We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deal Of The Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountnugent
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deal Of The Week”
Reviewed 14 December 2009

It gives me great pleasure to rate this hotel "top-notch". From Evelyn the receptionist who gave us a warm welcome and helpful information, to the bar staff who always kept us smiling, to the waitresses who were dedicated to our tables. Not forgetting the manger, Gabrielle who was so pleasant and catered us for all our needs. The hotel was a luxurious, peaceful resort that helps us unwind and relax. Would recommend this to any couple wanting a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandHotTipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    77
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
119
139
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

My family stayed in this hotel on the 5th December 2009.
Our rating is as follows:-
Hotel bedrooms - The Beds, pillows and bedding are comfortable, clean and adequate. The heating system in the bedrooms are oil radiators (no nauseating air blow heating). The televisions could do with being updated. They are small old fashion portable tv’s.
Food:- Full Irish Breakfast Excellent (Hot, tasty and well presented)
Dinner:- We had our dinner served in the Bar in front of a open log fire. The meal was excellent.
Views from the Hotel – Stunning views over Lough Sheelin. Golf Course on site.
Service:- Friendly and efficient
The only down side to this hotel is that for a 3 Star it is very expensive. 75 Euros per person per night sharing for a twin bed-room or 90 euros for a single room. The price does include a very good breakfast. Although I do feel this is a bit over priced. Dinner works out at about 20 euros per person for a bar meal.
Overall - We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. The hotel is open and airy. The well in the reception area is worth looking at and a makes a very interesting feature. I loved the open unobstructed views over the lake and surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieAnneBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Spent a night here while attending a wedding. Staff were helpful but many seemed untrained - glass of sparkling water served in hot glass straight from dishwasher, waiters well-meaning but clumsy, that sort of thing.
Room was fairly standard (v clean), bathroom equipped with those unpleasant soap dispenser thingies rather than soap, shampoo etc. , was surprised to be charged for a disposable razor and toothbrush.
Breakfast standard "full Oirish" buffet but no brown bread and coffee unrecognisable as such. End of breakfast service advertised for 10am and check out by 11 seems rather harsh for a wedding weekend.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayoabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Splendid surroundings, but the hotel itself is truly awful. How bad you ask...where to begin?

Well let's begin with the accommodation. The room was very basic and lacking in any of the standard features one would expect in a so called "luxurious hotel" and a far cry from the "oasis of style & elegance" promised on the hotel's web site; for example, a 14" CRT Television with 5 channels, a noticeable smell of cigarette smoke from a non smoking room, a soap dispenser in the bathroom that did not function, and a loose door bedroom handle.

Most of the hotel staff were friendly and did their best, however there are some notable exceptions, namely the bar staff - particularly the evening staff. Shocking manner and attitude. Threatening guests is not something I've encountered previously in any other hotel. But then again this is not any other hotel. This is unique - and not in a good way!

If you are looking for a "relaxing holiday or a short break with a Soothing ambience" the Crover House "Hotel" is not for you.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Please see Review!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Marktandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mountnugent
9.8 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
567 reviews
12.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
11.0 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
22.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,325 reviews
6.6 mi away
Oldcastle House Hotel
Oldcastle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oldcastle
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crover House Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crover House Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
Address: Lough Sheelin | Co.Cavan, Mountnugent, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Mountnugent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mountnugent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crover House Hotel & Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built in the 18th century, Crover House Hotel and Golf Club is a family owned country house hotel. Situated in mature grounds on the shores of the famous Lough Sheelin and set amidst the rolling Drumlin landscape of County Cavan. The Hotel enjoys commanding views over the lake and the surrounding countryside, including our executive 9-hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crover House Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing