We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ban Raya Resort & Spa(Ko Racha Yai)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
127
107
32
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
107
32
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmanager stevethe main roadyacht clubgarden poolchalong bayfree golf cartthoroughly enjoyed our stayfacing the seathailand phuketthe rooms were nicelovely guyenglish manthe hotel is cleanlarger poollow seasonmini marketlimited english
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed 8 days in here and we found to be very relaxed and welcome. The staff is very nice and the place is kept very well maintained.
Even being fully booked (60 rooms) we didn't found it to crowded in breakfasts or lunch/diner.

Certainly further away from the busy beaches of patong and kata and other sights but very well connected if you rent a bike or car, no more than 20 or 30 minutes.

We will stay again and if not will pass to say hi to Steve, and English pal very helpful with indications as many people point out!
Good job guys!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Pau P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Ao Chalong Villa is a lovely resort on the east coast facing Chalong Bay, at the end of a long road (10 min walk, but a hotel golf cart is ever-ready to take you to and from the main road, rt. 4021, where there are many stores/restaurants). The view of the bay is excellent. However, there is no swimming beach, although at low tide you can walk along a sandy strip to the pier or the nearby Yacht Club bar. Contrary to other reviews, the pools were large and clean, although keeping them clean, with all the overhanging shrubbery, is an effort. The garden is excellent and well-maintained. Steve, the Services Manager, is English and very helpful.
Breakfast is included in the room price. Fare is somewhat basic and adequate, but with little variety from day to day (I stayed 5 days) - juice and coffee/tea, fresh-cooked eggs and toast, cereal, bacon and sausage, one simple thai dish (eg fried rice or soup), salad and fruit. No extras like pancakes, yoghurt, pastries, etc.
This is not much of a tourist area, which I liked, unless you drive down to the Rawai beach area. We rented motorbikes (200 baht/day) from Mike's (run by Mark, a very friendly australian), whose shop is nearby on 4021, so that it was easy to go to the Rawai seafood market, PhromThep Cape for the sunset, Nai Harn Beach, etc. There are many dive/snorkeling shops on the road to the pier. Nearby are many 7/11s, a Makro, and two Tesco Lotus stores.

Room Tip: The standard (non-villa) rooms are scattered around and vary quite a bit in size/quality, so you need to ask - my room, 205, was excellent, large with great windows, with an outside porch area.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VineNFigTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Great restaurant and live music show, simple, clean room;
One British guy i forgot the name, he is so kind and paint a map to us to show great sites around chalong beach.all places are quite well except fish market.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Ten nights spent here, a calm and quiet atmosphere staff polite,friendly and always smiling.The room was clean but cramped (three single beds in a double room) staff always ready to take you to local shops and amenities either by golf cart or on back of moped and restaurant dished out fantastic food (credit to Odd and other chefs). However our group did have a towel, shirts and toiletries vanish from the room to no explanation. All though most disappointed by the hotels penalty charges for a missing room key that was taken from our room as we slept (DONT FORGET TO LOCK YOUR DOOR WHILE YOURE SLEEPING IT WILL COST YOU 1500 BHAT= £30). a bath flannel with a tiny bit of dirt and sun cream will cost you 250 bhat=£5 because staff said wouldnt come clean again (flannel used to wipe floor because rooms only swept out never mopped) and upon checking out tried to be charged for three glasses which wasnt in room to start with also charged for in house laundry that had all ready been paid for two or three times before . seemed if you blinked wrong you would get charged.Shame really and finally credit where due to an English bloke called
Steve worked hard and very helpful drawing maps and listing of the best restaurants,bars and nightclubs where you wont get ripped off cheers Steve but unfortunately don't think ill be checking in any time soon............. .disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank richard k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pimchanok s, Guest Relations Manager at Ao Chalong Villa & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

2014 February 12

Dear Sir

Thank you for your kind comments about our friendly staff, and also about the wonderful foods provided by our restaurant here at Ao Chalong Villa Resort And Spa. We all work as team to make sure your stay is a happy one.

The room is suitable for three persons, since we've not had comments before regarding, this.
Regarding the missing Key, receptionist always ask for the keys to be left at the key – drop ‘box when guests go out for the day.

When a key is lost it is hotel policy to change the entire lock and replace new set of keys for a security reason, thus the cost of 1,500 Baht

Regarding mopping the floor, Housekeeping did try to clean the room but on several occasions there was a “Do Not Disturb” sign so they were unable to entry the room for cleaning. All floors are both brushed and moped.

Referred to the laundry bills, there are three separate bags of laundry were dropped off, so why there are three separate laundry bills not a duplicate bill.

Once again, Thank you for your comments, were constantly working to improve our services to make sure every guests stay is a happy one.

Best Regards,
Steve Kelsall
Guest Relation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This is a really nice place to stay if you just want to relax around a lovely pool area.
The hotel is a little oasis within a residential, non touristy area of
Phuket.
It is situated off the main(very busy) road which runs south from Phuket town.
We arrived to a very warm welcome from the reception staff but because we were late our basic room allocation looked like the last and worst in the building so we arranged an upgrade to one of the villas by the restaurant at a decently negotiated price.
The villa was lovely , done in typical Thai style and the view of the pool area lit up at night from our balcony was fantastic.
The hotel does have a beach at the front but the sea is more harbour like and not really ok for swimming but the pool area makes up for this.
The pool area is private and lovely and quiet apart from the occasional children in the pool.
Breakfast was fine and as you would expect from a 3 star hotel.
The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced and you can sit by the sea and have dinner listening to the live music.
Tip....Monday night's singer is a guy called MR Edwin and he is well worth staying in the hotel to listen to.
The hotel runs a free golf buggy service from the hotel to the main road (approx 3 mins journey...and will come and collect you if you ring the hotel)and there is a restaurant called the wine collection on the main road which does really nice European meals.
Staff in the hotel are excellant, special mention to Steve who was always helpful and friendly.
The manager is friendly and very hands on ensuring that the guests have lovely time.
Internet is free and works in the room.
All in all a lovely place to stay if you want to relax in a peaceful environment.
Only real negatives were the lack of drinks such as diet coke, tonic water or glasses of wine available. We ended up drinking our own bought inexpensively from the local shops.
Would recommend this hotel for couples who want to be away from the very busy areas such as Karon and relax in lovely poolside environment.
Thank you for a lovely stay

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews