We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ao Chalong Villa & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Return visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012 via mobile

After staying here last year we returned and have just had the most relaxing holiday ever . Once again the staff were lovely and even remembered us from last time . The hotel now has a golf buggy to take you up the track to the main road and it was no problem for the driver to wait while we dropped of laundry and went to the mini mart . For more info see my review Feb 2011 . WE SHALL RETURN

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spudog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    93
    28
    15
    13
See reviews for
40
115
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gotham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I have NOT stayed here only visited as a day visitor for swimming. But I have to correct some misinformation given by others.

This is a 2.5 star hotel with 3.5 star facilities, which is somewhat typical for Phuket.

If you book it through a discount website, you will get an incredible deal.

Bear in mind all prices are NETT at this hotel, no + + (service charge & tax). The restaurant has very reasonable prices for food ... Bacon cheeseburger, 1/4lb patty plus huge portion of crinkle cut fries and salad Bt 160. That's comparable to McD's here.

Unbelievably, besides the free water in the room, they only charge Bt 20 for 2 bottles of water in the restaurant. That's Bt 100 + +, in a resort. Free wifi, too.

There's a small massage facility. But Bt 550 for i hour body scrub is hard to beat. Their other prices can be beaten once you get to the main road!

Chalong Pier, near the hotel, is only a embarkation point for Phi Phi on a private charter. Rassada Pier in Phuket Town is the ferry terminal. Chalong Pier is primarily for the dive boats.

That said, this hotel is actually a lot more accessible for most without their own transportation.
The luxury restaurants nearby will pick you up but you're more likely to be on a budget, right?

The most popular restaurant in the area is at the end of the soi, Wine Connection, with its own bakery offering Bt 17 baguettes after 6pm. You'll see hi-so Thais as well as the elite of the resident expats there, all who know value in gourmet food.

Yes, it is at the end of the soi, on the main road. The hotel offers a free golf cart shuttle to same main road (Thanon Chao Fah (East)). At the road, don't look for taxis or a tuk tuk. Wait for a blue songtaew to hail if you want to go to Phuket Town or southern beaches. Coming back, just ask for "Wine Connection".

The partially paved soi (approach road) gives you a very good idea of both the old and new Phuket. I find it charming.

If you like walking in the tropical heat, this hotel is highly convenient.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BoughtMyPoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed here for one week and the only thing we did was relaxing around the swimmingpools. We booked a standardroom but got a upgrade to a villa. The villa is great and has everything you need, is big and very clean. You get two bottles water free every day and there are more drinks for pay in the fridge. There are two very nice and big swimmingpools, one with seaview and the other one in a nice garden. The sea is nice blue but the beach is not that great. There is always enough space everywhere. The breakfast had everything we wanted; brown and white bread, croissants, eggs of choice, bacon, ham, fresh fruits and juice and even fresh milk and cornflakes, vegetables and also some thai food. What do you want more? We have eaten in the hotel every day and the food is fresh, not that expensive and good. We extended our stay because we liked the hotel that much. If you want a quiet place to relax, away from the busy beaches, this is the right place.

Room Tip: If you book a standard room,we heard the poolview is better than the gardenview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daniek188569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

The staff at reception were very welcoming and the pool area and the pools very pleasant.
We had chosen the poolside 'Villa" which consisted of a large room and pleasant spacious terrace.
The room was frankly odd. Dominated by a massive Tv but apart from a couple of bar stools no way of sitting and watching it,plus with an adjoining door we could clearly hear the family next door.
The sleeping area contained a king bed on a slightly raised dias. The bed on the floor was extremely hard as was the pillow,we both had a lousy nights sleep.
I have no idea what the rooms are like but I would certainly not recommend the Villas.

Tim Sadler
UK.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelitchUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, England
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We booked two nights at Aochalong Villas based on a wedding video of a friend who had a beach wedding at the hotel at the end of 2010.The location and setting of this hotel is quite scenic although, in the last 12 months, the beach has all but disappeared.There are two excellent swimming pools fringed with cooling tropical trees, one next to the sea. However, the facilities are otherwise basic and the hotel overall is showing its age.

We had booked a poolside villa but on arrival were informed that some unspecified problem meant that we would have to change rooms. We were shown to a room described as a "junior suite" up three flights of stairs, which was like an 1960s motel bedroom. As we had arrived shortly before 7pm and it was already dark, we felt we had no choice but to check in, with the promise that we would be bringing a complaint to the manager in the morning. We were given an envelope (prepared in advance) containing 1600 baht, but this still meant that we were being charged around 2500 a night for a room we could have booked elsewhere for half the price.

When I went to reception the next morning, as if by magic, a poolside villa had become available. It was on the ground floor, twice the size of the other room, and with a separate shower cubicle instead of a wet floor toilet/shower. Needless to say, we changed rooms !

One other point worthy of comment is that the breakfast is very limited and the restaurant staff speak very little English. The reception staff have better communication skills and when I had difficulty connecting to the internet an IT engineer was summoned to fix the problem within minutes.

Twenty years ago, Aochalong was probably regarded as quite high class, but it now needs updating. In addition, the little town of Chalong in which it is located is little more than a stop-off point for diving and fishing trips, and for back-packing island hoppers. It is not a place to stay more than a couple of nights. Far more lively and without the seediness of Patong, are Rawai Beach, Kata Beach, and Karon Beach, all just a few kilometres away.

Room Tip: Insist on a poolside villa. One pool faces the sea, the other is set back and is more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tombailey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I like views (sea, mountain, garden, pool). Views from level 4 is superb if you don't mind the stairs. This is the highest building in the area. Breakfast is cool. Spa is nice, but more expensive than the town.

If you are looking for the nightlife, do not go there. Choose Patong area. Close to the pier going to Phi Phi island. You have to travel about one hour to the pier in the north if you go James Bond Island.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
140 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

The track in is very rough, our driver was cautious but concerned; it did take a little to locate it - but we got here in the end! This is more of a local style establishment, no frills but clean and well kept. The rooms are excellent value for money, however we would choose to stay in one of the stand alone villas next time; options for sea view or garden. We took a look through them and they presented quite well. We found the food was reasonably simple, but fresh and enjoyable. The staff really worked hard at looking after us, the front counter crew had great english skills! The two pools were great; beautifully maintained, as were the gardens. Don't miss out on Kaneang Seafood directly in front of the pier at Chalong; this restaurant was one of the best we tried; they also collect you and return you back to your accommodation - service with a smile, seafood unlimited! We'll definitely return!

Room Tip: We had a pool view room, nice and simple Asian style hotel room. For very few more dollars you can h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanW-QLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalong
5.0 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 83 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
6.3 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
The Vijitt Resort Phuket
4.6 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Chalong Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Chalong Villa & Spa

Property: Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Address: 5/26 Moo 9 Soi Porn Chalong , East Chaofa Rd, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Chalong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Chalong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ao Chalong Villa & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Ao Chalong Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Chalong Villa And Spa
Ao Chalong Villa Hotel Chalong
Ao Chalong Hotel
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing