We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Where else do you get to sleep on a snooker table?”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Frewin House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ramelton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Frewin House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramelton
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Where else do you get to sleep on a snooker table?”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent a night in the cottage at Frewin House on 07/07/13. The cottage is a beautiful place to stay, it resembles a gate keepers cottage & is tucked away in behind the main house. It is a quaint little cottage with everything you would need for a self catering stay. The bedroom covers the entire upstairs floor & has possible the most comfortable bed in the world. The bed has a story all of its own but I will leave it for Regina to tell if you ever visit. Overall I can't recommend this place highly enough, we didn't spend much time in the main house but it did look very nice. Both the main house & the cottage have a impressive collection of books which is nice to see, & the cottage also has a lovely old piano. It's a 5/10 minute walk into town. McDaids Wine Bar is definitely worth a visit, there are a few other pubs but this place is a real gem. We will certainly be back to Frewin House in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulMcStay-Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
37
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We had a wonderful night's stay at Frewin House. We were greeted by the lovely Regina on arrival who served us tea by the big open fire in the library which was just perfect to relax after the journey. We stayed in the beautifully adorned Glas room with its adjoining lounge and lovely views of the gardens and we were very comfortable. It's not a far walk to the centre of the town but Regina kindly dropped us in for dinner at The Bridge and we finished our evening with a glass too many of red wine in the Wine Bar with the gracious host James. Breakfast in the morning was a splendid affair with a huge spread of fruit, cereals, homemade breads and freshly squeezed orange juice followed by the full Irish. The house is tastefully decorated with great antiques and the warmth of the family flows throughout. Thank you :)

Room Tip: Glas is a lovely room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Realt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I just returned from a recent visit to Donegal. I travel frequently to this corner of the world as my grandmother came from the area outside of Letterkenny. When visiting, I always stay at Frewin and have now visited more times than I count. I've also recommended Frewin to my family so I'm pleased to report that the Coyles have played host to other various Cahill members throughout the years. Frewin has become a home away from home for us during these trips and I couldn't imagine traveling to this region without Frewin. Regina is like a long lost friend, always ready with a warm and familiar greeting. She and Thomas and their children could not be more gracious and welcoming, always. Above and beyond a generous welcome, Frewin offers an absolutely charming and inviting home, filled with wonderful furnishings, antiques, books and art. There is evidence that a real family lives, works and cares for this home and its history and the surrounding area. Having had many conversations with both Thomas and Regina over the years, I know that they are both firmly committed to treasuring and preserving the unique, the historic and the character filled Irish traditions that seem so elusive these days, whether in their home cooking, their care for their home and of course their genuine hospitality. I'm hard pressed to think of time better spent than sitting in Regina's library, sipping tea in front of the peet fire. The meals are out of this world. I'm literally still daydreaming about Regina's breakfast weeks later. If only I could awaken in NY with a similar fuel for my day. We also try to eat dinner at Frewin as often as possible. Another wonderful treat and the best way to spend an evening, post tea in the library and before climbing upstairs to a cozy Frewin bed. Having visited this area often, I can also report that Ramelton is an ideal base for touring the highlights of Donegal. Ramelton itself is a beautiful, well preserved and scenic town. Glenveigh National Park and Castle are close by, as is Derek Hills home, Glebe House. Both are worthy attractions, worth considerable time and many repeat visits. Again, Ramelton is the perfect base for touring and Frewin could not be a better home away from home when visiting. My sincere thanks to Thomas, Regina and their children. Looking forward to many more visits. Christina

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

If working in Donegal I always try and stay here, some times I am unlucky and have to stay elsewhere - its just great on every level.
Easy access to all Donegal, friendly owners, a magnificent house and a great selecting of individual rooms. The house was a rectors house and the owners have retained the character of a bygone day's - while giving the visitor expected levels of service and comfort. The family style seating in the breakfast room leads to some very interesting conversations.

Room Tip: All rooms are differenty, enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ramsey isle of man
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A peaceful tranquil spot to relax and unwind. House full of character and lovingly restored, hosts extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Food first class from the breakfast to afternoon tea to four course dinners. The tranquility is special with no piped music, flat screen TV's or wi fi. All in all unforgettable and a real gem

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordy1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We recently spent two nights in Frewin House. It is a lovingly restored old country house. Regina, our host, obviously enjoys what she does (and does it so well). We stayed in a large room, with a sitting room. It was extremely comfortable. Regina and Thomas and Jessie warmly welcomed us upon our arrival and continued to make us feel at home during our stay. Breakfasts were excellent - homemade breads and a sumptuous buffet to accompany the cooked foods. We were served excellent meals with much thought given to presentation, always china, always fresh flowers, always ironed cloth napkins. We ate dinner one night and found it too delicious. We are from the U.S. this is our 4th visit to Ireland,but our first in the north. We recommend highly the area and especially this beautiful guest house.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonshine71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Dining to the light of 18 candles, beautiful food, wonderful service. Bedroom at least five star rating (linen sheets and crocheted pillow slips). And above all the warmth and kindness of the hosts made this an unforgettable stay.
Maybe the quality of the wine could be improved, guests would be very happy to pay appropriately.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MireiaSDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramelton
3.3 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
353 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castle Grove Country House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Rathmullan House
Rathmullan House
#1 of 2 in Rathmullan
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
Silver Tassie Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Letterkenny
739 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dillons Hotel
Dillons Hotel
#2 of 12 in Letterkenny
315 reviews
13.5 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frewin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frewin House

Property: Frewin House
Address: Frewin Rectory Road, Ramelton, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ramelton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramelton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country house bed & breakfast accommodation. Frewin is a former rectory and located outside the picturesque village of Ramelton in County Donegal, which is on the Wild Atlantic Way. Frewin comprises 4 double bedrooms, with sitting room, library and dining room for guests plus 2 person self catering cottage in the garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frewin Hotel Ramelton
Frewin House Ramelton, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing