We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest Hotel you could find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bailie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bailieborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bailie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bailieborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendliest Hotel you could find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week, the staff could not be more helpful. Had breakfast every day, it was well cooked and as much coffee/tea as you could drink, good bar food in the evening and great entertainment on some nights. Although the rooms felt slightly small they were more than enough. I would definitely go back again :-)

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BailieHotel, Manager at The Bailie Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Jonathan,

Dear Howard

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at the Bailie Hotel Bailieborough.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and I will be sure to pass on your words of appreciation to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travel plans see you in Bailieborough.

Warm Regards
The Management & Staff of the Bailie Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    33
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
28
31
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed recently as part of a large group of ladies - from arrival the staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The food was amazing - each and every single meal (we had 3: lunch on arrival, a four course evening meal and of course breakfast). Again staff were very attentive and friendly. The music in the bar was fantastic as well as the club within the hotel.

We all had a fantastic time and would love to return again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

After the family staying at The Bailie in May of 2012 (and not happy with the rooms at all-dingy bedspreads, old carpet, etc.), the Bailie offered a gift certificate for two nights to use by May 2013. We decided to give them a second chance and I am happy to report the stay was much better. The hotel rooms have gone through a renovation. The first night we checked in (on our second stay), the room smelled like someone had just smoked a pack of cigarettes right before we walked in. However, the room had been renovated and was very nice, just smelled awful...which we got over once we opened the windows. The next week, we checked in for another night, in another room, and it was perfect! The room was nicely appointed, great bathrooms, water pressure was wonderful and hot. The staff are always helpful and the food at the Bailie Hotel pub/restuarant is excellent and price is on point too. They have great bands in the pub and there is a disco located at the back. The hotel can get noisy, but that is to be expected in an older building. There are NO elevators in this hotel. If you can't walk up the narrow stairs, then this is not the place for you. I like the central location on Main Street, the price, the food, and the people.

Room Tip: Remember, there are no elevators at this hotel. You have to walk up stairs to the rooms located on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahRattigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

Best steak for miles around. Lovely atmosphere, friendly and helpful bar and waiting staff and family/owners always around to help out. Never stayed here so cannot comment on the rooms but I have been told by people who did stay that they are clean and redecorated and great value for money too. Can be hard to get a table at weekend/bank holidays but staff will do their utmost to find you a spot and the wait for the good food is well worth it. Prices for food are better than most for what you get. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breffni054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

Brilliant, although the rooms are a little small, it is just what you want when you have a good night, food with fantastic family, up and good breakfast, ready for the wedding (300m) down the way, and away to the reception. Good atmosphere, good pint. Happy teddy :-)

Room Tip: Only seen the one but happy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tel1Guitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We decided to spend St Patricks weekend visiting our relatives in Bailieborough.On our visit we decided to hit The Bailie.What a brilliant spot this is and a must if you are in Bailieboro.The food is ,as always, fantastic,with great presentation,pride and is always plentiful. You can grab a meal at all hours of the day here regardless of the fact that it was a Bank Holiday and extremely busy. Nothing is too much trouble here. The service we received throughout the weekend was fantastic and once again spot on.
Entertainment here is mighty crack and you really dont need to go elsewhere.
Fantastic and well done to all of you .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monkey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

Yes I have family here and yes I love the place anyway. But this was the first time I have ever stayed in the Bailie Hotel and what a treat. The staff are amazing, the accommodation great and the entertainment top notch. And then there's the food!!!!!!!!! Stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KillersBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailieborough
7.8 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
18.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
10.9 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
11.5 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bailie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bailie Hotel

Property: The Bailie Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bailieborough, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Bailieborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bailieborough
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Bailie Hotel Bailieborough, Ireland - County Cavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing