We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation, awesome hosts, beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great accommodation, awesome hosts, beautiful location”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We had a fabulous time at this motel. We stayed in the Rima room which was spacious, clean and comfortable with a beautiful view over the bay. Phil and Shirley were superb hosts who could not do enough for us, particularly when we found ourselves without a key to our hire car! They really were incredibly helpful. We had an awesome stay in Mangonui and I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktbelrodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    57
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
172
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We turned up without a booking, needing accommodation for 5 adults, and were welcomed by the super friendly hosts who put us in a lovely comfortable and clean family unit with great views across Mangonui harbour.
Our hosts were very helpful with local information on what to see and do in the area and we only wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy a few more of their recommendations.
We highly recommend this establishment and are confident that future guests will enjoy their stay here as much as we did.
Thanks to you both.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

On a recent trip up North, my husband & I really enjoyed our stay at this wonderful Mangonui Waterfront Apartments motel, which is run by a very friendly couple Phil & Shirley Duncan, who are very happy to help their clients in any way. Each of their apartments is furnished differently and the one we had, WARU, was on the ground floor. There were also bigger 2 bd. apartments above us that had lovely views of the sea from their big decks. We loved the way WARU was furnished, especially the lovely black leather couch (which can fold out to make another double bed), good-sized TV, and the nice table & chairs. There were two huge aerial photos on the wall of New York city which we loved.The big bed in the bedroom was very comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping. The blue & white Waterfront Motel is so easy to find - it's on the main road and the place is so small you can't miss it. As the name says, it's just across the road from the waterfront, and is close walking distance to several good eating establishments. This motel has its own Waterfront Restaurant on the roadside in front of the motel, which is fabulous. They do great pizzas there. Next time we go up North, we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Waterfront Apartments again.

Room Tip: Really recommend you try this place. Have a look at their website to help you choose which room you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dollyNewZealand_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We had booked the Rima room as there were 2 couples and a 2 yr old.
When we arrived the friendly and helpful manager / owner showed us the room, but also some other (more expensive ) options none of which suited as the 2yr old wouldn't have had a bed.. We were a little disappointed that the room we had booked was the one room that had not been recently upgraded. Nevertheless it was large, functional and clean. A balcony gave views across the bay.
The kitchenette had a small stovette, fridge and microwave. (the refurbished units were more modern in this regard).
The bedrooms were comfortably decorated and the beds looked good. Although the bed we had was not as firm as is the modern trend, so I awoke with a few back aches each morning.
The bathroom was huge but a bit old fashioned with a stainless steel shower base and a curtain. Towels were fluffy and there was plenty of hot water.
The place was conveniently located - short walk to shops , café, restaurants and bakery.
It was a sleepy little village and it was quiet and relaxing there.

The owner didn't charge for the child which was an extra bonus.

It was a nice spot to stay for a couple of days and provided a good base for the drive to Cape Reinga.
BTW there was no pool, no childrens facilities - hence low rating for these

Room Tip: If you want a recently refurbished room, then don't pick the Rima
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tassiegolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This was an absolute highlight of our trip. A gem of a room to stay in, and so historic. Beautiful loft bedroom and cosy living/kitchen area. Sorry we didn't stay more than one night. Lovely couple running the place, made us feel so welcome. Will definitely go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneSwannies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We rang mid afternoon for accommodation and Shirley and Phil were wonderful in offering a solution for us even though they were heavily booked. We stayed 3 nights after planning to stay one. Best spot in Mangonui... Lots of craft and art shops. Butlers Point Whaling museum was a highlight of our stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had originally booked a room with a view. As we booked quite some time ago, however, I really can't remember what the room included. We arrived fairly late and Phil told us that we had been "upgraded" to a room with a fridge & cooking facilities. We were very disappointed as it was the "waterfront" part that had appealed to us. As we were there for only a couple of nights we did not intend to cook, so couldn't have cared less about the hotplate, although the fridge was nice. However, because "our" room had already been reallocated, we didn't create a fuss.

Having said all that, the room is spacious and comfortable and the bed had good linen and is comfy. The shower is a bit wierd though.

The location is fabulous and Mangonui is a great place from which to explore Cape Reinga and the Ninety Mile Beach. The Waterfront Cafe in front is also a reasonable and convenient place to eat.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a view if that's what you have requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie-holidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
12.5 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.9 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangonui Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangonui Waterfront Apartments

Property: Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Address: Cnr Waterfront Drive & Thomas Street, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangonui Waterfront Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Northland in classic style at the Mangonui Waterfront. Our apartments offer an unrivalled waterfront lifestyle, in the centre of Mangonui village, just metres from the harbour edge. Located centrally between Cape Reinga, Northland's golden West Coast beaches, and the Bay of Islands, Mangonui Waterfront, serves as a hub for Northland exploration, by car, boat, bike or foot - time is on your side in Mangonui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Mangonui Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing