We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blacklion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacNean House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blacklion
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were told about MacNean's by some friends on holiday. They booked it for the four of us to have dinner and spend the night. It was a long and beautiful drive up from Malahyde. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly and shown to our rooms right away. There was plenty of time to relax and go for a walk before dinner.

We had relaxing drinks in the bar and an interesting visit with Neven. Amazingly, he makes time to speak with everyone either before or after dinner.

The dinner was fantastic and I can honestly say that I didn't taste one thing I didn't like. Each of us had different meal and we were all thrilled with our choices. The wine list was excellent with a good mix of affordable and more extravagant bottles.

The rooms were large, comfortable and the bed was a dream. Our room only had a shower, but it was large with lots of power. I loved it! The entire place is homely and elegant at the same time. You are made to feel relaxed and comfortable as if you are in your own home.

We had a fantastic time and I would highly recommend MacNeans. We have decided to book a night every year and make this a couples tradition going forward. If you have a special occasion or are looking for a romantic night, this place is perfect!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Partyb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    32
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
59
263
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shankill, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We found the atmosphere in MacNeans lovely. There was a nice rapport in the waiting area, and staff were very attentive. The food is very much fine dining. With every course, you will get several versions of what you have ordered. I had the soup for starter, which was nice. It had a dumpling in the middle. Then I had a duck dish consisting of duck cooked four ways. The foie gras was amazing. Then I had the dry aged beef. It was alright. Just like a nice roast beef with gravy. My wife had the pork, and it was in a different league altogether. Desserts and petit fours were lovely. The star of the show here is definitely Neven Maguire. He was so nice to talk to and genuinely friendly, and grateful to see us. The bill was pricey, but you are paying for the quality and the name. A minor gripe was that we were booked for the 9pm sitting, but ended up starting our meal at 10pm, and finishing around midnight. It's very late to be finishing a heavy meal really. On the whole I won't be back, unless I get treated to a special occasion again ! Hats off to Neven for the way he runs his business and his really friendly manner

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BurstYourBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Exceptional experience all round.
Starting with the most warmest of welcomes from the charming staff which were delightful throughout our stay.
Outstanding food, Mac Neans outshines anywhere else we have been, including Dublin's finest. Simply, there is nothing like the quality of the food and service here
Accomadation beautiful and immaculate.
Dinner,stay and breakfast joyous,we left on a high.
We so pleased and proud to say we have been.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah2511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Just stayed here and although would recommend it as a one-off I would not come back. The accommodation is decent for an Irish country guesthouse but lacks the small details, cable tv fuzzy, stale milk in the tea station. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and the service is excellent. The guesthouse is comfortable but noisy, you can hear the adjacent rooms, showers, and our room faced the street which was noisy when the pubs directly opposite emptied out late at night/early the next am.. The curtains have no blackouts which meant bright light in the room from 5:30 onwards if you're there is summer. The b&b is expensive for what you get. There is not much else in the town but there are some nice walks down the road in the glen and the caves are well worth a look.

But we came here for the food and opted for the nine course tasting menu. It was good, but not on a par with what you would get in a similar establishment in S. Africa for example. Specifically, there were all the usual mousses, foams, sorbets but nothing that was light and tasted amazing. The wine list is priced to suit all budgets. The dining room is a little old-fashioned and very warm. It's nice but just like the food is a little 'heavy'. Breakfast was disappointing, quite typical of any establishment and not on a par with Doonbeg or Monart for example. McNean house ended up being a box-ticking exercise for us as a one-off but would not make a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask not to face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamesandSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The whole experience of eating in Macnean House is just such a treat and this time we had the added pleasure of staying the night. We decided to try the Prestige taster menu and the food was once again sublime - have the chocolate sphere for dessert - I won't give away the surprise - just order it and see!!! The room itself was delightful and a great nights sleep was had by all. You do wonder if it would be possible to eat a large breakfast in the morning but believe me when confronted by such a range of delights it is amazing what can be consumed! The entire staff have to be praised for their attentiveness and their friendliness which goes such a long way in creating such a great atmosphere. Well done to everyone and we can't wait until we can visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Speedyreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I would like to say that my partner and i had reservations because of the brilliant reviews on tripadvisor.We need not have worried it is well worthy of its rating.I would like to thank Neven for being the genial host and also emelda who looked after us in the morning with the legendary porridge with irish mist and the lovely breakfast with the famous boxty.
When we arrived on the Friday evening giving us enough time to sample some drinks in the beer garden ,The evening meal was to die for,we both had the game,Absolutely loads and georgeous too.All the staff brilliant cant wait to come back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHarefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I was here with my partner on the 8th of June. It was one of the best experiances of our lives. To say the food was delicious would not do it justice. It was out of this world! the staff were pleasent and helpful and Neven himself came to talk to every group in the bar before and after the meal. the rooms were clean and spacious and the nice personal touches didn't go unnoticed. we had the pleasure of staying ther on a night that a guest had brough along a guitar and played wnderful music until the small hours in the morning, much to the delight of a huge number of guests staying there that night (although I think ther was a complaint from some old granny in bed saying we were all too loud). That didnt stop the fun and the whole afternoon and night was a huge success.

We got up for breakfast the next morning to the most splendid breakfast i believe i have ever tasted. Again the staff couldn't have been nicer.

Well done MacNean House, well done!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacklion
10.4 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,470 reviews
18.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
10.7 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,081 reviews
15.8 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
318 reviews
23.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacNean House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacNean House & Restaurant

Property: MacNean House & Restaurant
Address: Main Street, Blacklion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Blacklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blacklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Macnean House And Restaurant
Macnean House & Restaurant Hotel Blacklion
Macnean Bistro
Macnean Hotel Cavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing