We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quilty cottages lovely holiday homes Aine O'C”
Review of Quilty Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Quilty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quilty Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We Spent a week with our 3 sons in quilty cottage from the 3rd - 10th Aug .We found them excellent in every way ( reasonable price for Electricity for week!!!) . It was a totally safe environment for the children to play football, tennis and use the games room , of course not forgetting the clean swimming pool which they used on a daily basis. Danny and his family are very friendly and welcoming and work hard to keep their lovely holiday homes so well. It is close to the beach and some of the lovely sites of Clare are not too far away either eg Cliffs of Moher . The houses where well equiped with all you need in the kitchen , the rooms where nice and spacious and of course not forgetting the lovely sea views. I would have no problem in reccomending these holiday homes to anyone

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Quilty Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

My mom and I stayed there for a week. 495 Euro the price was. The house is very old fashioned, the shower was very poor, you had to use an immersion as it wasn't an electric shower. The grill in the cooker didn't work, the oven wasn't great. Kept losing tv signal, had to call the owner and he said there was a loose wire connecting, but didn't do anything to fix it. No radio, no dvd player. No privacy in the gardens, my friend stayed one night, she was lying out in her bikini and a man next door to us could see in and kept staring at my friend. So couldn't lie out in the garden. The location was really out of the way, nothing was walking distance, you had to drive at least 5 mins to nearest shop or pub. Plus there is a heating and an electricity on top 495 euro. Very disappointed, wouldn't be going back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracyamoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable stay in a 3 star cottage (31 Jul - 05 Aug 13) Perfect for a family break, with 3 spacious bedrooms and a comfortable living area. Fantastic views of Spanish Point , 5 minutes to Miltown Malbay for shopping or take away food. Fab beach five minutes drive away and great location for visiting sights such as cliffs of Moher, Ailwee Caves, Lahinch and Kilkee. Onsite swimming pool was super, clean and warm and all public areas are well maintained by Danny and his family. We will most certainly return to Quilty Cottages and will recommend them to family and friends. Majella Scanlon

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MajellaScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed in these cottages between the 20th and 27th of July. Have to say they were really excellent and had everything in them that we needed for a fab weeks holiday. Swimming pool on site is excellent. Our cottage had a great sea view and the sunsets in the evening were worth it alone. Cottage was really very clean and bed linen was supplied. Milltown Malby is only about 5 mins drive away. Has a huge supervalu there for all the shopping. Ate in a place called Cogans which was really nice and very reasonably priced.(6 of us) Use these cottages as a perfect base for a good holiday in a fab county that has plenty of sights to see.Nearest beach was only about 2-3 mins drive away. Electricity only cost €18 for the week so anyone that complains about that is a sad case. Thanks to Danny and Geraldine for their hospitality and great advice. Would recommend these to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ivan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just had a lovely week in Caherush Lodge, Quilty, Co Clare. We decided a just acouple of weeks ago to take our two nans off for a few days break and chose Quilty for travel convenience. We were originally booking into Quilty Cottages but changed to Caherush Lodge when we realised it was free for the week we had in mind - luckily!. We were delighted with the house. It has every convenience you may need, and it feels very much like a well loved home. Danny and Geraldine were extremely nice and made us feel very welcome. We all enjoyed the indoor pool and the beautiful sunsets from the site. Both Nans (both of whom are in their late 70s) throughly enjoyed the break and the comforts of Caherush Lodge.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank 1SJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed in Cottage 10 in April 2013 for a long weekend at about €240 off season. The cottage was clean and well appointed, No frills. Tv and usual appliances. Bedrooms are large and comfortable. Picnic Table out the back. It has a direct view of the ocean from the back window however The beach is about 5-8 min drive away so you'll need a car. Lovely to take a nice morning or evening walk on. Some nice restaurants in Miltown malbay for dinner

We had asked for idea on elec before we arrived as I prefer to know all-in price in advance. We were told an average amount for a weekend, which we were perfectly happy with. The web site says that they will take a meter reading when you arrive and then again as you are checking out. This didn't happen and on check out we were quoted double the price. This was a surprise because we were out from morning til night both days. When we queried this, we were told that they had turned the heating on in the cottage the day before we arrived as it hadn't been lived in for several months and we had to pay for that. Sorry, but as far as i'm concerned, that's not my problem and shouldn't be something I have to pay for. I notice the last reviewer was quoted 16 euro for 3 cottages for a weekend? we paid more than that just for one cottage that we only slept in!

Be careful of the tiled floors inside. As other posters have mentioned they are lethally slippy Both myself and my toddler almost went flying on them, but that could be down to our shoes perhaps.

there was an issue with condensation but I'd say that's down to the fact that the cottages are not lived in for long periods of time.

As we were out and about all day long,I didn't see the pool or the games room but they looked fine from the outside. The playground was very overgrown while we were there but perhaps that has been remedied coming into the summer season.

I would class these cottages as 3 Star. I'm assuming they are 4 star due to the pool and games room but to be honest I have stayed in 4 Star cottages further up the coast (for the same price) and there is a discernable difference.

All in all, it was a nice weekend, and I would return there if it wasn't overpriced

Room Tip: choose one of the cottages towards the back if you want a view of the ocean, bring a car!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apples2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

1st class 3 bedroom holiday cottage overlooking the Atlantic ocean.Tennis court and indoor heated pool. Very quiet, calm and peaceful. Cottage well equiped with proper kitchen, all facilities. Lovely air.
Helpful owner lives on site. Wonderful part of Western Ireland.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparkyrle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quilty
1.0 mi away
Armada Hotel
Armada Hotel
#1 of 3 in Spanish Point
1,312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellbridge House Hotel
Bellbridge House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Spanish Point
588 reviews
8.3 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
1,030 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
6.3 mi away
Trump International Golf Links & Hotel Doonbeg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quilty Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quilty Cottages

Address: Quilty, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Quilty
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Quilty
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing