We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ross House Equestrian Holidays
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Castlepollard(Castlepollard)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hotel(Omeath)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (62)
    Filter reviews
    62 results
    Traveller rating
    41
    8
    2
    1
    10
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    41
    8
    2
    1
    10
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewshorse ridinglough sheelincross countrycats and dogsfamily homeonly stayed one nightzip linehen partydown to earthcounty cavantop classhorseshackeleanorcountrysidearenaaccommodation
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    55 - 60 of 62 reviews
    Reviewed 24 October 2010

    i would regard myself as easy going and am happy to stay in basic accommodation once it isn't damp and fusty. however, my experience here was very disappointing to say the least. we arr ived at nine and by half ten i could no longer tolerate the dampness of the room. i found i couldn't breathe and resolved myself to the fact that i wouldn't get a wink of sleep. fortunately, a friend of mine lives closeby in mountnugent so my husband drove us back to her house. he returned to spend the night there (he would happily put up with the rough and ready). the next morning he said he got a good breakfast. when he explained that his wife and child had to leave the room the night before he was met with dismay and disbelief and an attitude that more or less said that if we couldn't hack a place like this then don't bother booking a place with old charms like this in the future. the owner (blonde haired woman) wanted to charge for the two nights we had booked for even though we wouldn't stay another night there. customer service was very poor - no towels in the ensuite, a very pokey en-suite. we could hear the guests next door going to the toilet. the owner's attitude was unrelenting.....it was more or less our fault if we couldn't put up with it. don't stay there unless it's the summer time otherwise it is just too damp.

    • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank mc1211
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 October 2010

    I stayed here in October 2010 with my sister and her husband for one night only for a wedding at the local Crover Hotel. The lady who greeted us and served us breakfast was charming and willing to talk with us. The horses ,dogs, cats were on their best behaviour. They dogs seemed to be rescue and were very docile and friendly, not one of them barked during the night or morning.
    The view from the breakfast room was stunning.
    At night time it was nice to see the stars being a city dweller.
    If you dont mind getting your feet muddied, this place is a cracker
    The only thing we would recommend is that the signpost on the main road was larger, more prominent, and said how many kilometres the house was. Also it would have been helpful if there was another sign nearer, to remind you of how many more kilometres it was away. Other than that highly recommended.

    • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Megooze2010
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 25 January 2010

    My husband and I stayed at Ross House for 3 days and wished we could have stayed longer. The Owners were attentive, concerned about our comfort and most helpful with the many questions we had as visiting Americans. The Inn was quaint, very homey, and we quickly felt as though we were part of the family. The Horses were very well cared for, and when I slipped and busted on the ice, they didn't even laugh! (even though my husband and I did) We are looking forward to our next visit and enjoying the company of the most sincere and caring host who quickly became our friends! The food was fantastic! The Company was friendly, and the Country Gorgeous!

    By all means VISIT! and do take time to walk in the Countryside...treasures to be seen EVERYWHERE! A home away from home!

    • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Rhowenna
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 June 2009

    Do not stay here ! Our brief visit to Ross House was most unpleasant to say the least. This is the worst B&B / Guest House we have ever seen. From the start we were surprised to be greeted by numerous unleashed dogs within the court yard / main entrance to the building. The reception / front room of the house was unmanned which meant asking some ladies mucking out the horses in the adjacent stable block (the smell is over powering). Eventually we were welcomed by the owner 'Peter' who was quick to ask for payment for the full 2 nights we were staying, only later did we understand why!. The room was at what can only be described as the back of the stable block, up a flight of stairs which smelt damp and musty. The room itself whilst spacious, also smelt damp and musty with possible evidence of fresh paint covering up any damp. The furniture was oldy worldy (1980's at best) and very basic incl the bathroom facilities and the TV whilst a nice touch couldnt pick up any channels.
    Eventually after plucking up the courage, we decided to inform the owner we couldnt stay in the room. Our rationale was met with dismay and surprise, although we failed to see why, surely this could not have been a first?. Suffice to say there were no other rooms available which meant we had to find somewhere else to stay or make do. We found somewhere else to stay !! The owner however failed to offer a refund and invoked his cancellation clause. After 2 emails to both the booking agent 'Gulliver' and Ross House we have just been informed that we shall not be getting any of our money back (160 Euro's). Please please please do not stay here unless you like a) a B&B which feels like living on a farm b) poor standard of room (It should be noted we were allocated the so called apartment).

    • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank ukchaps
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 August 2016
    Google Translation

    Room Tip: Für Familien Apartment 1
    • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews