We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world luxury”
Review of Killinagh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blacklion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Killinagh House
Ranked #1 of 1 Blacklion B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old world luxury”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked Killinagh House as we were dining in nearby Mac Nean House. It is a beautifully restored and elegant old rectory. Each bedroom is homely yet full of sophiticated charm. Our room had a large four poster bed and beautiful sash windows on each side - one with a view of the lake. The soft feather duvet and bed ensured the most comfortable sleep. The bedrooms are not ensuite but the large bathroom is closeby. The lack of ensuites adds to the charm and keeps the house in it's own era. Breakfast is served in an old world dining room with an open fire. The quality of the breakfast reflects the house. We visited Blacklion with high expectations of Mac Nean House but left more impressed by Killinagh House. (Don't forget to buy some homemade chutney from the owner before you leave.)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredjonjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed here because we wanted to visit the famous MacNean house Restaurant. It was originally just a place to stay but it turned out to be a lot more. The house is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. The owner was so helpful and made our experience an absolute treat. She even drove us and collected us from the restaurant when we were finished after midnight! I truly recommend staying in killinagh house!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanO264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Amazing house in a beautiful setting. Owner was very welcoming and gave us tea and cake on arrival in the drawing room with a lovely open fire. Bed was really comfortable and breakfast was great. Had a lovely relaxed stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annemarieg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level Contributor
193 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

After a long cycle in the rain it was heavenly to arrive at this elegant Georgian house. A roaring fire was laid on in the beautiful drawing room with pots of tea and sandwiches. There was even a copy of the Irish Times. Eileen was helpful and hospitable, giving us a lift into town and offering to collect us later. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds comfortable. There are no en-suites or TVs but this wasn't a problem for us. The house if full of interesting items and the restoration is amazing. Breakfast was a treat, another roaring log fire was provided in the dining room. I would highly recommend this house.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthWestLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully restored former rectory. The four poster bed in our room was a nice touch. Our two daughters also had a lovely room. The owner was very welcoming and kind. Breakfasts were delicious and served in a beautiful dining room. All of the rooms are full of character and the beds very comfortable. We enjoyed the use of the sitting room. We loved the open fires too. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosalindEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed the night here on a weekend we were attending a wedding. The standard of rooms is exceptional. Eileen made sure we had everything we needed and provided us with an absolutely beautiful breakfast the next morning. The beds were so comfortable, gorgeous decorated rooms each with a different theme, luxurious curtains and antique feel, it was a stay that we won't forget. Breathtaking place

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeirdreCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed in Killinagh house as a group of friends on the 28th of July for one night. Eileen met me at the front door and was so welcoming to each and every one of us. She could not do enough for our group. Nothing was a problem to her and she was so trusting and kind. The house is fantastic!! It has lots of character and charm. One would spend hours just enjoying the decor of each room. When we arrived the fire was lit in the sitting room and the next morning at breakfast again fires were lit in the sitting and drawing room. Something about an open fire as you sip your tea :-)
The house is newly renovated and its spotlessly clean. We will definately be returning. I wish we had booked in for more than one night to truly appreciate its splendour.
Thank you Eileen

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186609Daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blacklion
1.6 mi away
Customs House Country Inn
2.9 mi away
Clancys of Glenfarne
Clancys of Glenfarne
#1 of 1 in Glenfarne
85 reviews
5.3 mi away
Abocurragh Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Arch House
Arch House
#4 of 21 in Enniskillen
277 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Killinagh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killinagh House

Property: Killinagh House
Address: MacNean Court, Blacklion, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Blacklion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blacklion
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killinagh House is a unique Georgian Country House, just outside Blacklion, Co Cavan. Peace, relaxation and a warm welcome at reasonable prices await all guests. Three comfortable and luxurious bedrooms. Sitting Rooms are relaxing, open fires and lovely antiques. Sky television and lots of books are available. The House is within walking distance of Neven Maguire's famous MacNean House & Restaurant. Other local attractions include The Marble Arch Caves Global GeoPark and Florence Court House. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing