We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MacNean House & Restaurant
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Blacklion
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dorrian's Imperial(Ballyshannon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dun Na Si Guesthouse(Ballyshannon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cuan na Ri(Donegal Town)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
439
32
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
439
32
14
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsporridgetasting menuhomemade cookiesworth the waitmacnean housedining experiencenext morningmichelin starprestige menuwaiting listpre dessertwhole experiencequailmonths in advanceout of this worldspecial occasiona real treat
Filter
Updating list...
382 - 387 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We recently spent two nights in Macnean House, the staff couldn't make you feel more welcome and all have a great knack at remembering names which is a nice touch. The rooms are 4* hotel standard and spotless. The breakfast is amazing, i'm not a porridge eater, but tried the infamous Macnean House porridge, you would get up in the middle of the night to eat it, smashing. We ate in the restaurant on the 2nd night, 3 couples and all of us went for the prestige tasting menu, it was a culinary masterclass of food to die for. All 6 of us could not complement the food anymore. Nevin himself went out of his way to meet us after dinner as he did with all guests. You could not meet a more down to earth gentleman and very genuine, as it was my brothers birthday he gave him a signed cook book, very nice touch. Couldn't recommend it highly enough, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jipster84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

From the welcome until the gracious farewell, Nevin's team does the business to the highest standards. The ambience is excellent and the decor fits perfectly - we even recognised the Laura Ashley wallpaper! Nevin called with each guest and seemed genuinely interested in why people were there - a simple touch that should be embraced by all Irish businesses. The food choice could not be faulted apart from the fact that it was hard to choose. The bread choices were fresh, inventive and full of flavour. Sweet potato velouté and a ham hock spring roll as a free entree really set the standard for the rest of the evening. scallops and red snapper were delicious as were the rabbit and duck dishes. We then had lamb and beef both of which were melt in your mouth fantastic. The palate cleanser of creme brûlée and strawberry cheesecake with space dust was another unexpected surprise and left us just ready for the trio of chocolate and five wonderful cheeses. Barista red wine from South African was perfect for the early courses - we love it anyway - and a nice dessert wine for herself and a Jameson for me finished the evening off delightfully. If there is one downside to highlight it's that the whole experience can't be and isn't rushed - we were booked for 9pm and were leaving the restaurant fully satisfied about 4 hours later. The cost, at €100 each, may appear high however that included food, wine, drinks and service - quite excellent value in our view. It's hard to get a reservation - we waited over six months - but it was well worth the wait. Not just excellent food, an overall fantastic experience. Thanks Nevin. We'll be back in several months time.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JTsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Went here with a family group of five adults for a birthday celebration. When we arrived our rooms were not ready but the staff apologised for the delay as they had late check out. We were offered tea or coffee while we waited and we were asked a few times if we were being looked after.

The rooms were lovely they'd have tea or coffee and homemade biscuits in them. There is also a welcoming message from Neven and all the staff.
We had the first sitting for dinner. So we ordered a pre dinner drink which we had out on the terrace while we looked through the menu. When we decided what we wanted a staff member came to take our order. One of the staff came to tell us when our table was ready. One member of our group had special dietary needs which we had informed the staff of in advance so they had catered for this.
Neven came out to meet us after and he greeted us as if we were friends or family. As we were celebrating a birthday he gave us a drink and got his latest cookery book signed it and gave it to the member of our group celebrating their birthday.

We will definetly return again. Good luck and thanks to Neven Amelda and all the staff

Stayed: July 2013
2  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were lucky enough to make a reservation coinciding with our bike trip in the area (note we made the reservation 5 months in advance). I can't speak highly enough for this superb restaurant. You don't just eat at MacNean's, you experience it. From start to finish, we felt welcomed and as if we were the most important diners in the restaurant, albeit we were two of a packed house. The meal was exquisite. Their wine steward was able to help us choose the perfect bottle of wine for our choices. The chef visits with the guests after the service, and what a joy he was to meet. It is no wonder why this is such a popular restaurant.

If you plan to be in the area, phone ahead to secure reservations. By the time we phoned, only wed/thurs were available through the summer, which was perfect for us. We hope to return to Ireland again, and this will be on our itenerary.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We go here once a year as a treat. Went last night as a party of 8. TOTAL PERFECTION as usual. Thank you everyone @ macneans for an amazing night. Staff were fantastic. We went for the E72 menu & it was sensational. Fab wine list too. Already planning next years visit

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StrabaneGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews