We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Waterfront hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Waterfront hotel”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent 2 nights in the Whitu room. Absolutely beautiful. Lovely private deck with a view of the water. The hosts were wonderful, both friendly and very helpful. We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    57
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
174
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were thrilled with the apartment and its location - the outside looks like you're going back in time staying in a first floor old colonial cottage - We stayed in the Tahi room and inside it has a slightly sloping old varnished floor with a great modern but relaxed décor with lots of original features, with separate modern kitchen & lounge, bedroom and shower room with a balcony right across the front. Open the lounge French doors - perfect to sit out on the café table and chairs and enjoy a glass of wine watching the sun go down. Wake up after a comfortable nights sleep and open the bedroom French doors and enjoy the harbour views and the sun rising - spectacular. The Managers were really helpful with recommendations and offering to help us in any way they could. We really enjoyed the character and quietness of the apartments. Would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone who enjoys a comfortable and enjoyable break away. Mangonui is full of very friendly locals - we really enjoyed it. There is a small selection of local restaurants, cafes and a great pub all with quality food available and a small well stocked supermarket, all within walking distance. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Tahi room has a separate bedroom, and lounge both with French doors leading out to a full width...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank thepiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the Whitu studio. A great choice, slightly back from the road and any potential noise from the Waterfront Cafe, but with a large sea- facing balcony with wonderful views. The studio has recently been refurbished in a blue and white nautical theme and was Rey comfortable, especially the king sized bed. The bathroom has yet to be renovated, however, and the shower is currently quite weak. This did not detract from our enjoyment of a lovely studio. The hosts Shirley and Phil were welcoming and very friendly. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Speak directly to the hosts personally before booking as the rooms are all so different and you woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay. Welcomed by very obliging hosts who were extremely happy to make our stay enjoyable. they provided local knowledge on eateries etc. Accommodation was charming, clean and appropriate for our requirements. Superb location with lovely views and friendly locals. We would loved to have stayed longer and used the apartment as a base to explore the surrounding areas. Value for money and Shirley didn't even charge us for a broken wine glass- Phil was a good bloke too! We will return. Lloyd,Di, Paul&Bev.

Room Tip: There is a range of accommodation singles to families. Views. Close to amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev202014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangonui, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Mangonui Waterfront Motel Whitu studio was bright, with a nautical theme, comfortable bed from which you got a wonderful view. Lovely chaise on balcony perfect for an afternoon nap. Managers on hand and most helpful with advice and with daily service.
We also had Rima two bedroom suite for family for two nights.
Wonderful space and views.
Spectacular sunrises for the early birds.

Room Tip: Whitu, Ono and Rima each have excellent views of Doubtless Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

New managers since we last visited. I love this place - an historic building that has been nicely decorated keeping some of the old features like free standing wardrobes. We had a downstairs apartment this time - not the huge view that you get upstairs but there was still a pleasant water view from the sunny deck and lounge looking down the driveway.
Comfortable bed, good shower, complimentary toiletries, free-view, no SKY - our TV stopped working but Phil provided a DVD player and DVDs instead.
I have to get picky to find fault - I think attention to detail is important - someone had "thrown" the pots/pan/grater(which was broken)/egg cups/toaster etc into a cupboard - messy - the cupboard lining needed a good shake as there were crumbs. The kettle had also been left on the bench- there were only 2 forks - I didn't look for those essential holiday tools, the tin opener and corkscrew. We left our dishes to drain as there was no tea-towel or dishcloth. The shower curtain was slightly mouldy on the bottom edge.
In an old building" charming" can easily turn to "old" in a customer's mind. I would still highly recommend this motel but suggest that staff need to take care of what is not visible as well as the first impression. Would stay again. Love the area so much have bought a property up there.

Room Tip: Upstairs and waterfront have the best views. And no-one walking above you - we were aware of people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Delightful and well equipped self contained apartment in an historic building overlooking the harbour inlet; exceptional hosts with in depth local knowledge; very relaxing and peaceful setting; recommend highly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dorothea07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mangonui
0.4 mi away
Acacia Lodge Motel
Acacia Lodge Motel
#3 of 4 in Mangonui
132 reviews
12.5 mi away
Peppers Carrington Resort
0.2 mi away
The Old Oak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ramada Resort Reia Taipa Beach
0.1 mi away
Mangonui Motel
Mangonui Motel
#4 of 4 in Mangonui
40 reviews
0.9 mi away
By the Bay Beachfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mangonui Waterfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mangonui Waterfront Apartments

Property: Mangonui Waterfront Apartments
Address: Cnr Waterfront Drive & Thomas Street, Mangonui 0442, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Mangonui
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mangonui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mangonui Waterfront Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Northland in classic style at the Mangonui Waterfront. Our apartments offer an unrivalled waterfront lifestyle, in the centre of Mangonui village, just metres from the harbour edge. Located centrally between Cape Reinga, Northland's golden West Coast beaches, and the Bay of Islands, Mangonui Waterfront, serves as a hub for Northland exploration, by car, boat, bike or foot - time is on your side in Mangonui. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mangonui Waterfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing