We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb fitness training!”

Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes
Ranked #10 of 43 things to do in Chalong
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tiger Muay Thai & MMA Training Camp started Muay Thai training camp in 2004 with a vision of bringing quality Muay Thai training to everyone. Although we started with just one ring, we now have seven boxing rings, an MMA cage, 36 workout stations and have over 40 Muay Thai trainers. We also have three incredible personal trainers devoted to various fitness specialties. They are also professional athletes. In addition, we are affiliated with Brazilian Top Team which is one of the most renowned Jui Jitsu gyms in the world.We are especially proud to have guests that return every year, including world champion trainers and fighters from WMC, Lumpinee, Rajadamnern, WBC, Bangkok TV and professional fighters from all over the world like Royce Gracie, Jon Fitch, Murilo Bustamante and Brian Ebersole just to name a few.What’s also nice is the amazing return rate of guests like yourself that make coming back to our camp an on-going tradition.Guests come here from all over the world with different fitness goals. We have won the award for the Best Gym for Foreigners two years in a row for 2010 and 2011.We have fighters who come here to improve technique and to prepare for upcoming fights, martial arts schools, vacationers, fitness fans, adventure junkies, and military personnel. At our camp getting fit is a priority. But we also know that finding time to relax and rejuvenating oneself is also important. Here you have the opportunity to explore places like Phi Phi Island, be awed by the Big Buddha, relax on the shores of one of many beautiful beaches.We are more than just a facility - it’s a place to reinvent yourself...a place to take a step out of the hustle of everyday life and figure out what’s really important.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb fitness training!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

TMT
Spent 1 week in both July and August doing fitness (non-Muay Thai) classes at TMT. Top quality trainers - I preferred the girls, Ocean and Aurora to the men though, as they were more particular about technique. Wide range of abilities in the class - some looking to lose significant weight, while others were already very fit, but class is for all, and trainers can push/monitor all abilities. Do take part in extra activities like Big Buddha run, outdoor workouts and Ocean's Big Buddha sunset yoga session. I would recommend 2 consecutive weeks at TMT to see real results. Make sure you get up for the 630am yoga classes to stretch/recover...

Helpful?
2 Thank Horley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolenPicardo, Guest Relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for choosing Tiger camp.
It is very important for us to provide a constant Service. Good to know that we succeeded.
Appreciate your time to write a detailed review on us.
We hope to seeing you soon back again.

Cheers,

TMT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    59
    33
    26
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Everyday Life at Tiger Muay Thai & MMA”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was the best Muay Tiger Gym I have ever been to, but don't believe my words.
Look for yourself, I shot a video showcasing the everyday life at Tiger Muay Thai. It shows all the Martial Arts classes they offer: Western Boxing, Muay Thai, MMA, BJJ, Muay Boran, Krabi Krabong, etc. Hope the video helps you guys.

YouTube Video Name: "Relic Wessels: Everyday Life at Tiger Muay Thai & MMA 2014. Phuket-Thailand."

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Relic W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolenPicardo, Guest Relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for writing a review.
We are glad to have you met and pleased to know that you had a great time with us.
Thanks again for shooting a short film on our facility which will definitely help others see if not in words.

We look forward to your return soon again.

Regards,TMT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I went to Tiger Muay thai for the 2nd time and i can tell that it is no more what it use to be.
The food at the Tiger Grill is way to expensive (even with the meal plan if you make the calculation) and I did not find it good.
The management did not do their best to help us when we had problems, they did not even answer back to our e-mails.
Everything is too expensive. I recommend you to only book the trainings and then look once their, for accommodation and places to eat by yourselves.

The only very positive point is their trainers, especially Tukkatatong, Robert and Bird.

However, i still do not recommend this place. There are a lot of other training camps in Phuket.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank SerranoJonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolenPicardo, Guest Relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for sending your constructive feedback after your visit at Tiger.
we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations. Upon thorough review of the situation,we have come up with a whole new menu with variety of choices and revised prices.
I hope this resolves the issue as we deeply value your relationship with Tiger Muay Thai and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.

we wish to see you visit us soon again.

Cheers,TMT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Excellent training camp”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I went there last november and had an experience much better than i had ever antecipated. Great trainers amazing knowledge from borh nik (crossfit) and moo ( muay thai). Also antone who goes over there can count on Jolen ( guest relations) to make you stay much easier. All great professionals

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felipe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolenPicardo, Guest Relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
I hope you are doing well, and keeping up to your workout :)
Assuming you have fully recovered from your knee injury.glad you enjoyed your time with us and thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review.
We are remodeling our weight room and lots of expansion.We hope you will visit us again soon.

Cheers,

The TMT Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good gym, although staph problems.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I came to Tiger hoping to enjoy a week of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu with world class instruction.
Whilst the coaches are no doubt world class and extremely patient, motivating, willing to show techniques and explain concepts, I was only able to complete a few classes after unfortunately picking up a staph infection on day 2!

The gym seems to be aware of the problem (there are some posters about staph at the camp) but it could be doing more in order to be cleaner ensuring that guests have a better stay.
Firstly, the coaches could and should be stressing the importance of not training if you have staph/impetigo/ringworm etc. and how to prevent these things (right now they're not), and secondly the gym with the profits it's no doubt making (students paying near 'western' prices for training whilst the gym is paying Thai prices for wages/utilities) could easily be supplying 'Defense Soap' (or similar) products to guests, or at least have them on hand at the grappling mats.

Brazilian jiu jitsu is, like any art form, open to interpretation and in my opinion the best jiu jitsu classes are those where all taking part are each the teacher and the student, making their training partners as well as themselves better through discussion, flow rolling, listening, drilling, and sparring. People coming to the mats with staph infections destroys this - yes they have paid money to train but a good jiu jistu practitioner knows when to respectfully step away in order to facilitate others' learning and get healthy themselves!

Some training partners at Tiger clearly aren't getting this message, and there might just be one too many egos in the gym keen to go home and tell everyone at their club that they 'won training'.

Can't comment on the Muay Thai but given where the gym is located I'm sure it's second to none.

Tiger if you can convince me to come back I just might give it another go

Best,

Ross

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rpduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JolenPicardo, Guest Relations at Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am terribly sorry that you were diagnosed with a staph infection. Staph infections (staphylococcus bacteria) are germs that are commonly found on the skin or in the nose of even people who are healthy. You can encounter these germs anywhere, and common sources are towels,door handles,training gears and the people that you encounter throughout the day. Many carry staph bacteria and never develop staph infections. If you develop a staph infection, it's even likely that it came from bacteria that you have been carrying for some time.

I do want to assure you and all other guests that we clean and sanitize our mats and gym equipment's frequently after each training session.However,its personal hygiene.Our instructors does monitor to spot guest with staph infection and the guest is soon requested to pause training to get treated.Staph infection is high priority awareness in our camp and as you have already noticed we have put up posters all over the facility.It is a very important part of our policies in order to ensure that each guest enjoys a comfortable, clean, and safe environment.Thank you for sharing your review.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes also viewed

 
Phuket Town, Phuket
Phuket Town, Phuket
 

Been to Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing