We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mangonui Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acacia Lodge Motel(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments(Mangonui)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
US$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loredo Motel(Kaitaia)
US$87
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingfish Lodge(Whangaroa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Huntaway Lodge(Te Ngaere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
116
10
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
116
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscape reinganew zealandshort walkpohutukawa suitetwo nightsfar northindian restaurantrestaurant next doorexcellent hotelsuite upstairsend of the daylovely suitebeautiful gardenhistoric buildingexcellent facilitiesfishing villagetranquil location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I have just returned from a fantastic weekend away at this very beautiful place. Located on the waterfront. My balcony was right off the double room. The room was beautifully decorated and thoughtfully put together. We were welcomed warmly by the owners. There was lots of attention to detail. I agree with previous reviews - stay at least 2 nights

Room Tip: The rooms at the front had a beautiful deck that was great in the morning for coffee and the evening for pre dinner wine
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed one night at The Old Oak the evening of the Mangonui Wine and Food and Market day. The hotel is a well thought out tasteful mixture of old and new . The situation is perfect if you want to absorb the flavour of this wonderful village on the edge of a habour. The owners are delightful as was the whole experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the spacious Ponga room and could not fault it.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard Miller S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had read about this gem in Mangonui some time ago so when the opportunity presented itself for a 2 night stay we jumped at it. We were not disappointed !
From the time of check in to check out the hosts were understated, helpful and unobtrusive while the ambience was truly inspiring. The refurbishment and attention to detail superb. The location restful and the locale in keeping with true Northland history and New Zealand slendour

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

You need at least two nights to get the benefit of this fantastic historical and listed building. We stayed in the Ponga suite and it was brilliant. Views across the bay and a balcony to die for. Every facility in the three room suite (lounge, bedroom and bathroom). Claw foot bath had brilliant views. Expensive at $275 but worth every cent. Could not recommend it more.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank StaresDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Beautiful sympathetically modernised property. Excellent room, Great proprietors Amazing location, Beautiful area. Good fishing locally beautiful scenery. All n all First class. We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was upstairs overlooking the garden and fantastic with a roll top bath, Huge bed, satellite TV and DVD Player, Small kitchenette unit and three rooms. plus a beautiful private balcony overlooking the harbour

Room Tip: I think the best room is the one with the roll top bath upstairs
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenstownRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews