We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not amazing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blacklion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacNean House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blacklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just stayed here and although would recommend it as a one-off I would not come back. The accommodation is decent for an Irish country guesthouse but lacks the small details, cable tv fuzzy, stale milk in the tea station. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the service is excellent. The guesthouse is comfortable but noisy, you can hear the adjacent rooms, showers, and our room faced the street which was noisy when the pubs directly opposite emptied out late at night/early the next am.. The curtains have no blackouts which meant bright light in the room from 5:30 onwards if you're there is summer. The b&b is expensive for what you get. There is not much else in the town but there are some nice walks down the road in the glen and the caves are well worth a look.

But we came here for the food and opted for the nine course tasting menu. It was good, but not on a par with what you would get in a similar establishment in S. Africa for example. Specifically, there were all the usual mousses, foams, sorbets but nothing that was light and tasted amazing. The wine list is priced to suit all budgets. The dining room is a little old-fashioned and very warm. It's nice but just like the food is a little 'heavy'. Breakfast was disappointing, quite typical of any establishment and not on a par with Doonbeg or Monart for example. McNean house ended up being a box-ticking exercise for us as a one-off but would not make a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask not to face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JamesandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

The whole experience of eating in Macnean House is just such a treat and this time we had the added pleasure of staying the night. We decided to try the Prestige taster menu and the food was once again sublime - have the chocolate sphere for dessert - I won't give away the surprise - just order it and see!!! The room itself was delightful and a great nights sleep was had by all. You do wonder if it would be possible to eat a large breakfast in the morning but believe me when confronted by such a range of delights it is amazing what can be consumed! The entire staff have to be praised for their attentiveness and their friendliness which goes such a long way in creating such a great atmosphere. Well done to everyone and we can't wait until we can visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Speedyreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I would like to say that my partner and i had reservations because of the brilliant reviews on tripadvisor.We need not have worried it is well worthy of its rating.I would like to thank Neven for being the genial host and also emelda who looked after us in the morning with the legendary porridge with irish mist and the lovely breakfast with the famous boxty.
When we arrived on the Friday evening giving us enough time to sample some drinks in the beer garden ,The evening meal was to die for,we both had the game,Absolutely loads and georgeous too.All the staff brilliant cant wait to come back

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidHarefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I was here with my partner on the 8th of June. It was one of the best experiances of our lives. To say the food was delicious would not do it justice. It was out of this world! the staff were pleasent and helpful and Neven himself came to talk to every group in the bar before and after the meal. the rooms were clean and spacious and the nice personal touches didn't go unnoticed. we had the pleasure of staying ther on a night that a guest had brough along a guitar and played wnderful music until the small hours in the morning, much to the delight of a huge number of guests staying there that night (although I think ther was a complaint from some old granny in bed saying we were all too loud). That didnt stop the fun and the whole afternoon and night was a huge success.

We got up for breakfast the next morning to the most splendid breakfast i believe i have ever tasted. Again the staff couldn't have been nicer.

Well done MacNean House, well done!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Blacklion is not in a central location. There is not much to see in the locality, although the original Ballroom of Romance in one direction and Marble Arch Caves in another are indeed points of interest. But if MacNeans was in the middle of the desert it would still be worth making the trip. If you enjoy food, go there at least once.

Neven himself greeted all diners before dinner started and spent some time with each group. This is not a 'name above the door' place. This personal touch is everywhere, with all staff friendly and helpful, gratuities shared between all staff, details of allergies already taken into account when dealing with menus, a great feeling of joy coming from the team about the business of nourishing and relaxing visitors.

Do try the tasting menu and if you do not like what you see on teh menu ask and they will be happy to give you something else. The only possible downside is there is no wifi, but then again, perhaps that is another important part of the appeal of the place.

Room Tip: Try for the two rooms on the top floor, 21 and 22. Lots of space, huge bathroom, a real sense of a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clontarf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We booked this place because of my dads retirement. We arrived and were taken up to our rooms which were spotless yet homey. We were booked to eat dinner at nine. The weather was beautiful so we had a few drinks in the beer garden. Canapes came out and were mouth watering. Our orders were taken and we were taken to our table. No one rushed us just because our booking was at nine. I could speak about the food but words fail in this instance. My favorite thing was the mini mushrooms on the mushroom bruschetta. We were taking pictures of the food, need I say more?. Book now and go. We didn't leave the table until twelve and we could've been there till 3. Neven came out, took a photo with us, chatted and signed our cookbooks. An unforgettable evening and the breakfast lived up to expectations. Go imediatetly!!

Room Tip: save up and go for special occasion
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This was our 3rd visit and as always you think that things surely could not improve on the last occasion, however everytime things just get better and better. This time we were staying on the premises and the welcome and the rooms were faultless. Usually we would opt for the taster menu but this time we decided to choose the dinner menu as we thought we would be less full for Neven's legendary breakfast the next morning. What we didn't realise was that all the little extra courses still come with the dinner option - if anything I think that we preferred this option. The food was sublime - especially the little glass of mushroom soup at the very beginning. We all try things at Neven's that we would not try anywhere else, simply because we know that it will be perfect. One of our party - a fussy eater - had her first ever oyster!!! The food, the staff, the atmosphere, the rooms, the breakfast - everything was perfect - it is such a special place and we are can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacklion
10.4 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,513 reviews
18.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
10.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
15.8 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
328 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacNean House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacNean House & Restaurant

Address: Main Street, Blacklion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Blacklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blacklion
Price Range: £60 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Macnean House & Restaurant Hotel Blacklion
Macnean House And Restaurant
Macnean Bistro
Macnean Hotel Cavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing