We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 months stay summary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pier Serviced Apartment
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in The Pier for almost four months.
On the plus side, the place has a very good location close to Chalong Circle and Chalong Pier. The room was tidy, 2 times/week cleaning is included in the price. Shower was ok, warm water enough. They installed safety boxes to the rooms while our stay. There was tv (didn't use that at all), microwave and fridge, all worked just fine. The manager is very helpful and nice, rest of the staff doesn't really speak english.
The internet connection was ok, sometimes it was lost and we just reseted the router that was on the hallway. There was some noise from traffic and dogs barking, but we got used to that and it didn't bother us.
The place was a bit expensive compared to other similar accommodations in the area, and the rent is only by monthly/daily. So if you are staying only 3months and 2week, you'll still pay the whole 4months.(the daily rent is even more expensive)

The worst thing however was the electricity and water bills.
Every month the bill got a little more expensive, even though our usage was the same (we didn't change air con settings or anything).
First month we payed 1400baht.
The next it was 2000.
And the last month was 2900, which was outrageous, especially since we were travelling around and didn't even be there for two weeks! I asked explanation for this and the manager started showing me all these lists and numbers, even the unit meters to convince that he isn't lying or trying to trick us. But still, how is it possible that 2½ weeks use of electricity suddenly costs over twice as much as first months use.. I asked around, and this has happened to others also who stayed in The Pier.

So pay attention to the electricity bills, otherwise the place is just fine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaikkiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed for only three days at this hotel. It was very loud and hot. Nearby there was no restaurant for breakfast or lunch. You have to rent a car because there is no bus or taxi. The Manager was not helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dagmar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Checked in at the hotel very late in the evening. I should say that girl at the reception was very friendly and helpful, big thank you. Room was very big and comfortable. Location of the hotel is great, lots of restaurants nearby.

I would recommend this hotel, as it is great value for your money for sure. Happy travels!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Molodaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The location is great - just off Chalong circle, with plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. The staff are extremely polite and helpful. This is a very good option if you're travelling on a budget and looking for a place that's far away from the Patong craziness.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akshaymoorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012 via mobile

@TapioTheMan if this place is such a horrible why did you stayed for six months?
Is this why your wife left you? Cos of your complaining about everything?
Your wife left you i get it, you have my sympathy but I don't think it fair that you take your bad marriage out on the place that you stay.

This place is the cheapest & cleanest Serviced Apartment that anyone could find in Chalong area.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TapioTheMan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Here's why:
First of all, It is full of drunk and very loud russians, they love to talk and laugh after midnight in the hallways, some behave aggressive, some have 3 year old babies and put them out to hallway to cool down when they have a bad moment, it's nice to wake up to a crying baby at 7.30 AM and there's no-one who will stop it. The parents just don't care about neighbors. Calling reception is useless since they don't understand a word of english.

Internet is very, very, very slow (all the 6 months I have been here), and several times per day it disappears completely for up to one hour. I have asked several times about this, different explanations every time, but nothing ever changes. Ever. They have no interest what so ever to fix this. TVs don't work in any of the rooms (I've had 3 different), they explained the cable signal does not work with the TV sets....? Air conditioning breaks down very often, mine has been fixed 3 times, the repairmen also leave a nice mess in my room and I have to clean it up myself.

Sometimes on mornings there's no water coming to shower, not a pleasant surprise. In personnel only 1 person speaks english and he is not often here, the others don't seem to have ever heard English before. When the tsunami threat came earlier this year, I felt a slight earthquake and soon heard there were cars with loudspeakers driving on street, they broadcasted something in Thai language. I got worried and called several times to reception asking is there a tsunami warning or what the cars are broadcasting (turned out it was a tsunami warning telling to leave the area immediately), the girl did not understand a single word, she said with very bad english "I call back" and hang up the phone, 20 minutes went, no call came, I went down to see them at reception, to my surprise they had all fled, not single soul there. So much for taking care of the customers' lives.

There's supposed to be room cleaning, but if you have a towel around you when they knock the door, if you tell them "1 minute please" to be able to put some clothes on, they disappear and you have to wait days for the next time, this has happened now 4 weeks in row, no matter with what words you tell them to wait just a short moment. Also leaving the sign "Please clean up the room" on door has no effect what so ever, it's there when you come back, I have had mine left there for days. There is a guard by the parking area, but he is every night asleep when I pass him. I wouldn't leave my scoter there.

I stayed 6 months in this hotel, later found out a fellow in the other room paid 2000 Bath less than I even he stayed much shorter time. Asking discount went to deaf ears. It's easier to learn the Thai language than get discount here. To top the insult, when I was paying my last month before leaving home, I asked if I can pay only for the 2 weeks which I stayed that month, they said this is a monthly deal, sorry no discounts… so they charged me for 2 extra weeks after staying 6 months in the place!!!! Needless to say I will never ever stay in this hotel again! And I'm a person who is the very flexible and hardly ever complains about anything. I have learned my lesson. In this place all they want is your money... :(

Room Tip: There's no view on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TapioTheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Snezhana_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chalong hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Zolitude Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
0.0 mi away
Cocoville Phuket
Cocoville Phuket
#1 of 56 in Chalong
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
#2 of 16 in Chalong
272 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shanti Lodge - Phuket
Shanti Lodge - Phuket
#5 of 56 in Chalong
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Guesthouse and Travel
Luna Guesthouse and Travel
#14 of 56 in Chalong
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pier Serviced Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Serviced Apartment

Address: 7/13 Moo 9, Chalong, Phuket Town, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Phuket Town > Chalong
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Chalong
Price Range: £17 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Pier Serviced Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier Serviced Apartment Phuket/Chalong, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing