We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an awesome time”
Review of Siam Safari - CLOSED

Siam Safari
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Book directly via Siam Safari's website for best rates and promotions. Siam Safari operates nature tours in Phuket with over 25 years experience and is the only Royal Thai Government Certified Elephant Camp in Southern Thailand, which guarantees that our elephants are well taken care of. In the interests of guests' safety, we only use female elephants on our elephant trekking tours.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Huntington, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had an awesome time”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Did the half-day 4-in-1 tour. It was an awesome time. We were picked up at our hotel in and taken to Siam Safari. I was concerned at first after hearing about the way some companies treat their animals, but it is clear Siam Safari treats their elephants humanely.

We enjoyed a rubber making demonstration, thai cooking demonstration, and other demonstrations about the local agriculture and Thai culture.

What really made the day though was the elephants. We watched a demonstration with a couple of baby elephants and were able to have our picture taken with them. We then went on the elephant trek. Our guide was awesome, he was truly in tune with his elephant. The elephant would often take several side trips to grab a bite to eat, and the guide allowed this, it was very cool. There were some awesome views of Chalong Bay along the way. Our guide had a small hook, but never used it.

Finally, we did the lunch on Chalong Bay, the traditional Thai food was very good and our hosts were very gracious. All in all, I would recommend this for anyone looking for a fun day, it is very family friendly and worth the trip.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_T31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,387
    271
    44
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great trek”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We loved our trek with swim safari. We were picked up promptly after booking online the day before. Only a short trip away, and it was all professional. Very informative and all the elephants we saw looked well looked after. My kids - 2 and 4 had a great time. We all felt safe and after passing a few other companies that offered elephant treks, we defiantly picked the right one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Merctaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borås, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun experience”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 via mobile

Did the half day elephant trekking - very educational and fun as we learned about everything from growing rice to what a coconut can get you to elephants. We met water buffaloes and both grown up an baby elephants. It was a very nice and relaxing experience to ride the elephants through the jungle. Fun to feed them fruits afterwards! Seems to be a very serious company that really takes care of their animals. Would highly recommend to both kids and grown ups!

Helpful?
Thank Hippolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a day”
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

My first time Thailand and I wanted to go and see the elephants. So we booked the half day with lunch. We got the recommendation from our destination Asia rep. I wanted to go to somewhere that looked after the elephants and not exploit them, and Siam safari certainly looks after them. Our guide Ma was brilliant and funny at the same time. She gave us loads if facts about them. The 30min ride was out this world, great to get close to them. The elephant we rode on was still young and a bit naughty at times, but loads if fun. Her keeps was brilliant and so much fun.

They also showed us traditional ways of Thai life, like what they do with coconuts, rice. The Thai spice cooking was good and a bit hot, but what do you expect. I'm also going to change my coffee to a proper Thai coffee as it was the best I have ever tasted. The rubber tree, and how they make rubber was very interested.

The lunch we had was very good and in a nice setting looking over Chalong bay.

It's great to see that someone is looking after these great animals. And great to know that what you pay s gong towards looking after and protecting them.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great experience, elephants really well treated!”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

A must do for a visit to Phuket. The program is incredibly well run, very organized, and everything happens seamlessly. A 30 or 45 minute elephant ride begins with a demonstration of baby elephants, which at first seemed kind of sleezy, but you realize that the animals are actually well treated on what seems to be more of a reserve than a tourist trap. The tour progresses to the elephant ride which is an awesome experience. Really well trained and professional guides ride the elephants with you, and an overall very professional organization you won't regret.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siam Safari also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing