We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lynwood B&B

Lynwood B&B
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ballydehob
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lynwood B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballydehob
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I were very fortunate to find this beautiful B & B while looking for accommodation in Ballydehob. We were greeted by Ann who made us feel at home from the moment we stepped inside the door of luxurious home. After only a few minutes, we were so relaxed that we felt we had known Ann all her life.

Our room was spacious with a very large comfortable bed and equally comfortable pillows which made for a great night’s sleep. The bed was covered with a beautiful crochet bedspread that I couldn’t help but admire and Ann explained that it was handmade. The bathroom was small but adequate and was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the house.

Before breakfast next morning, we went for a stroll to admire the lovely gardens which were filled with hydrangeas, red hot pokers and a variety of other flowers and trees. There was also a tennis court for anybody who indulged in the sport. Having enjoyed our stroll we made our way to the dining room to partake of a hearty breakfast. There was a great selection to choose from including cereals, yogurts and fresh orange juice which was followed by a full Irish breakfast, not forgetting Ann’s homemade jams, marmalade and brown bread.

Unfortunately, we had to leave after only one night but as we go to Ballydehob a couple of times each year, we will definitely be returning to Lynwood.

Thank you Ann and Brian for your warm hospitality and for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erins-Isle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Sadly, after one night in this lovely house we were told that it was probably closing this summer after many years. It is the nicest place I have stayed in, in years. The rooms were cosy, comfortable, spotless, well equipped, and beautifully decorated. The owners are really nice friendly and welcoming. The dining room and breakfast is the best ever B&B I've been in and I have been in many. I would love to stay here every time I visit Ballydehob so hopefully Ann might reconsider..........

Room Tip: All rooms were great. 6 of us stayed and each room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnuala Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

From the oustet our stay at this B&B was made special by the wonderful hosts Ann and Brian. Their open hospitality and generosity made us feel truly welcome. The room was a good size, clean and catered to all our needs - the bed was particulary luxurious and made for a most relaxing sleep. A most generous breakfast was provided with a range of options for all diets, the food was cooked to perfection., a particular mention must go to Ann's homemade jam, which was very special indeed. All provided for at a very reasonable price.

The B&B is located in Ballydehob away from the main road so provided a very quiet and peaceful environment but was only a very short walk to the village and its welcoming bars and restaurants. We can not reccommend the Lynwood too highly and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

This must be one of the best B&Bs in the country. Lovely modern room with a good view, a fine conservatory in which to sit, a tennis court, extensive gardens, an excellent breakfast and a friendly hostess - for what more could one ask? And soon there will be a swimming pool!
The only fault I could find is that TV reception in the conservatory TV was poor.
Ballydehob is a good central location for West Cork - Baltimore, Barley Cove etc

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank POSH94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Graet B&B not too far from city, although you'll need a car or transposrtation. Breakfast was nice so was the bedroom. Graet facilities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cindy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

A beautiful home, with lovely gardens and first class service!
Immaculately clean, warm, comfortable beds with extra pillows and blankets (not that you'll need them!). TV's in the bedroom and a sunroom to sit and relax in.
Breakfast was incredible. Everything on offer from porridge, cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit and juice, homemade brown bread, local honey, cooked Irish breakfast and pots of filtered coffee.
But it was the host that was the cherry on the cake! Ann was so welcoming and generous, ensuring all our requirements were met. This place is second to none!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CurlyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

As a solo traveller, it is a difficult to find affordable accommodations that are clean and comfortable. I felt very lucky to have landed at the Lynwood B&B. For 35EU I stayed in a very nice room with a new bed! The grounds were lovely and I especially appreciated the sunroom where you could sit and read. The hostess gave me a warm welcome, and the breakfast was perfect. This is truly a hidden gem! I will definetely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballydehob
7.7 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
8.3 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
20.0 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
13.6 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynwood B&B

Property: Lynwood B&B
Address: Schull Road, Ballydehob, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Ballydehob
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballydehob
Number of rooms: 34

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing