We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is a delightful place to stay. We had spent a couple of nights in Auckland and then arrived in Mangonui for 3 nights... we were in the downstairs suite with an outside verandah, facing the garden. No trouble with traffic noise despite facing the road. The owners are very welcoming and made this a special place to stay.

Mangonui is such a relaxed and lovely little town. Morning run/walks along the waterfront were stunning - just step outside and go. The room was a good size, well equipped and very comfortable. Sadly the Acorn restaurant, which has rave reviews, was closed for the moment. However, we ate at The Waterfront Cafe, a two minute walk away and it was so good that we returned there for each evening.

Room Tip: Pohotukawa Suite is wonderful - great having the verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

This hotel is overlooking the harbor of Mangonui. It is a lovely place to stay. Jean is an excellent hostess and the hotel has been meticulously restored. We had t he two bedroomed suite upstairs and couldn't fault it. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This is a very charming place to stay in a lovely location. The rooms are furnished very stylishly and they are very comfortable.

The room we stayed in was a little small, and the kitchenette had no stove or oven, just a microwave, so for our purposes it was not really usable and was a bit of a waste of space. Other than this drawback the room was otherwise excellent.

Jean was very friendly and helpful, giving us very good advice about things to do in the local area and arranging some horse-riding for us with Kate's Riding School. The Old Oak is also a short walk from the excellent Mangonui Fish Shop, which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Recently, my husband and I had a peaceful night at the Old Oak, when in the area on a vintage car rally. As other guests have commented, the quality of the restoration work is excellent. Jean generouly upgraded the booking and our waterview suite was charming, with lovely touches such as luxurious linen and flowers. Most importantly, Jean and Gary are not only warm and friendly hosts, but willing to help out if problems arise. Gary was quick to lend a hand when the key failed to unlock our 1929 Graham Paige! Good Kiwi ingenuity. We'll definitely return to this delightful hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My wife and I recently stayed for 2 nights while driving around the Northland. We were warmly greeted by Jean upon our arrival who made us feel right at home. The hotel has been renovated into a perfect blend of old and new with great ammenities and modern facilities. We stayed at many hotels during our travels and the Old Oak is our favorite. Jean and Gary are wonderful hosts and could not have been more accomodating, we were definitely sad to leave. If you're staying in or around Doubltess Bay, the Old Oak is not to be missed!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Still trying to figure out what we loved most about The Old Oak. The way Jean and Gary knew instinctively how to make people feel special? Or that within minutes we'd shaken off the city, and were relaxing into our northern escape. Nothing, and I mean nothing, is a problem for them.

Made us want to come back and try the other rooms. If you do, make sure you check out The Acorn next door.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Old Oak is a fantastic hotel. It has been refurbished to a wonderful standard. Jean and Gary were very lovely and welcoming and gave us some tips about places to visit during our stay. Had a delicious dinner at the Acorn next door. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tui Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KNAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
3.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Doubtless Bay Lodge
Doubtless Bay Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mangonui
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Oak Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Oak Boutique Hotel

Address: 66 Waterfront Drive, Mangonui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range: £96 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Oak Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful small hotel features just six rooms - three suites, two premium studios, and a standard room. The heritage building has been modernised for the comfort of our guests with new bathrooms, lighting, plumbing, and insulation and has been decorated with a contemporary mix of modern and country. All rooms, other than our petite standard room, have modern heating and cooling systems and our three suites feature kitchenettes. The property is home to a colonial inspired garden with organic herb and vegetable beds, formal rose garden, petanque court, harbour view verandas and a courtyard nestled into the hillside of native bush and ferns. Guests can relax in the gardens and on the verandas in a private and tranquil setting. The Old Oak provides superior service with 24 hour management, daily housekeeping, and concierge services. Enjoy fishing, swimming, country walks, and strolls along Waterfront Drive in the 19th century whaling village of Mangonui. Mangonui village features r ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Oak Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing