We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mangonui Waterfront Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

This is a really quaint place to stay, decor is a bit dated but it doesn't matter as the view more than makes up for it.
It has a lovely balcony you can sit out on weather permitting
Lady owner is very pleasant and helpful.
I would go back to this place anytime

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stubbies35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    56
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
164
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

We are from Swansea, South Wales, UK, during our Tour of Northland we stayed at the Mangonui Waterfront Motel for 6 nights in Feb 2013.
The Motel is situated on a slight rise just across the road from the water front.
It is an easy level walk to all the Towns ammenities, Restauraunts, Cafe's, & Shops etc.
There is a pleasant Boardwalk with seats overlooking the Inlet.
We stayed in the Waru Unit, a ground floor Apt with all facilities.
There is ample parking space on site.
Delia our Host was very Welcoming, Hospitable, & Friendly, and catered for our every need.
An extra bonus were the Fresh White Towels, changed Daily, the best we have had on all our travels.
Well Done Delia & Grant, a real "Home from Home".
We would not hesitate to recommend this Accommodation.

Room Tip: The Waru Unit is on Ground level with other units in front, it has a Partial Seaview. Front and hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment for one night but wish we had stayed two. The accommodation was clean and very well decorated, it felt very homely. Delia was very friendly and helpful too. Definitely recommend this place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Av2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Holidaying from London, stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful time, mainly due to Grant and Delia who accommodated every need. The room 'Ono' could have been updated somewhat to match the incredible location and hospitality of the hosts. Highly recommended. Slept on fold out couch, these could be replaced as sleep was disturbed by springs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent two delightful days in this unique and beautifully decorated accomodation. Our lodgings were called the Tahi rooms and the private balcony opening from the living quarter and the bedroom looked directly over the water. From the comfortable bed (lovely cotton sheets), you could wake in the night and see boats lit up by the moon.

The meal we had in the Restaurant below was excellent.

Thoroughly recommended for local and overseas travelers.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LynneA592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We agree with all the glowing reviews. Stopped there by chance and spent 2 nights. We were in a big room right on the water. The windows could be opened letting in beautiful fresh sea air. It is an old building but the interior was all understated elegance. It was March and so not much vehicular traffic until the sun came up at around 7AM. Excellent cafe just below and Delia is a great host. Highly recommended.
Paddy & Michele

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Padraic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAITAIA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Booked this on spec..accommodation had front and back decks...front overlooking the beautiful harbour and so close to our favourite restaurants. Apartment is spacious, tastefully decorated and lacked nothing at all, even had the binocs to look for dolphin. We are locals, and know what this region has to offer but this was unexpected.Wonderfully comfortable bed, and all kitchen needs. Great welcome, and almost didn't want to leave apartment to get to booked restaurant. We will be back! Many thanks.Stayed in "Tahi" by the way.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jedlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 5 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
12.5 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 5 in Mangonui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
1.7 mi away
Coopers Beachfront Suites
Coopers Beachfront Suites
#3 of 4 in Coopers Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangonui Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangonui Waterfront Apartments

Property: Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Address: Cnr Waterfront Drive & Thomas Street, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangonui Waterfront Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Northland in classic style at the Mangonui Waterfront. Our apartments offer an unrivalled waterfront lifestyle, in the centre of Mangonui village, just metres from the harbour edge. Located centrally between Cape Reinga, Northland's golden West Coast beaches, and the Bay of Islands, Mangonui Waterfront, serves as a hub for Northland exploration, by car, boat, bike or foot - time is on your side in Mangonui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mangonui Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing