We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blacklion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
MacNean House & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blacklion
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

All I can say is that the 4 month wait for Sunday lunch at Neven Maguire's was worth every minute!!! The food was unbelievable - I would even dare to say the best ever - with the mango sorbet in my dessert being the absolute star of the show and Neven's mash has to be tasted to be believed!! By the way Neven we loved the new chairs in the dining room - the only problem is you don't want to get up!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    32
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
58
257
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just had Sunday lunch at MacNean's and have been totally blown away yet again. Each time we visit we think things cannot get any better and they do!! Every single morsel that was beautifully presented to us tasted even better than it looked. Sunday lunch is just such amazing value at 39 Euros - it is unbelievable!!! What more can I say - I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedyreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Put this experience - dinner, bed and breakfast on your bucket list. It is simply superb. Food, service and atmosphere as good as it gets without any 5*or Michelin* nonsense. If you're looking for the real taste of Ireland this is where to get it. The food, welcome and attention from the staff and Neven himself was just second to none.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank FermanaghKeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BALLINA,MAYO,ROI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Myself and my wife got to MacNean house recently as a treat for our anniversary. From the time we were greeted by the lovely Zara to getting the little tasters from Sharon (these people are most approachable and I'm a bugger for names I have to know who I'm dealing with) Then ordered the aul' pint from Raymond who assured me there was a flow on it! He wasn't lying. Only thing there is that you're well full after such an appetizing meal that you're only good for a couple of pints. Zara was gracious and experienced enough to advise us on the right wine so we did away with a good drop of that as well.
Might I just say that I was overly intoxicated as it was with the prospect of dining at my heros establishment but I was expecting it to more stuffshirt.
It was a dream experience from start to finish and I haven't come down yet.
The quality and style of service was to me awesome in itself. I felt like I was in Chelsea or somewhere well removed from my native land.
I have never experienced the warmth of service that I felt here in 4 or 5 stars in Paris. The genuine interest and warmth comes down the line to each member of staff that I encountered.
The same Sharon I found out her name inside was our assistant for most of the evening She is a delight and wowed us with an anniversary treat. I also had the beautiful experience of meeting Warren who seems to be Nevens eyes and ears in the restaurant and Natalie who may have been perhaps one of the youngest members of the team but genuinely helpful beyond her years.
The food to me was mesmerising,quite filling, always balanced,and so much of an assortment of mouth watering flavours and techniques. The intermittent touches and tasters were worth gold and then some. But the staff are the real stars here. The complement to the food re the knowlege and service is just so equitable.
We had the joy of meeting the so affable Neven afterwards who gives so generously of his time. One feels like a neighbour or a long lost friend. One of the most human of beings I could scarcely believe his manner or dedication This guy gives it all to his customers There's nothing left behind on the night. A mans man but with total humility and respect towards the ideals of his art. For that is where he is bringing art to the masses in a most normal and genuine fashion.
Thank you Sharon Zara Raymond Warren Natalie and the very discreet young man Liam? who made sure I found the loo! Not great on directions.
Thank you Neven for being Neven your work ethos and background are very evident.You absolutely raised our expectaions.
(Thanks to my beautiful thoughtful wife for such a marvellous treat!)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RODDDERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I were in the restaurant last night for the 6pm sitting. The experience was just first class. We had a drink before our meal in a very pleasant adjoining room before being shown into the main room. The food, the staff, the pleasant atmosphere and the genuine buzz in the room made the meal our best ever, we had the Dinner menu. There was loads of food, just the right portion size with a few tasters inbetween courses. We retired back to the adjoining room after our meal where Neven spoke to each and every customer at least once. All of the staff are knowledgable, courteous and pleasant. I considered the price to be worth every penny and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fintyflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

After 3 days of phoning we finally got through and got a cancellation.It is booked up months in advance. The whole experience from the moment we arrived until we left was superb.Warm welcome, great staff and a nothing is too much trouble approach.It was the little touches like a small bottle of milk for your room, cookie jar, great tea and coffee.The food is just out of this world.We opted for the tasting menu with wine and my shellfish allergy was no problem. You can pick and choose from the various menus to cater for any allergies. Nevin came out to discuss the menu and options available.Opted for dinner at 7 and we were still there at 10.30.Menu with wines gives you a chance to enjoy some lovely wines..Special thanks to Zara made us feel so welcome

Room Tip: We choose a junior suite (Room 18) which was superb and so spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciog52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our daughter was planning her 40th birthday celebration on 7th March and expressed her desire to visit Nevan Mc Guires restaurant. I called the restaurant on 6th Jan and requested a booking for the event. They couldn't accommodate us on the night but offered us the previous night of 6th. I was delighted and readily accepted......it was meant to be! The bonus was being able to bring the children, not all establishments welcome them. The children took an interest in his TV shows and choose what they would like to taste. We requested their choices and were delighted to see them on the menu. Again from the moment of arrival, we were made to feel very special. The dinner menu was selected by all and thoroughly enjoyed. Cant wait for the next excuse to book.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacklion
10.4 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,451 reviews
18.6 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
24.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#3 of 7 in Enniskillen
770 reviews
22.6 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
579 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MacNean House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MacNean House & Restaurant

Property: MacNean House & Restaurant
Address: Main Street, Blacklion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Blacklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Blacklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Macnean House And Restaurant
Macnean House & Restaurant Hotel Blacklion
Macnean Bistro
Macnean Hotel Cavan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing