We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights meeting up with friends who were camping . From the warm welcome, the upgrade and the superb facilities, our stay was perfect. We stayed in the Kauri room, which had an outside area to sip wine in the evening with our friends. The room is large, tastefully decorated and we loved the skylight above the bed which let the early morning sun in. The location , across the road from the bay, means all restaurants, shops etc are within 5 mins walk. There were so many areas to sit and enjoy the views. We loved the fact that real coffee was provided in our room, not the usual instant stuff. We were allowed to entertain our friends in our room and on the several patios. I can highly recommend the Oak as a hideaway or as a gateway to beautiful Doubt less Bay. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitaznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
74
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

A beautiful and stylish hotel. We had a lovely room which was large with a very nice bathroom. Everything is clean and comfortable and Jean our hostess was exceptionally helpful and informative. We were travelling with our daughter and her husband who also had a lovely room and were upgraded to a suite. We were the only guests which gave us full use of the house. I imagine it could be slightly noisy if the house is full due to all the timber floors etc. One of the really positive things is the location - just a short drive from the Bay of islands whilst still retaining the quaint village feel. One of our lucky finds was the bakery for breakfast - great coffee and pastries. They even put on a batch of croissants early for us so we could have them before we left.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanandJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A stylish hotel with good views across the bay with prices that reflect this. We were in a 'standard' room which we found to be somewhat cramped for our needs and expectations, especially since we were travelling internationally with all the luggage that demands. In any event our stay was very pleasant the host making us feel welcome and providing plenty of local information. Access to the local shops/restaurants is easy and arguably the 'best fish & chips in New Zealand ' is within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Unfortunately, we only had one night here (and would have liked more!)
One of the best places on our three week holiday through Aus & NZ !
We had a lovely welcome as we stepped out of the car and had the whole building to ourselves that night! The whole place was immaculate and very well restored. Our room the "Tui" was light and spacious and opened out onto a covered patio. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom, large and modern. Location was just on the edge of the village, right on the waterfront and just a short walk to restaurants and bars(and the famous Mangonui Fish Shop!)
Every room of the hotel is unique and tastefully done, Jean and Gary the owners have done a great job and make you very welcome. Nothing negative to say about the place.
You might need a torch upon returning at night (provided free!) as the road ouside is extremely
dark ..... but look up and see the most amazing star-filled sky ... awesome!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIGNMAN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertLondon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Four of us stayed here for 2 nights in two garden rooms on the ground floor. The property has been nicely decorated throughout, attention to detail and has a relaxing feel. Our stay coincided with our daughters birthday and my thanks to the owner Jean for the balloons, birthday cake and speaking to the chef at the nearby Waterfront Cafe to ensure a special dinner was available.

The hotel is approx 20 mins drive away from Harrisons Cape Runners depot and we took a guided full days tour on a coach to Cape Reinga and a drive back along the beach during our stay.

I would recommend dinner at the Waterfront Cafe, and fish and chips at the world famous chippy a few mins drive away.

Room Tip: If your budget allows, go for a room upstairs. They look fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This historic quaint building has been rennovated beautifully. We stayed in the Kauri garden room - immaculately clean, enormous extremely comfortable bed, flatsceen cable tv with vast number of channels and fabulous contemporary bathroom. Very welcoming owner.
Only minor point was the skylight above the bed. Alot of people will like this but it lets in the light in the morning. Although it probably helps keep the room light in the daytime. some sort of blind would be great to close if you wanted the room darkened in the mornng. Our room was right at the back of the house and was very quiet. It is 2 min walk to cafes, and the famous 'Fish and Chip' shop so great location. Value for money : we just hit shoulder rates at $185 per night which was ok. For Peak rates we may have stayed back in Paihia where you can get more faclites for the $ and day tripped to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This beatifully restored and tastefully decorated boutique hotel exceeded our expectations. Warm welcome, great location with stunning decor - attention to detail amde this an absolute jewel for our short stay
The owners deserve success.
We hope they can resurrect the adjoining restaurant as this would make for such a desirable destination stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
130 reviews
12.6 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.2 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
3.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Oak Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Oak Boutique Hotel

Property: The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Address: 66 Waterfront Road | P.O. Box 261, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Oak Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel is a beautifully restored heritage building located on the waterfront in Mangonui village with 3 garden view studios and 3 harbour view suites with kitchenettes. The location is perfect for easy access to all the attractions of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Oak Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing