We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything about it was perfect.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maggies Cottage

7
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7
1 4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
7
1
4
2
3
5
6
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blacklion, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lauren_l...
Leeds
1 review
“Everything about it was perfect.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We returned yesterday from our stay at Maggies cottage and what a wonderful stay it was. The cottage is beautiful and Martin has thought of everything, the kids loved the freedom of the outside and inside was perfect for a great relaxing stay even with the children.
Surrounding areas are stunning with so much to do for both adults and children of all ages. Park near by great for children, lots of lovely walks. Glenfarne nature trail nearby children loved catching frogs and a newt in the woods. Marble arch super walk, unfortunately couldn't go in as too busy but will do on next trip, I would advise you book before hand if wanting to do the cave. Fantastic beaches in co Sligo. Mullaghmore is beautiful.
Flynns the butcher in Blacklion have a great choice would recommend you use and the Customs house in Belcoo worth going to if you want a meal out. Clancys Glenfarne do a great full Irish.
So much to do we didn't get to do everything unfortunately in a week but I guess that just means we have to return and will definitely be staying at Maggies again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing all was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda132...
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and spacious cottage”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Maggies is a very clean spacious cottage with everything you could want. Lovely peaceful area to base your stay at. Martin was very helpful and friendly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to leave
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene123...
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“IF THERE WERE SIX STARS AVAILABLE THIS WOULD BE IT - ABSOLUTE DELIGHT”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This property is an absolute delight. It has been refurbished to the highest standard but still keeping the character. We were there with my parents it was my mums birthday my husband four year old daughter and not forgetting our 11 year old golden retriever. The rooms are all a great size and everything is there you would want. The safe enclosed yard is just perfect and it sits on its own private lane so no cars passing the front door. What do I say about the owner - all I can say Martin is a true gentleman. Met us in Blacklion and we followed him to house. Showed all around the house and how everything works and a lovely welcome pack of goodies for us too which is a lovely gesture. Our daughter loved the bike in the shed and when arrived couldn't get the hang of it but was riding it perfect before she left. Great location for travelling around and walks. My dad loved seeing Glenfarne Ballroom had heard the song and heard of it but was delighted to now have stood outside it. We all had a brillant time and God willing will be back. Thank you Martin for turning Maggies Cottage into a little gem.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilenef22
East Northport, New York
1 review
“Tons of old character with all modern amenities, excellent choice”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Traveled with my wife and 2 children ages 17 and 13 from the US. Spent a few days and nights in Dublin for the city feel. We then came to Maggie's Cottage to experience the true countryside with old world charm and all the modern touches. Entire family loved the whole experience. The owner was great and all the people were friendly. I would recommend Maggie's Cottage to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything. It was perfect. Everything we needed was there
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
So glad you could make the trip from the US, we are so happy that you and your family enjoyed Maggies-cottage! Hopefully more visitors from the US will come to Maggies-Cottage Blacklion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paintld
belfast
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spacious place with a lovely atmosphere!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, 8 people and 2 dogs spent a weekend here and it was fantastic...the guy that owned it was so nice and really went out of his way to help...the house was beautiful, it had modern facility's yet still had an old feel about it which we loved...there was plenty to do and the locals in the next towns were friendly and good Craic. We will deff be returning to maggies cottege and are delighted to have found such an Irish gem to go back to :) thanks

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
It was a pleasure to have you staying in Maggies Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$191
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing