We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quintessential Irish Cottage - A Home Away From...”
other travellers have booked this property
In full bloom!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
In full bloom!
Cosy Country Cottage
Sit in your front garden overlooking Roaring Water Bay
Relax in the evenings with a wood burning stove
Living Area
Cosy Kitchen
Main Bathroom, includes bath and shower
Main ensuite bedroom with old fashioned brass bed
Double Bedroom
Twin bedroom with iron bedsteads
'Welcome to Herons Cove Cottage'
Gateway to your perfect escape!
Early morning calm
View from Front Deck
View from rear of property
view from drive
Secluded and Sheltered back decking, perfect for summer BBQs
Enjoy a romantic moonlight drink on the front deck overlooking water
Entrance Gates
Sailboat passing Jeremy Irons Castle near Cottage
Boats heading up Ballydehob Harbour past Cottage to local Festival
The Twelve Arch Bridge in Ballydehob
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballydehob, County Cork

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Melanie C
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quintessential Irish Cottage - A Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My girlfriends & I spent one glorious week (not nearly enough time) at Heron's Cove Cottage. We were very unfamiliar with the area, as it was our first time in Ireland, but we could not have chosen a better place to stay. Heron's Cove Cottage is located a mere ten minute drive from the heart of Ballydehob; and it's proximity (within 30 minute drive) to other villages including Schull, Bantry, Skibereen, and Glandore made it the perfect hub to rest after a long day of sightseeing.

The cottage itself was incredibly charming-- clean, cozy, and equipped with all the amenities & creature comforts of home (washer & dryer, stove/oven, kitchen appliances, hair dryer, wifi, etc.). Also, there are two decks for your viewing pleasure (front & back of the cottage), which is where we spent much of our time enjoying (in our opinion) the quintessential Irish landscape. The view of Roaring Water Bay is simply stunning. I should mention that the midges come out in full-force when the sun begins to set, so I'd recommend bringing citronella candles or bug spray to keep them away.

Between the warm welcome we received from Kathleen & Tony (owners), and the cozy, country charm of the cottage, we felt instantly at home. Kathleen & Tony went above & beyond when they ordered & delivered not one, but TWO birthday cakes for my friends who were celebrating their birthdays in Ireland-- that is service that you cannot get anywhere else! We LOVED our stay & play to visit again...and when we do, you can bet that we'll be staying at Kathleen & Tony's place!

**For high-quality images of the cottage & our stay, visit http://www.onwindsweptlane.com/2013/06/herons-cove-home-away-from-home.html **

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A toss-up between the quaint cottage, stunning views, and Kathleen & Tony!
Liked least: Those pesky midges!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra M
Cahir, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem, a home from home!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Had a fabulous stay at Herons Cove, very inviting and cosy, a little gem, great amenities, felt like a home from home, location & scenery is beautiful and tranquil, Kathleen welcomed us with a basket of goodies which is a very nice touch, will definitely be back, it was hard to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosiness of the property & scenery
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceyh71...
cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Real Getaway, Relaxing, Spectacular location - A place you must see”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in the most breathtaking setting overlooking roaring water bay, this is the place to go if you want to enjoy the tranquility of beautiful West Cork and get away from it all. The cottage is well equipped, I had a really warm and friendly welcome from Kathleen and her husband Tony, with a really nice touch of a welcome basket - Thank you. Great for bird watching and I saw 4 seals in the Bay! Wifi worked really well and I had a fantastic stay, able to recharge my batteries. Thank you Kathleen and Tony you have a beautiful cottage and I appreciated your warm welcome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 16 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and Kathleen
Liked least: There is just a little bit of a drive off the main road on a one lane country road but it actually added to the experience!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alice W
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Clau...
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2018
It was a pleasure to meet Jean Claude and his wife and sister and husband. I'm glad you enjoyed the Cottage and Ballydehob. The seals are indeed always in the area in front of the Cottage . Hopefully we will see you again. Thank you for your kind review.
Kathleen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing