We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A must at least once in your life.......”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kilcoe Cottage

Kilcoe Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kilcoe Cottage
The hot tub in winter Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Kilcoe Cottage
The hot tub in winter
Living Room
Large open plan kitchen with breakfast bar
Conservatory/sun room area
Dining area seats eight
Master bedroom, superking bed, ensuite
Master bath with claw foot tub
Fresh flowers on arrival
Twelve Arch Bridge Ballydehob
Three Castle Head, Mizen Peninsula
Sailing at Kilcoe Castle
The Family. Photo by Bryan Meade Sunday Times
A quiet place to read a book
Welcome to Kilcoe Cottage
Living area from the back door.
Aerial view!
Our own house.
Upstairs bedroom  with ensuite
kilcoe castle
Kilcoe's Billy Goat gruff
sailing at the local cove
Summer pudding from our flexi-extras section
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wardywoo8...
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must at least once in your life.......”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I am a little late in writing this review.....as we stayed for a week at the beginning of October 2013. This house (which we learned from Sharon used to be an old barn and lean to) has been amazingly transformed into one of the best Holiday rentals I have ever stayed in.

The house is set in the stunning location of Kilcoe just outside Ballydehob and has a number of country roads that you can walk to discover the beautiful surrounds. The house itself is generoulsy proportioned and has been fitted out with beautiful furniture that makes you feel like you have stepped into a shoot from Country Living.

Sharon made us feel totally welcome, as did the 2 dogs (who accompanied us on many of our walks!). We took up the option of a cookery lesson whilst we were there, a must if you rent this house for a week. Sharon recommended a few places to visit along with a number of foodie recommendations, the best being O'Sullivans in Crookhaven for their open crab sandwhich, again another must. A visit to Mizen Head and the stunning Barley Cove is another must! If you have kids then you could easily spend a number of sunny summer days down on Barley Cove beach.

I could continue on and on about how special Kilcoe Cottage is.....but I have to mention one last high point for us....the outdoor hot tub provided a view of the most magical sky that I have ever witnessed in Ireland. Under a clear sky at night time the stars twinkled like diamonds that seemed almost within touching distance.....

If you have read this far then you will know how special this place is.....we are really looking forward to our next visit to Kilcoe Cottage :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to mention.....
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We really appreciate the comments. I thoroughly enjoyed the cooking lesson and I hope you have forgiven me for the bread! We really look forward to welcoming you again to Kilcoe Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thechanne...
Essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truely wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Utterly amazing place to stay....great hosts and a lovely curry awaiting us on arrival... the food was gorgeous! The cottage was lovely and comfortable with every item you could possible need to make your stay perfect whether that is when cooking or washing clothes etc. The bathrooms were amazing and beds lovely and comfortable too. The garden was private and the use of the hot tub in the cottage garden was great.... my daughter loved it! location was perfect too. Sharon and Mark are great hosts and totally leave you to your own devices but are there if need info or help. Rally was a truely wonderful 10 days and will stay with us forever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: My daughter says the dogs, hot tub and showers! I loved the private garden.
Liked least: My daughter says leaving!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you and swapping sea-going tales. Mark, Sharon and the gang.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dd101
Dublin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful house and holiday”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We recently stayed in Kilcoe Cottage for a week with our 3 children and had a fantastic time. The house itself is stunning - a real home from home with every amenity you could wish for. It is beautifully furnished and designed and is a really welcoming and comfortable place to spend time. The gardens around the cottage are lovely with lots of places to sit and relax. Sharon and Mark are very welcoming hosts - always there to answer a question or make some suggestions on things to do but never intrusive or in the way.

As has been said in many other reviews Sharon is a really great cook and we arrived to find a beautiful Thai curry simmering on the hob for dinner as well as a chilled bottle of wine in the fridge and a home cooked cake - it was a really nice way to arrive!

This was our first visit to West Cork and we thought Balledehob was a perfect location. It's far enough west that places like Crookhaven or Bantry or Mizen Head are only a 30 minute drive away and if you want to head east to Glandore, Union Hall, Baltimore or Castletownsend again it's no more than 30 minutes to any of those places. Schull is about a 10 minute drive away. The village itself is very nice and there are some great pubs and restaurants to visit. Rosie's pub is great for a pint and Antonios restaurant had a great crab pasta.

All in all we had a great time, between hanging out and enjoying the house, lots of swims, a bit of walking and plenty of eating, drinking and sleeping it was a pretty perfect week. If you get the chance you should go - its a very special place and we'd love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was our pleasure to have you to stay. Ballydehob really is the cross roads to West Cork and we feel very lucky to live here. We would be delighted to welcome you to Kilcoe Cottage in the future. Best Regards, Sharon and Mark.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and kitchen
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and recommendation. Delighted you enjoyed the cottage and the cooking. Kind Regards, Sharon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am fully looking forward to your next stay also. Thoroughly enjoyed having you here. Warm Regards, Sharon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for choosing Kilcoe Cottage. Hope you had a great time on your next stop further West. Warm Regards, Sharon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 21 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Mar 2013
Thank you for choosing Kilcoe Cottage and for your lovely review. We have tried to make the house the perfect place for a weekend away with the girls (or lads!) So glad you enjoyed it. Kind Regards, Sharon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$167
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing