We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of River Rovers

River Rovers
Book In Advance
More Info
US$84.00*
and up
Private Islands and Eco Tour: Hidden Treasures of Chalong Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Phuket, the pearl of the Andaman, is famous for its white beaches and tropical nature; offering so many off the beaten tracks to explore and experience. If you’re a nature lover, planet lover, or simply just want a holiday to love and always remember then you've come to the right place...River Rovers Eco Cruises!We are an independent Eco-Tour Company, taking small tours to all of the out of the way places, to see the natural beauty and Ecosystems that surround Phuket. We take no more than 6 guests on our Live-a-Board tours and a maximum of 10 guests for our Day tours, taking you away from the crowds of tourists, to show you the real Thailand with all of its treasures on offer.With our shallow draft of only 8 inches, we can pull up just about anywhere, without climbing on dinghies and clambering up the side of boats, perfect for all ages and abilities and wheel chairs are welcome too.You will experience a wonderland of wildlife, unspoiled by tourism.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
St severin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A wonderful day out with a real cool captain and his wife. Gentle with great food and hospitality far from the madding tourist crowd I have done several trips and al looking forward to the next one .

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank lally2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    26
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic a must do”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed two fantastic trips with Gordon and Luck.
First trip was The monkey jungle cruise where we saw the amazing Monkeys and were able to hand feed them from our canoes.
We then went out along the coast to some secluded beaches away from " tourists" where we enjoyed the snorkelling and swimming off the boat.

Our second trip was to Phang Nga through the back door.
A truly amazing experience seeing all the islands and experiencing a small Thai village no " tourists" normally see.
We kayaked through the Hongs, swam, ate and saw amazing scenery
From start to finish the tour was well organised and nothing was to much trouble. Can't go to Phuket without doing a River Rovers trip

Helpful?
1 Thank Karin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent trip”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Bit of a delayed review, we went on a trip as a couple last year. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip - different from other trips we researched as it visited less touristy areas and was on a much more personal level. We loved visiting the monkeys, swimming in the sea in a quiet cove and walking along a
gorgeous beach. The weather wasn't brilliant whilst we were on the trip, but it didn't stop the trip going ahead or us doing any of
our activities!
Gordon and Luck were great hosts (luck an exceptional cook..we had some amazing food on the boat). Would highly recommend the trip
for anyone looking to go on a slightly different trip away from
all the tourists!

Helpful?
Thank Mustley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous day in Phang Nga Bay”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Gordon and Luck took my family of 4 adults and 2 kids ( 4 &7) out yesterday on Phang nga bay. It was a fabulous day out , the scenery was stunning, food delicious and there was plenty of it ! Jumping from our own private long tail boat into pristine bays with no one else in sight was a highlight for both the kids and adults. We can't believe how much we did in one day! Swimming on quiet beaches , kayaking through caves lunch at a gypsy village on stilts . Jumping from the boat and exploring dark caves by foot ! The only place we really saw any other tourists was at the gypsy village and when we went kayaking ! Highly recommend this wonderful day out !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jfkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I wanted to stay away from the hoards of tourists as much as possible and get off the well-beaten path a bit. River Rovers delivered an amazing experience.

We took a live-aboard tour for 2 days and 1 night cruising around Chalong Bay aboard the Pitta, and another exploring Phang Nga Bay for a day in a longtail boat. The Chalong Bay tour was at a relaxed pace, stopping at several beaches and attractions along the way. We snorkeled, swam, fed monkeys, explored remote beaches, ate Luck's delicious food until we couldn't move, laid about, and left wishing we could have spent our entire vacation on Gordon's boat. On the Phang Nga tour, we cruised around the breathtaking Phang Nga Bay, explored hongs on kayaks, walked through a cave, swam among the enchanting islands, walked on more beautiful beaches, and successfully skirted most of the tourist-packed spots.

If you want to see Chalong Bay or Phang Nga Bay without being packed into speed boats and herded through the typical tourist spots, River Rovers, Gordon, and Luck are the only way to do it. Good people, good food, gorgeous location, no crowds, relaxed pace... exactly what River Rovers delivers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Rovers also viewed

 
Ratsada, Phuket Town
Chalong, Phuket Town
 

Been to River Rovers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing