warmly greeted by the General Manager, Mr. Eamonn Gillespie and his friendly and courteous waiting staff. The picturesque dining room which overlooked the lake was beautifully appointed. The superb food met all our expectations. later Mr. Gillespie invited us to the cocktail lounge to relax. There he introduced cathy Durkin who sang for us, accompanied by the resident pianist. Eamonn himself ended the evening with a renditition of Danny Boy and Carrickfergus. Watch out the Tenors!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I got married here two weeks ago and its exceeded all my expectations. Beautiful food and venue, 5 star service and fantastic staff. Eamon, the manager has really got it spot on. Special thanks to Evelyn our wedding planner. Will be back again soon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had a fabulous fine dining experience in the new restaurant in Crover House hotel last night. The decor of the restaurant is delightful and pleasingly modern but very in keeping with the hotel itself. It will be nice when they refurbish the bar as well.

The new manager is right on track in my book and it's wonderful to see the excitement and interest all the staff have in the success of the new restaurant.

The food is delicious, extremely well presented and with enthusiasm from very willing staff. It's refreshing to see staff so interested and motivated to promote in the best possible way, the success of the new venture.

We thought the food was amazing and what's more... while still very much fine dining, not overly rich as to upset one's stomach the next day, if that makes sense. We loved it and will most definitely return.

We wish them every success because they deserve it!

Room Tip: Just reviewing the restaurant here... delicious and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank thelionspet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I went for a meal in the newly furbished restaurant for our wedding anniversary. From the moment we went in to the moment we left it was one of the best evening's out.The food was 5 star from start to finish.The decor was well taught out,not to packed with tables, so you weren't on top of other guests. The food was to die for and the staff were so attentive and when we were finished the manager.came over to us to ask how everything was, which was a nice touch. Will be back.A special mention to the staff who made it all special (The two Sean's, Matt and the lovely Josephine who was the first to greet us

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Crover hotel is located in the most amazing setting, which you couldn't buy!!! Gorgeous sunny sunday with my family, i decided to treat them all to dinner! the lakeview bar was bedlem, we didnt mind the wait for a table as we know all to well how hotels go as my son runs a hotel in dublin..for the amazing building & grounds, you really need to consider investing some money into the food, presentation was off poor quality and a little dissapointing to be honest, our waitress, Therese was her name if i remember correctly, was hugely efficient & a very plesent young lady.. She really deserves praise here, no wage packet would be enough for the work she puts in & im sure other staff members put in, under way to much pressure which was very evident to my whole family & still had a smile on her face!!!...i really hope you take my comments into consideration...

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ggaffer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountnugent
12.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
22 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,392 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
266 reviews
21.5 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
11 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crover House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crover House Hotel & Golf Club

Address: Crover House Hotel Lough Sheelin | Co.Cavan, Mountnugent A82 P2D9, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Mountnugent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountnugent
Price Range: £64 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crover House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 18th century, Crover House Hotel and Golf Club is a family owned country house hotel. Situated in mature grounds on the shores of the famous Lough Sheelin and set amidst the rolling Drumlin landscape of County Cavan. The Hotel enjoys commanding views over the lake and the surrounding countryside, including our executive 9-hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Crover House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing