We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant accommodation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment for one night but wish we had stayed two. The accommodation was clean and very well decorated, it felt very homely. Delia was very friendly and helpful too. Definitely recommend this place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Av2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Holidaying from London, stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful time, mainly due to Grant and Delia who accommodated every need. The room 'Ono' could have been updated somewhat to match the incredible location and hospitality of the hosts. Highly recommended. Slept on fold out couch, these could be replaced as sleep was disturbed by springs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cleo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent two delightful days in this unique and beautifully decorated accomodation. Our lodgings were called the Tahi rooms and the private balcony opening from the living quarter and the bedroom looked directly over the water. From the comfortable bed (lovely cotton sheets), you could wake in the night and see boats lit up by the moon.

The meal we had in the Restaurant below was excellent.

Thoroughly recommended for local and overseas travelers.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LynneA592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We agree with all the glowing reviews. Stopped there by chance and spent 2 nights. We were in a big room right on the water. The windows could be opened letting in beautiful fresh sea air. It is an old building but the interior was all understated elegance. It was March and so not much vehicular traffic until the sun came up at around 7AM. Excellent cafe just below and Delia is a great host. Highly recommended.
Paddy & Michele

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Padraic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Booked this on spec..accommodation had front and back decks...front overlooking the beautiful harbour and so close to our favourite restaurants. Apartment is spacious, tastefully decorated and lacked nothing at all, even had the binocs to look for dolphin. We are locals, and know what this region has to offer but this was unexpected.Wonderfully comfortable bed, and all kitchen needs. Great welcome, and almost didn't want to leave apartment to get to booked restaurant. We will be back! Many thanks.Stayed in "Tahi" by the way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here early in a 2 month tour of NZ, and it remained one of our favourite places. Mangonui is beautiful in a peaceful, rather than spectacular way, and staying in the Waterfront Motel makes you feel like a part of it, rather than just an observer. The owners have done a brilliant job refurbishing an old building, keeping the character but raising the standard of the fittings and furnishings to equal that of a stylish modern hotel.
Each room has its own interior design, and it's hard to say which is best. They are all named rather than numbered, although the names are in fact Maori numbers - a nice touch. But check when you go as there was one room still to get the upgrade in December 2012. But equally, don't hesitate to choose this motel!

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper floor room called Whitu. We talked to one of the owners afterwards, and she sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john-hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We had an unforgettable stay in the "Tahi" apartment with beautiful views over the bay especially in the morning with sunrise casting beatiful colours and in walking distance from the shops and restaurants.....so cosy and cleverly decorated keeping the feel of yesteryear but with all the modern accessories too (Wi-Fi a big plus). Delia is a lovely host, keep up the good work! You will be seeing us again :-)
Heidi & Frans
Auckland, NZ

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
2.0 mi away
Doubtless Bay Lodge
Doubtless Bay Lodge
#2 of 9 in Mangonui
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangonui Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangonui Waterfront Apartments

Address: Cnr Waterfront Drive & Thomas Street, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range: £62 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangonui Waterfront Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Northland in classic style at the Mangonui Waterfront. Our apartments offer an unrivalled waterfront lifestyle, in the centre of Mangonui village, just metres from the harbour edge. Located centrally between Cape Reinga, Northland's golden West Coast beaches, and the Bay of Islands, Mangonui Waterfront, serves as a hub for Northland exploration, by car, boat, bike or foot - time is on your side in Mangonui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Mangonui Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing