We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must-stay destination in the NZ far north”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We left the beautiful Bay of Islands to travel north with a little sadness and thought maybe we should have stayed the extra 2 days there and took our Cape trip from Paihia. However we were so glad that we took both the trip with spectacular coastal detours and the stay in beautiful Mangonui. Jean the hostess is a relocated Los Angel who fell in love with Mangonui on a trip and moved here. She has restored the Old Oak hotel with great style and flair, every comfort and every modern convenience. We were upstairs with a balcony view over the water. Our suite had a lounge with comfy chairs that turn into loungers, table and chairs, plasma, aircon, internet, and pay TV. Separate bedroom had a kitchenette for toast, cereal etc and separate bathroom with clawfoot bath and separate shower. Out in the back garden there is a BBQ available, and the garden next door has fresh herbs and lettuce. A great location and we loved everything about it, even Monster the cat who darts across the road to chase the seagulls.
Next door is a charming bistro The Acorn, which serves dinner, as well as brioche and coffee in the mornings. We had a beautiful dinner there one night and enjoyed Mangonui’s world famous fish and chips on the other. Mangonui is a picturesque harbour (like most of the area we travelled). Jean directed us to a terrific lookout with commanding views of the area. A short distance away are good swimming beaches. There are a selection of gift shops and a wine store. But mostly its just very peaceful and relaxing.
We went on a trip to Cape Reinga from there (booked by Jean), leaving about 9.30 and returning 6pm – a long day, but worth it. (see my separate review for this). People from Paihia had an even longer day, with a 6.30am start. Take our advice and head up to Mangonui and take your trip from there, plus get to see all the coastal scenery on the way up.
I can’t recommend the Old Oak highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bronnykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

Staying at the Old Oak was simply perfect!! Our room, Ruru, was beautifully decorated, modern and comfortable. The hotel really has a lot of personality. The Old Oak is a huge part of Mangonui history and while the hotel is much more modern now, it is speckled with some Old Oak artifacts which I thought was ingenious and very chic.
The hotel is steps away from the water and faces the most BEAUTIFUL view. Jean, the owner, had wonderful suggestions for things to do around Mangonui and the Far North and while we had an amazing time exploring New Zealand, we were just as excited to return to the Old Oak each night. Sitting on the hotel's veranda or getting a drink at the the Acorn Bar & Bistro right next door were some of the best moments of my trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnaGio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

I can’t say enough about The Old Oak. In a word, it is paradise. The inn is beautifully restored, the rooms are impeccably decorated, and the location is idyllic. (Oh, and the bed was really comfy!) The hosts were fantastic, too: they’re so knowledgeable about the area and full of great ideas about where to go and what to see in the Far North. And, last but not least, the bistro next door is yummy! I want to go back!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmorrisonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Totally renovated boutique hotel along the walking area of town. The bay is across the road. Luxury linens and pillow and bed was very comfortable. Separate bath tub and shower. Fast internet. Management was very helpful, knowledge about the area and moving to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodhi12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Excellent stay at the newly refurbished Old Oak. Jean the owner was brilliant - what she didn't know about the area is probably not worth knowing! She has lovingly restored this heritage building to a high standard of quality and comfort. Lots of interesting design features along with touches of New Zealand art and furnishings. Wished we could have stayed longer and it would be great to come back in the summer. A real Northland gem.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker-Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellseeker_wien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
3.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Doubtless Bay Lodge
Doubtless Bay Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mangonui
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Oak Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Oak Boutique Hotel

Address: 66 Waterfront Drive, Mangonui, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range: £96 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Oak Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beautiful small hotel features just six rooms - three suites, two premium studios, and a standard room. The heritage building has been modernised for the comfort of our guests with new bathrooms, lighting, plumbing, and insulation and has been decorated with a contemporary mix of modern and country. All rooms, other than our petite standard room, have modern heating and cooling systems and our three suites feature kitchenettes. The property is home to a colonial inspired garden with organic herb and vegetable beds, formal rose garden, petanque court, harbour view verandas and a courtyard nestled into the hillside of native bush and ferns. Guests can relax in the gardens and on the verandas in a private and tranquil setting. The Old Oak provides superior service with 24 hour management, daily housekeeping, and concierge services. Enjoy fishing, swimming, country walks, and strolls along Waterfront Drive in the 19th century whaling village of Mangonui. Mangonui village features r ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Oak Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing