We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to pay for good fish and chips”

World Famous Fish and Chips
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Mangonui
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You have to pay for good fish and chips”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have gone to Mangonui for years and never made it here. The wife and I had some spare time and a hunger so in we went. Very pleased. It isn't cheap for fish and chips but a great setup. The fish was beautiful. Fresh, lightly battered and cooked in clean oil. The chips were of size and cooked till beautifully crisp and brown.

It is an efficient operation, we were fed in 10 minutes and there were plenty of people there. You sit on the covered deck and look the views. Mangonui isn't the prettiest place but it is reasonably untouched so it makes a nice change you average fish and chip shop that has no eating area and no views.

There is a bar too. Brilliant. My corona was $8 but on a hot summers day it was money well spent. There is free cutlery, lemon and extra dollar or so gets you your train smash or tartare.

I reckon its great to see and fish and chip shop that is doing it well rather than just doing it. Well worth the dollars.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tazmannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    122
    121
    98
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TOTAL AND UTTER RIP OFF”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The area might be WORLD FAMOUS and a beautiful area but the Fish and Chip shop on the waterfront is definitely not(or shouldnt be)
The size of the fish being served up was the Third of the size it legally should have been.
The batter weighed more than the fish if you could find it.I had overseas visitors with my family and they were not impressed at all with what we received.
THE PLACE IS DOING THE AREA A DISSERVICE.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnC898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inland NW
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Avg Fish & Chips shop with a GREAT view”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stopped by on a driving tour. The view was really great...the food was just OK. The fish was a bit undercooked and greasy. The oysters were quite nice.

A nice place to stop by on a tour but I would not visit for the food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Miguel_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It is worth a visit”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

After reading recent TripAdvisor reviews we nearly gave this place a miss but local recommendations won the day. The fish (snapper fillets) was excellent, the batter light and crunchy and the chips nicely cooked and crisp - what more could you ask for.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Local F&C is better”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

One kind of overpriced rubbery fish, premade not-that-fresh oyster platters bad tasting water... skip this place altogether!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtommot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World Famous Fish and Chips also viewed

Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 
Mangonui, Northland Region
Mangonui, Northland Region
 

Been to World Famous Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing