We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blacklion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacNean House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blacklion
Certificate of Excellence
Meath
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

What can I say about MacNean House that hasn't been said already? Probably nothing because it's all been said and is all so positive and is all true. We visited last year and promised ourselves a return visit. We rang the day the book opened and booked another 2 night stay.

I was a little worried it would not live up to how good it was the 1st time. Well no need to worry. Not only did it live up to it, it surpassed it. The amazing food was somehow improved on. The staff as always were 1st class without it seeming false and they took a genuine interest in what you were doing during your stay and delighted to have us there for 2 nights.

We stayed in the standard room and it was lovely, huge storage space, fantastic shower and as always the lovely homemade cookies in the room!

Again we went for the prestige menu and certain items had changed or been updated and they somehow made it an even better experience than the 1st time. The restaurant is so nice and welcoming and not pretencious at all.

The breakfast again is to die for. Who thought a fry could be so good and as for the porridge! It HAS to be tried.

All in all 5 star food, 5 star service, 5 star wines and in a gorgeous location.
Already planning a 3rd visit!

Room Tip: Have stayed in the standard and delux rooms and the Delux is obviously better but not to the point t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveWhite81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    32
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
257
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Our second visit to MacNean House and having raved about it to our friends for 9 months we were a little apprehensive that it should be as good as we remembered. We need not have worried - if anything it was even better and our friends were absolutely blown away! We had the Prestige taster menu and every last morsel was fabulous - it could not be faulted. Once again we ordered one of everything and shared, as we did not want to miss the opportunity of tasting every single thing! The service was very professional and friendly but of course the star of the night is Neven himself! How he manages to find the time to come out and speak to all his diners is beyond me. But he does it so well, taking the time to talk to everyone and even explaining the menu. It is a very nice touch that he signs and gives away copies of his cookbooks to guests. The atmosphere in the dining room has a real buzz and is very relaxed. We love it and have our next visit booked. The only thing that we all agree that has to change is that we stay at MacNean House overnight and sample on of Neven's legendary breakfasts.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedyreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Can't praise this place enough..this was our second visit and, again, everything was first class..the food and ambience is second to none..and on both occasions both neven & amelda made us feel like valued customers and took time to talk to us. Superb food, lovely wines, we loved the somellier and all the staff, gorgeous rooms..it is expensive but so worth it for that special treat!
We will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OmcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaghan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

The best restaurant that i have ever ate in .. i have eaten in many in London and nothing comes close to mac nean house. It should have a Michelin star if not 3..
The food is amazing and well worth the waiting list!

You just can get everything at mac nean house best thing in Ireland since sliced bread seriously! I had a pumpkin soup to start was slickly and full of flavour with the best bread and butter in the world.

I had the rack of lamb for main course however I thought that the herb crust was very strong and overpowered the lamb however the lamb was of extreme quality and cooked to my liking rare/medium. The desserts were very good I had the chocolate plate which highlight French classics such as an opera cake was very nice and the chocolate tasted very good!

The petite fours at the end were such delightful which included a French macaroon also other pastry’s and cakes which were very good! The service was very good and down to earth and treats everyone which care and respect the attention to detail that mac nean good to is remarkable!

Its show that our country can produce great food and the quality of the produces used in the restaurant is really pleasing such a gastronomic experience in the Irish countryside!

"Best meal i ever had"

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank colly92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naas, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Unfortunately, it looks like MacNeans, following its extension this year, has become too big and cannot sustain the heretofore high standards. While still good, staying and dining here is no longer the special treat that we have come to know and love over the last number of years. A symptom of the problem is that Neven was not there himself, as he had been on all the previous occasions when we visited.

But, the most disappointing thing of all is that, when we wrote to him explaining how enthusiastic we were about his restaurant and giving him feedback on our experiences in relation to the wine (see below), we received a disappointing letter in return. Also the signature on the letter was different to the autographs on the cookery books Neven had signed in front of us on previous occasions.

Six of us had chosen the nine course prestige menu and three also included the wine selection. Having experienced it, we felt that the wine selection represented poor value for money given that (with the exception of the champagne) all of the five wines offered cost less than €45 and (I am glad to say!) we consumed less than a bottle each.

What seemed like inappropriately inexpensive wines were being offered rather than wines in keeping with the excellent food. It was disappointing to see a red Languedoc (listed at €35 on the wine list and available from the Chateau at €7.50) and a quite robust Portuguese white being used. Also, the same wines were offered irrespective of the choices made from the menu; hardly a matching selection!

In addition, the wine waitress had a style which could perhaps best be described as curt, and while knowledgeable, could have been more accommodating and done more to make the experience more enjoyable. I did notice on other reviews that the wine waitress also came in for some negative comments.

Overall, while good, it is no longer the special place that once was.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Michelin_Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Have been before and it was fab. Decided to go again with my husband. Stayed overnight. The room was very nice and the plate of fruit and brandy were a really nice touch. the meal was excellent and I could not fault it at all. Staff are all very nice. There is also a nice convivial atmosphere in the dining room and everyone talks to each other. Breakfast is utterly wondreful. The yoghurts are great and I recommend the eggs benedict and the little pots of yoghurt. the big highlight is neven himself. He chats to everyone and is very friendly.
It was my husband's birthday and we coudl not have gone anywhere better.

Room Tip: the junior suite was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

A trip to MacNean House is a must, the food is just exceptional, the staff are very friendly and looked after us very well. On the night Neven came out to meet us to add to the personal touch of the whole experience, well worth the trip from Tipperary. Got gifts also going away from Neven. Over all has Michelin Star quality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClonmelTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacklion
10.4 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,451 reviews
18.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
24.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
770 reviews
22.6 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacNean House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacNean House & Restaurant

Property: MacNean House & Restaurant
Address: Main Street, Blacklion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Blacklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blacklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Macnean House And Restaurant
Macnean House & Restaurant Hotel Blacklion
Macnean Bistro
Macnean Hotel Cavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing