We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth going out of your way for.”
Review of Kan Eang 2

Kan Eang 2
Ranked #14 of 88 Restaurants in Chalong
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$500
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This is a restaurant frequented mostly by locals, a real find. There are a few restaurants with same or similar name, all part of the same group. The one we went to was called Kan Eang 2.
Rhodes
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not worth going out of your way for.”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We ate here in 2001 when it was out of this world: no one at the restaurant spoke English and there were no prices on the menu! Now it is of average quality. Look for a beach restaurant far from the crowds for good prices and quality. I think that that this place has become too commercial.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank taffy86948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    88
    21
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai Food - never disappoints!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

If you want to try some authentic Thai food then this is the place to go.

The food at Kan Eang 2 is fantastic, very fresh and tasty with excellent prices that seem to stay the same year after year. We have eaten here so many times and it has never disappointed.

The location is lovely, right by the water at Chalong and it is a good place for children as well to run around & play.

Kan Eang 2 is set in a huge area with plenty of little seating sections in the open or undercover, there is a golf cart for the elderly or disabled to take you down to the seating areas and there is also entertainment at night.

We highly recommend Kan Eang 2 for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

After reading so many reviews, we decided to try out this restaurant. The location is by the sea so it is quite relaxing and windy. However, the beach was dirty and sea was still with some boats. There is nothing else around there and you need a car to drive there as it is far out and rural.

We ordered fried prawn with nuts, crabs in curry, fried fish roe and fried fish skin and a cappuccino. The cappuccino was 100 baht which was the most expensive cappa I had in Phuket. Not even Central Festival coffee chain charges that much! a rip off! There was no drink menu. The waiter didn't tell us how much it will cost, just read off from memory what the restaurant had. The cappa was diluted so it was a let down.

The fried fish roe and fish skin were oily, hard and looks burnt. The prawns were not fresh as the flesh was not succulent and fresh red. It was squashy. With the high turnover of customers (since this is a highly rated restaurant), the seafood should be fresh? Total let down. The crab with curry was the only thing I ate but it was mediocre.

Overall, we were upset with the food as we spent sometime driving there with high expectations after reading the reviews. The prices were not that cheap but we don't mind if the quality was good. There were many service staff around and they stood around awkwardly looking at us when the food arrived. Not sure why they are standing around. There was only 1 other table of 3 guests. Maybe they were not busy and wanted to serve us if we need their help? Or were they waiting for a tip? I felt awkward at all of them looking at us eating.

anyway, we just tried to finish whatever we can since we ordered and paid for it. But it was not good food. won't go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MustardSeed88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakchan, Manager at Kan Eang 2, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Our sincerely apologies. Please be note. If you are unhappy with the food or services. Please ask for the section supervisor or captain immediately. Still no response, please go direct to the cashier and ask for the general manager/partner (Mr Prachan). Our place is like a big garden and we are do our best to keep everyone happy with us. Again, sorry for the mishap and thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Thai food for Thais”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We were thrilled to arrive at this restaurant and find it filled with Thai families eating together on a Sunday night rather than the majority of the restaurant being filled with tourists. We knew the food was going to be authentic. As a previous reviewer mentioned the English of the staff is limited. We were using our fairly limited Thai vocabulary a lot. This shouldn;t stop you going though. Pointing to what you want is fine. If you are trying to explain it to a driver Kan Eang 2 in Thai is pronounced phoenetically- Kan Eng (not Eang as we would say it) Song (which is number 2 in Thai) Kan Eang @pier is more popular with tourists but not as good and more expensive. We will go to Kan Eang 2 every year when we visit Phuket as it is the best Thai food we had there.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank intrepidaussie_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This is a great location to relax by the sea. The food is good, but the serving staff seem very lazy and never smile .
I have problems at many restaurants now with unhappy thai staff who just seem to not care .
Will try again, but not sure !

Helpful?
Thank tonykenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kan Eang 2 also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Kan Eang 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing