We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel but beach is not ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence
sollentuna
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Ok hotel but beach is not ok”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed here for two nights end of december and the room was quite ok as well as service.

The pools and garden is also nice but location is not so special as beach is not so good and there is not much within walking distance. Though it is pretty close to chalong pier.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flindmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    97
    29
    15
    14
See reviews for
44
121
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The hotel is very pristine and calm. The rooms are a little cramped however the campus, poolside and the restaurant makes up for it. The staff are very courteous. The location is little off the way however the hotel runs golf cars with pick up and drop facility. The poolside is awesome during high tide at the night. The food is very good. Please try the massage in the spa. Very good overall.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the Chalong bay and big buddha.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliviabiswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

We were there for two nights and we were pleasantly surprised - although a bit off the main road and a bit hard to reach at first, this place makes the most of its relative seclusion and surrounds the guests with a relaxing, no worries, friendly enviroment, privacy (as the rooms areas are scattered around the resort) and a chance to slow down. We had a basic room and it had all the basic amenities. Breakfast was simple, but it was served in a prime location, facing the bay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 778moni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Nice quiet hotel.. Really cosy and relaxing place.. A little far away from things, but good transfer opportunities.. The staff does not speak so good English, but there is a British guy there, Steve, who really made our stay pleasant and perfect.. We stayed there for 16 days and we might come back if Steve is still working there in a year from now..

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

STAY AWAY, THERE ARE 10's of nicer places to stay than this. the hotel food is terrible the room service takes too long. i have no comment on the staff either way.

i had my credit cards stolen and when i asked for the bank details to do a bank transfer on my return home they called the police i had to call the irish embassy to get out of the place.

I WAS CHECKING OUT A DAY EARLY WHICH WOULD HAVE COVERED THE COST OF THE SMALL TAB I HAD.

the road to the place is full of pot holes the place looks like the tsunami hit yesterday and the local area isnt great.

1650BAHT!!!

JOKE, i love thailand. but never again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darren o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hundested
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Our stay has been a pleasure. We rented a villa with a sea view, and was not disappointed at all.
The pool is really lovely with a view out over the sea and the small islands nearby, the staff is very polite, smiling, helpfull and very service minded. And that goes from the cleaning crew and all the way up to the managers.
A stay here is recommended if you are looking for a quiet and warm place!

Room Tip: Go for the villa with a sea view, it's really worth the money spend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadsDamir1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Never had the phrase 'you get what you pay for' been more appropriate. We were bitterly Disappointed with our stay at this hotel:

The rooms were quite dated with an odd layout, the hotel itself is a long walk from the main road, down a muddy track. The facilities themselves are poor, the pools are dirty and much smaller than the photos portray, there is limited sun light as much of the hotel is overgrown and the beach is not suitable for swimming or bathing.

There was a knowledgeable English chap who was able to give good local information, and was particularly helpful. Other than that we didn't find the staff interested in its guests.

We avoided the breakfast having seen how dirty the hotel was so can't comment on that, but given the state of the hotel it was probably a safe decision!

It may be a cheap (value for money) hotel, but I for one would rather spend a few more $ for higher quality.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riceyb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pimchanok s, Front Office Manager at Ao Chalong Villa & Spa, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
We were extremely upset and disappointed to read such a negative review. We agree this hotel is away from the main road but for us we think that gives it the seclusion and peacefulness that a lot of people enjoy and also we do provide a 24 hours free shuttle service from hotel to the main road.
We strongly disagree with your comment regarding cleanliness we sure that our previous guests who have stayed at the hotel before would agree that our rooms gardens and pools are kept beautifully clean at all times.
Regarding your comment about the beach obviously that is out of our control as it is a harbor but in our opinion the view are beautiful, also we are only a 15 minute drives a way to the beautiful beach of Naihan Kata and Karon which are very popular.
Regarding my self I am happy that I was of some assistance to you during your stay.
Kind Regards,
Steve Kelsall
Guest Service Manager
Aochalong Villa Resort and spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chalong
0.9 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
5.0 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 89 in Phuket Town
385 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Signature Phuket Resort
5.0 mi away
Baan Suwantawe
Baan Suwantawe
#5 of 89 in Phuket Town
337 reviews
4.9 mi away
Blu Monkey Hub and Hotel Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ao Chalong Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ao Chalong Villa & Spa

Property: Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Address: 5/26 Moo 9 Soi Porn Chalong , East Chaofa Rd, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Chalong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Chalong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ao Chalong Villa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ao Chalong Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ao Chalong Villa And Spa
Ao Chalong Villa Hotel Chalong
Ao Chalong Hotel
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing