We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent WAAR weekend.”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with open fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with open fire
Carrickfinn Holiday Cottage 4* Failte Ireland approved Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Living room with open fire
Carrickfinn Holiday Cottage 4* Failte Ireland approved
Dining area
One of the 3 Ensuite Bedrooms in the cottage
The sauna in Carrickfinn Cottage
Carrickfinn Blue Flag Beach
Mt. Errigal visible from Carrickfinn
The Boat Strand Beach Carrickfinn
View from the top of Mt. Errigal, just a short drive from the cottage.
Boat trips to Aranmore, Gola and Tory Islands
Cruit Island Golf Club
Carrickfinn Cottage is fringed by  golden sandy beaches
Dunlewey Church with Mt. Errigal in the background
Glenveagh Castle & National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Annagry, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Eunan M
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent WAAR weekend.”
Reviewed 19 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed at Elma & Cahels cottages for weekend of WAAR adventure race we did on 12th May. Great hosts very friendly and informative. House is Very well designed by Cahel to blend with the vernacular Donegal architecture, really spacious inside with 3 double bedrooms with ensuites. Not to mention a sauna off the bathroom amazing after WARS for the sore legs. Location is just beautiful and within close proximity of many towns and villages, Gweedore, Dungloe etc. We were spoilt for choice when it came to beaches golden sand. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2018
Thank you Eunan for your very nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in the cottage, the local area and Carrickfinn's beautiful beaches. Hopefully we will see you sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andlaterg...
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Spectacular setting, perfect accommodation, excellent hosts...”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Donegal is an amazing part of the world - spectacular scenery, beautiful unspoilt empty beaches, mountains, golf courses, and wonderful friendly people.

Carrickfinn is the world's most scenic airport, surrounded by the Wild Atlantic and on the Wild Atlantic Way and has the unique backdrop of the Derryveagh Mountains, dominated by the iconic Mount Errigal, Donegal's highest peak. Donegal is a 'must visit' and was voted the 'Coolest place on earth' - National Geographic 2017.

Close by the airport (1 km if that) are the holiday cottages owned and run by Elma and Cathal, wonderful hosts. We stayed for 4 nights over the May Bank Holiday weekend in 2018. The accommodation is modern and exudes old world cottage charm without compromising on comfort or cosiness - a perfect retreat and base to see and do all that the local county has to offer. On arrival we were made very, very welcome, offered tea and shown to the cottages nearby.

Cathal thoroughly briefed us on how to use the heating, TV, the turf fire and the sauna (yes... the sauna!) and was very helpful and reminded us several times that if we needed any help with any aspect of our holiday or stay to be sure to phone either him or Elma and they would be delighted to help us out. Nothing was a problem and our late arrival and flexible departure time enhanced our relaxed experience.

The cottage is very clean and comfortable. The turf, which is provided, gives a lovely, charming fire and the sauna is a great addition to unwind after a days climbing or golfing or whatever takes your fancy.

The remote location is so restful, peaceful, quiet and calming that after a few hours you leave your cares behind you and immerse yourself in the locale. That said the world is on your door step literally with the airport nearby!! The aircraft are light aircraft and there are three or four arrivals a day. Leo's Tavern is a couple of miles away and is 'home' to Clannad and Enya originally - there are music nights several times a week, table quizzes and other events. We were co-opted onto a table quiz team when we arrived and had a wonderful spontaneous night, met some lovely people and basically had the craic :) So welcoming, so typical of the county.

Too much to see and do - so much to recommend - would advise the simple things as part of every day - long walks on beautiful deserted beaches, waves crashing on golden sands... climbing Mount Errigal, no end of great eateries, golf at Cruit Island or further down the coast at Portnoo - breathtaking ocean views as the backdrop that make the golf a secondary diversion... a visit to Glenveagh Castle, formerly a private retreat that hosted old Hollywood in it's heyday, Greta Garbo and Clark Gable to name a couple, this majestic property is now publicly owned and a beautiful place to visit.

All in all a magnificent break leaving us reluctant to leave and eager to get back!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2018
Dear Fergal & Siobhan, we are absolutely thrilled with your wonderful review. We are blessed to live in an area of such outstanding natural beauty and we love sharing it with our visitors. Thank you for taking the time to not only review our Carrickfinn Cottage but also to highlight all the amenities in this area. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
Cathal & Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewhallCo...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderfully relaxing spot - a real sense of getting away from it all - in comfort too!”
Reviewed 24 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

After a week in Co Mayo we travelled up to Donegal - our first visit - and were greeted by Elma and Cathal with a lovely cup of tea and freshly made scones. The cottage was very comfortable, light and spacious and with the addition of the sauna, which we made good use of, we had a very relaxing stay. Wonderful beaches just a few minutes away from the house - and some great places to eat as well. Recommend The Lobster Pot at Burtonport after doing the railway walk in the morning. The local hotel in Annagary is great too - very friendly. It was hard to leave and head back to the city, we hope to be back again soon.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. We hope we will see you again soon, and we have many more sight seeing trips and good restaurants that we can recommend to you. Kind regards Cathal & Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hootwink
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing week in Carrickfinn”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

After discovering The beach last August, I decided to return and stay in Carrickfinn over Easter. An excellent decision, as we had such a fantastic time. We were blessed with beautiful weather, the hosts were fantastic, the activities recommended to us by Cahal the host were all brilliant and the cottage itself was just awesome! We did the following trips;

-Sliabh Liag, Glencolumbkille, killybegs (stopping in the Waterfront Hotel dungloe for dinner on our way back)
-Dunfanaghy, Horn Head, Downings, Wild Atlantic adribe (keep an eye out for the donkeys). We stopped in Cafe Arnou on Elmas recommendation for lunch and it was lovely.
-Glenveagh Castle then We had pancakes from a little camper van in the middle of the bog, the coolest thing!
-Ards Friary and National Park, fanad Head and lighthouse
- Arranmore Island
- Climbed Errigal

Going back to use the sauna and have a glass of wine in front of the open fire every night was just magical.
We cooked breakfast every day in the cottage and prepared lunch/dinner most days and have to say we were delighted at the extensive range of utensils and cooking equipment available. Oven/fridge/microwave all spotlessly clean.
The bedrooms are beautifully decorated -cottagey but not oldschool. The beds were very comfortable, we mentioned this to the owner and were informed they’re all new which was great!
Every bedroom had its own ensuite, plus the main bathroom with sauna off it is on the ground floor. Bathrooms all immaculate too.
Before we left we booked to go back again for a week in September and we’re hoping to go kayaking and cliff climbing as well as visit Tory island and Malin Head.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your review. It is great that you have seen so much of our beautiful county, we can recommend a lot more lovely places for you to visit. We are looking forward to your next visit in September.
Kind regards
Cathal & Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Apr 2018
We were sad and disappointed to read this review, sad because our guest went home unhappy, and disappointed because we were not given any opportunity to help make their stay with us a pleasant one.
Una booked our holiday cottage for 4 nights in April. When she arrived to our home on Wed April 4th, we welcomed her and 3 of her family. We told them to be sure and let us know if they had any problems during their stay. My husband brought them the short drive to their holiday cottage, showed them around and gave relevant information about internet access in this area.
On Thursday morning I called to the cottage to check how our guests were settling in. There were 3 girls there that I had not met before, one girl, who said she was the ladies daughter, told me everything was fine.
From that time until after our guests left on Sunday, all correspondence was via text message. These messages gave no indication that our guests had a problem with smoke or that her daughter was ill. Had we known the girl had asthma, we too would have been concerned. We are fully aware of the distress and worry this sickness causes. I hope, since sending our good wishes, the girl has made a full recovery.
Instead the text messages (including the one received after the guest had left our cottage) read "we are having a great time, all is great thank you".
All our advertisements states that our cottage sleeps 6. Because there were 7 people staying and the booking had been made for 4, I advised our guests on the evening prior to departure that we appreciated the cottage being left clean and tidy. I did not ask her to clean the fire but appreciate it being done.
We obliged our guest when asked to allow a late checkout. When we saw her passing our home at approx 10 am, we did not realise they had left . Had we known they had to leave earlier than arranged due to her daughters illness, we would have gone to say goodbye.
Our holiday homes opened in 1999. We do our best to make our visitors feel welcome and secure in the knowledge that they can call us at any time. We are delighted that we have made so many friends over these years. It is rewarding to read the other 31 reviews on Trip Advisor awarding us "excellent" status.
We wish this guest had allowed us deal with the problems she encountered during her stay. Had this been done, I would like to think a different type of review would have been written.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zepf2017
Holywood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, spacious house near stunning beaches”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this house as a family of 2 adults and 5 children. It was perfect for what we wanted - lots of beautiful beaches and walks nearby, and the sauna was wonderful for warming up again after sea swimming! Really lovely quality of house, and very roomy. It had everything we needed for a busy family - dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, bbq and 4 bathrooms. The turf fire was pure magic. Elma and Cathal were so friendly and helpful. I can definitely recommend this house. Go raibh míle maith agaibh.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2017
Hello Maire , Thank you for your review and for recommending our cottage. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. You have lovely children with great imagination and good fun, I enjoyed hearing their stories. There are still some magical places left for them to discover in Carrickfinn. Kind regards Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
opolony20...
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Cottage ist the perfect place from where You can experience the landscape of County Donegal, to hike (i.e. Mt. Errigal, Glenveagh National Parc, Slieve League, Mt. Muckish) ot just to relax at the nearby beaches. The Cottage ist fully equipped, has enough space an quite luxurous. The hosts are very Kind and it was (again) a great week for us to stay at Carrickfinn.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2017
Thank you for giving us this review. We know how much you enjoy exploring this beautiful area and we hope to see you again.
Best wishes
Cathal & Elma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing